We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic outlook with everything you need.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Motel Whitianga to your Saves list
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Magic outlook with everything you need.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Loved the location and patio to our ground floor one bed unit. Plenty of space and well equipped kitchen area. A little odd to walk in through the bathroom, but not a problem. Easy walk to main tourist area for restaurants, ferry, boat trips etc. Helpful hosts are knowledgable about the area and have equipment available, like spades for hot water beach. Always got a parking space, even though a popular place to stay. Very happy that we stayed here...not happy that is was only for two nights!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate the great review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
68
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When visiting Whitianga, this is the motel to stay. It is just 10 minutes from the town. The room we stayed-in was very clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable. The kitchnette was clean and well equipped with plates, glasses and utensils. Lots of sockets to charge your devices. The bathroom looks brand new and comes complete with amenities (e.g. body soap, shampoo, and conditioner). You get an amazing view of the beach. And wi-fi is avaiable and free of charge. The only cons was the roadside noise which was not really a big problem for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Jepzzy,

Thanks for great review. Nice to see you enjoyed and appreciated the extra touches the Oceanside provides. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our first accomodation on our trip to New Zealand. Found this on Trip Advisor and the positive reviews were bang on. Great location, right across the street from Buffalo Beach on lovely Mercury Bay and only a short walk to downtown shops & restaurants. Our self-catering unit was on the ground floor with a patio in front with beautiful views. Absolutely clean, up-to-date and roomy. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Great to hear that we started your NZ holiday off on the right track. Also nice to see notice taken of previous Trip Advisor reviews, our thanks to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 4 nights in early February 2013 at this excellent motel. Although not a new place it has been upgraded very well and is most comfortable,very clean and with marvellous views of Mercury Bay. In easy walking distance of Whitianga centre. We very much enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea views so it is a question of ground or first floor. We had a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Great review many thanks.

It is reassuring to note you mentioned the views and cleanliness as two of the highlights of your stay at the Oceanside as we consider these as our point of difference in the marketplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived there after slight car accident (left side of road driving)..managers (who were subbing for regular owners) were wonderful..helpful and sympathetic. Wonderful well equipped studio..with terrace and great views of the water. Only downside was on a busy road..but noise and cars mostly blocked by terrace. Spent lovely 3 nights there..recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Very sorry to hear of the car accident, lucky it was minor and did not detract from your stay at the Oceanside.

Great to hear you enjoyed the upstairs Executive Studio, we would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A beautifully decorated apartment on the beach front with a lovely sandy beach in front. The owner was very helpful suggesting places to visit in the area and our stay was really relaxing. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks Lynda for great review.

Nice to see you had a really relaxing stay and enjoyed the Coromandel, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in the excutive suite room. The balcony views of Buffaloo beach were breathtaking and we slept with the ranchslider doors open so we could hear the sounds of the ocean across the road The video they have on their website is entirely accurate. We made great use of the double spa bath. The unit was well maintained and had everything we required.

Room Tip: The extra cost for the upstairs units is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
The Executive Studio is our top unit, glad you enjoyed the Oceanside. Thanks for the comment on the video, took ages to make and great to hear it being viewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Motel Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Address: 32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Motel Whitianga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Motel Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Motel Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.