We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Motel Whitianga to your Saves list
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a small private patio facing the sea. It was a such a beautiful view that morning found us having our breakfast out there and the evening our bottle of wine.
During the day we explored Whitianga especially having a great boat trip which had been highly recommended by the owners.
That view really lives in our memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We feel that the superb views are the point of difference for the Oceanside, and glad to hear that you enjoyed the boat trip.

We look forward to possibly hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
58
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and felt very at home. Spotless rooms serviced daily, welcoming hosts who were keen to ensure we had everything we needed. Spa bath was great, loved the balcony with chairs and a table to take in the view. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate the great review, so glad you enjoyed the location and the view. We do focus on cleanliness and presentation as our point of difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a top-floor executive studio with a truly fantastic view. The kitchen was well-equipped and the whole studio was spotlessly clean.

The Oceanside is a relatively short walk to the harbour and well worth a second visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for the fine review, we do focus on cleanliness as one of our major points of difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I found my stay at the Oceanside fantastic, nice room, awesome view and friendly hosts. On finding out we were celebrating our anniversary we were given some wine & beer to celebrate.

Very nice spot, highly recommend and we will def be coming back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We hope your anniversary was a memorable one, we would love to see you next year.
Thanks for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012, best place ever stayed at in my life. The place was Clean, Fresh, spacious and the view was to die for...the hosts so welcoming and full of advice. Lovely flat walk to main st of Whitianga. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the sea - Heaven!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks for the great review, we look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've stayed twice at the Oceanside, most recently in early November. Again we couldn't resist one of the upstairs suites - amazing view of the beach, lovely spa bath, big comfy bed, well appointed kitchenette and everything spotlessly clean! After a 26hr flight from London this was just what we needed. All topped off by helpful friendly hosts Jo and Alan - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks guys for the great review. We look forward to hosting you again at the Oceanside and will do our best to secure the same room for you.

Alan & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed upstairs in one of the Executive studios with a double spa bath. Nice New Zealand Koru toiletries.The room was big and had a kitchenette. The balcony is a lovely place to sit especially in the morning sun. Staff were very helpful re places to eat and visit. Nothing was too much trouble. There is a guest laundry with an outside line or clothes airer that you can take to your room, which we did as it was rained shortly after arriving.
Do go to Hahei and do the walk down to Cathedral Cove. Amazing.

Room Tip: A bit more expensive but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osmotel, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for the excellent review. Appreciate the comment on the new amenities, we have just changed and really nice to get positive confirmation. Sorry about the rain, thankfully the balcony allowed you to enjoy the view and what morning sun there was!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Motel Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Address: 32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Motel Whitianga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Motel Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Motel Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.