We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cave Adventures

Sea Cave Adventures
Whitianga Wharf, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
+64 800 806 060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Activities in Whitianga
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Les and experience a personal tour like no other.Visit the famous Cathedral Cove. Slowly cruise inside and enjoy the natural beauty of the incredible sea caves, from Whitianga to Hot Water Beach. Snorkel with the fish in the marine reserve or swim in the amazing waters of the massive Orua Cave. Enjoy the magnificent scenery, golden beaches, offshore islands, spectacular blowholes and towering rock faces. Visit all this and photograph more from our purpose built boat where your safety and enjoyment is our specialty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

WOW!!! What a once in a lifetime experience. We were lucky enough to go out with Les on Sea Cave Adventures and saw a pod of dolphins and some orcas. Les stopped and let us watch them play around. On top of that experience we got to explore inside the caves and see the coast from a completely different perspective. It was absolutely spectacular and I definitely recommend it to everyone. Les is a very knowledgable skipper and we enjoyed his witty sense of humour. He made sure we were all comfortable and enjoying ourselves which added to the beauty of the trip I truly envy him for being able to do this everyday. Had such a wonderful time thank you for sharing it with us Les.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCaveAdventures1, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your Review Faye, I'm so happy you were able to explore my work office and you enjoyed it. We are so lucky to be able to share these amazing sites with everyone.
So happy you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Thrills without the spills!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went on sea cave adventures at 4.30pm in the afternoon - last trip of the day. Les took us out on a full tide to explore the sights of the coastline from the sea. He took us inside sea caves and caves with huge openings in the ceiling. The rock formations were spectacular. We then went to Cathedral Cove, which is one of the most awe inspiring geographic features in the North Island. The area is a marine reserve, so we saw lots of fish. We went snorkelling in a sea cave amongst fish that were blue and rocks that were pink. I am a New Zealander but this opened up a whole new world to me - a side of NZ I've never seen and it was stunning. Les was a very amiable skipper, took great concern over his passengers comfort and safety. One small suggestion, perhaps an investment in a canopy would improve the over all comfort of clients. It can be very hot out there and too windy for hats!! A really great trip for Kiwis and overseas visitors!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCaveAdventures1, Manager at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks Judith I appreciate you taking the time to review us. So glad I could take you out on a day with such beautiful water for you and your family to enjoy the trip at it's best. Hope you enjoyed snorkelling with the fish that are called blue mao mao.
As New Zealanders we often forget that our backyard is a truly beautiful place and I'm happy that I could show you and your family all these special places.
I appreciate your suggestion about the conopy which we have looked into, however it restricts our movement within the caves which would take away the uniqueness of our trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 hours of adventure & fun whilst in Whitianga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Sea Cave adventures offered an awesome boat trip showing us not only the sights of Mercury Bay but the sexy skipper Les was knowledgeable about the local history with his own sense of humour. We were very impressed with the whole experience & loved being taken into the many caves & bays especially Cathedral Cove. We saw fish in the beautiful clear waters & enjoyed the close encounter with the spectacular coast line.
Put this on your bucket list!!!
Don't forget to take the camera & togs!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCaveAdventures1, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks Linda D. Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and enjoyed my sense of humour, what an ego boost. Cathedral Cove is a spectacular view and i'm happy I could take you to many other beautiful places as well.
Come back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“"Must do activity when in Whitianga"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have just spent an afternoon with Sea Caves adventures, what an incrediable time we had, Les the skipper gave us an in depth insight into the Murcury Bay history. Lots of photo opportunities and being a smaller boat gave us the ability to enter numerous caves. highly recommended, great value. Thanks again guys for a wonderfull afternoon

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCaveAdventures1, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you, glad to here you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Cave Adventures also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Sea Cave Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cave Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.