We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took less than five minutes to relax...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Save
You added Mussel Bed Boutique B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Reigate, Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Took less than five minutes to relax...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We arrived fresh from our drive from Auckland and were greeted by Paul who showed us to our suite, the ' Pacifica'. The room was abolsutely lovely and the whole atmosphere of Mussel Bed and our room put us at ease straight away. The sun was shining and the little stream outside bubbling along. Mmmmm.

We were treated to some bubbly and chocolates on arrival as we were on honeymoon and we enjoyed these out on deck. We explored the gardens and found our way to the little river which you could go kayaking on but we were intent on chilling out after a recent 24 hour flight and drive from Auckland.

The hosts were welcoming but gave you your privacy. The room had a fridge with wine you could purchase but with free tea, coffee, milk and mince pies ( it was nearly Christmas after all). There was a TV with some choice DVDs and music player and an ensuite which was very stylish. The only thing is that there was no door to it, it was semi open plan with the bedroom. This didn't bother me particularly but my Husband likes his privacy when he uses the Bathroom.

The other thing, apart from the lovely room, private deck and stunning surroundings was the loveliest breakfast, ordered the night before and delivered on a butlers tray to your deck. It appears as if by stork, fairy, Santa Claus, you get the point, just when you need it and carefully presented, with everything you ordered and plenty of it. All enjoyed on the deck.

Ferry Landing is a short drive/ easy walk away where you can hop over to Whitianga and enjoy an evening meal at some of the restaurants there. Our main reason for coming to the area was Hot Water Beach. Chris and Paul helpfully gave us the tide times and wish us well on our onward journey.

Thank you for lovely memories on our holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

this is a gret place
we felt at home as soon as we arrived and the mussel fritters were suberb
It was a good place to base our self to see the east side of the Coromandel and a really genuine warm welcoming place which made up for the bad 3 night stay were we had just had
Chris was a lovely lady so friendly and a real kiwi with lots of advise and so many sugesstions it was hard to fit it all in
The rooms were very comfy and the fresh flowers and treats so nice to have
It is not directly on the beach but thats not a prblem as it is just a short walk away and the peace and quite of the location a real plus

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We loved this B+B - some of the most tasteful and comfortable furnishings and decor we experienced in NZ! The breakfast was quite possibly the best - tasty greek yogurt with honey, homemade muesli, fresh fruit - delicious. The one and only drawback is the proximity to the road - you can hear quite a bit of traffic in the middle of the day. From 8am to 9pm, pretty steady noise just outside of the unit. That said, you're out exploring for most of the day, so it wasn't a problem for us. Chris and Paul are lovely too!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My son and I had the most perfect 3 night stay at this hidden gem of a B & B. Chris & Paul are the perfect hosts and did everything they could to make us feel at home. There were so many extra little touches that other hosts would not have thought of:- spades for hot water beach; kayaks for trips on the river at the bottom of the garden, even the offer of a game of tennis with them at the local club!
The breakfasts, which were taken in the beautiful garden, were superb and the best we had during our month away.
Make sure you eat at the "Eggsentric" restaurant which Chris and Paul recommended and which turned out to be a gastronomic gem

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

excellent location, wonderful room, fine bed, excellent breakfast and helpful hosts. Lovely grounds. What more could one want?
Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed 5 days in Cooks Beach around New Year 2009. We loved our stay at the Mussel Bed Cottage, we had the newly build cottage where we could easily make our own accomodation. Chris and Paul were very friendly. we really appreciated to spend the new year's evening with them and some of their friends. The cottage was great for our family.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Beautiful setting for a B&B. Has a prime location close to all local beaches. The gardens are fantastic, with resident kingfishers.Stayed with two children aged 9&10, who enjoyed free use of the properties two kyaks to paddle from the creek which runs through the garden and down to cooks beach.The other highlight was the magnificent breakfasts served on the deck or in the garden. The Hosts Paul and chris are very welcoming and made us very welcome

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.