We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Save
You added Mussel Bed Boutique B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Uppsala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed 5 days in Cooks Beach around New Year 2009. We loved our stay at the Mussel Bed Cottage, we had the newly build cottage where we could easily make our own accomodation. Chris and Paul were very friendly. we really appreciated to spend the new year's evening with them and some of their friends. The cottage was great for our family.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Beautiful setting for a B&B. Has a prime location close to all local beaches. The gardens are fantastic, with resident kingfishers.Stayed with two children aged 9&10, who enjoyed free use of the properties two kyaks to paddle from the creek which runs through the garden and down to cooks beach.The other highlight was the magnificent breakfasts served on the deck or in the garden. The Hosts Paul and chris are very welcoming and made us very welcome

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Hosts Chris & Paul could not do more for their guests, from beautiful rooms in a lovely bird filled garden and fantastic breakfasts to the use of golf clubs, spades for hot water beach and kayaks to booking local trips and advising on places of interest/nice walks nothing was a problem.

We were looking for a nice relaxing few days to round off our mad dash round the South Island which had culminated in the adrenaline rush of Queenstown and this fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Liked — Rooms very private, hosts very nice, friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

I took my parents ,who are over from UK, for a night to vist Coromandel. We had a lovely time at the Mussel Bed and I'm sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. Chris and Paul are so friendly and helpfull, the breakfast was delightful, especially sitting on the deck looking over the gardens with the birds around. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed, I would recommend this B & B for all travallers.

  • Liked — Relaxed and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Recently built block containing 3 B&B rooms.

Good sized bed, e/s with wc, basin & wet room shower.

Breakfast of cereal, breads, youghurt, honey, juice & tea/coffee was brought to your room on a tray to eat in room or on deck.

Very friendly and helpful hosts Chris & Paul.

Handy location for Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove & Whitianga.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

The Mussel Bed was our first taste of rural NZ after Auckland.
It was really welcoming. We arrived early, but there was note on the door telling us to make ourselves at home and where our room was. Tea and coffee all available, even fresh milk in the fridge and fruit on the table.
The accommodation is purpose built in lovely gardens.
Paul and Chris are very friendly, as we found most NZ's.
There is a superb breakfast served in your room, or on the balcony or even on the communial tables in the gardens. Great for meeting your fellow travellers and planning your day.
Breakfast is pre-ordered and comes with fresh home cooked bread, buns, muffins,muesli etc. Cooked is to your choice. WOW!
The beach is a couple of hundred yards away, with a shop on the way.
Restaurants are nearby with 'The Eggcentic' especially recommended. Takeaways are available.
The ferry to Whitianga centre is a mile away, beware it stops for the driver to have his lunch and tea.
The town has much to offer, internet cafe, although the Mussel Bed let us use theres. Trips are many, Cathedral Cove and the Bay tours are essential. You are in the middle of a marine conservation area, so beauty is everywhere.
Without doubt, our favourite spot on earth.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Fabulous hosts Paul and Chris have time to spend with their guests and made us feel right at home. They are obviously putting a lot of hard work in having used the experience from 5 seasons and have more plans and lots of enthusiasm.

We stayed in the well designed and stylish Beachhut Suite which is away from the main house in a row of three. Breakfast was served on the private deck just outside the room which overlooked the gardens.

Don't worry about the accommodation not fronting the beach, it is good to be sheltered from the coast. If Cooks Beach is for you, this is a great place to stay.

Loved it.

  • Liked — Its Quality and the hosts
  • Disliked — If I am being picky the matress and pillows., but I am getting to the age where we have good ones at home.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.