We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean in a good location but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Save
You added Mussel Bed Boutique B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean in a good location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a lovely B&B with three nicely designed Mediterranean styled buildings around a central courtyard driveway. The rear gardens are well maintained and lead to the stream that you can borrow kayaks to paddle along down to the beach (sadly the creek is much abused by mankind and doesn't really offer much in the way of natural beauty til you reach the mouth at Cooks Beach). We spent two nights in the cottage, a semi self contained house. The food provided was more than ample and while it was only supposed to cover one breakfast we strung it out for two! Thank you! The upstairs bedroom was huge but it is also your lounge area. Its more than comfortable and the bed is firm yet soft. The kitchenette downstairs is adequate for a little non ambitious cooking but we had to wash almost all of the crockery and pans before use as many were dirty. One of the plates had melted cheese dried on it and the frypan had oil/grease along the sides. I realise this was likely previous guests that did this but surely it could be checked. The bathroom is a disappointment being quite tight with the toilet jammed behind the door but everything was clean and the toiletries very nice. My issues with this stay (which really colour my opinion of it) are that it is five meters from a busy road so that you hear traffic noise constantly (while writing that sentence a loud slow truck blasted by followed by a tractor). Surely with a clean slate to build on you would offset the building further? More disappointing was the upstairs room which has paper thin curtains and a skylight with no blind positioned right in your eye line when in the bed so that you will be woken up in Summer around 6am by blinding sunlight in your eyes. Surely this can be remedied as I would think if you're staying at a B&B you're on vacation and you'd like a sleep in? Here it's not possible unless you bring a sleep mask. Other than that Chris and Paul were very welcoming and there is a lot to do nearby including the lovely stroll through nearby Shakespeare's reserve, but for $285 a night this is overpriced (despite all the right touches and service being in place to make it a great stay) simply due to poor building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWhitianga, Owner at Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks Adam & Anthony for your comments. You probably will have realised in booking with us that it is very difficult to find a self-contained cottage like ours for just 2 nights stay during this peak holiday time in Cooks Beach in January so therefore the pricing of our cottage is at its highest for a minimum stay and becomes cheaper for a longer stay. Our road has mainly ferry traffic over this peak holiday period & it is always busy over this busy month - we don't like it much either but it is only for such a short time. Most people are out enjoying the beach and beautiful walks so its not usually a problem for most guests - it goes back to being quiet at night once the ferry makes its last trip for the night. I'm sorry about the plate you found, we will make a more comprehensive check of the cupboards from now on. I hope you still found the time to get outdoors & enjoy the natural beauty of the Coromandel though, even though your time here sounds like it was marred by being here at the busiest month of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here and really enjoyed the beautiful garden, we borrowed two kayaks from Chris and paddled down an inlet stream to the sea finding our own little beach to chill a bit on. The next day we had booked to go on the sea leopard motor boat tour of the area, it turned out to be the owners son running the business. Very welcoming and friendly couple and breakfast in the garden.

A good position to explore the area.

Would recommend.


Thanks

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon trip to NZ. The great thing about B&Bs rather than hotels is the individuality of the place but also the hosts. The setting for this B&B is lovely close to the beach and you can actually borrow the owners sit own kayaks and paddle your way there from the stream in the garden of the property. The rooms are set in the gardens and are private and comfortable. The beds are excellent as is the terrace decking outside. We didn't really like the bathroom layout that made it quite integral to the bedroom but the shower itself was "walk in" and spacious. Chris and Paul are a great couple and get the balance spot on. They were really helpful and made a great breakfast. They lent us a spade to go to the hot water beach, which was fun and quite a sight. I then the next day managed to lose my sunglasses and Chris kindly went into town for me after I left, found my glasses (left in the local cinema) and posted them on for me. That's great service! We ate twice at a slightly bizarre place called eggscentric. . The owners are very laid back and you can take your own wine. The food is actually really good. Excellent seafood and beautifully cooked meat dishes too. All in all a very good location and some fantastic stretches of beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a nice little B&B, dont get me wrong. It is located close to Cooks beach, has lovely hosts and a good breakfast. The hosts- Chris & Paul are lovely and had lots of advice to provide about the area & things to do.

However, it really shouldnt be priced at the rate that it is. For $300 a night, you expect luxury accomodation, which this is not. The cottage, while cozy, doesnt have a bathroom door -just a curtain. The shower cubicle has no shower curtains and the bathroom only has ordinary toiletries. The cottage is also located right off the main road, which means that you can hear cars whizzing by very often.

The breakfast, as most reviewers have said, was good. But we didnt get everything we asked for on the second morning, which was a little disappointing.

We did get coupons to the Lost Springs spa- which made us feel slightly better at having spent $600 on a regular B&B. But I suggest that the owners price this downwards, so that guests leave feeling they paid the right amount for it, and don't feel misled.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWhitianga, Owner at Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments Swathi. We would gladly have talked to you more about the package you purchased Swathi had you asked us at the time of your stay. However, to set the story straight I can explain it more accurately as follows. For $595 inc GST, when our guests purchase the Romantic Spa Package, they receive 2 nights in a deluxe suite including breakfast, 2 bottles of baby bubbly on arrival, chocolates and 2 all day pool passes to the Lost Spring (value $120). Our normal summer rate is $285 per night so you can see, you actually only pay $237 per night by purchasing our Romantic Spa Package, which represents good value.

Everyone has their own perception of the word "luxury" and for that reason we don't advertise our accommodation as being of a luxury standard. I'm sorry if you thought you didn't get all that you asked for off our breakfast menu - we encourage our guests to try everything we offer on our menu and would have been only too happy to top you up. Again, we would have been only too happy to fix the problem for you if you mentioned it to us while you were here.

We're pleased you enjoyed your time on the Coromandel though and hope you have a safe trip back home to India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon around NZ and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was well located for exploring the peninsula and the room (we stayed in the Pacifica suite) was large and tastefully decorated, with a huge and comfy bed and an excellent walk-in shower. Breakfast was delivered on a tray each morning and was tasty and plentiful - we particularly liked the option to have a hot dish. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, not only did they present us with a bottle of champagne on arrival, they also assisted us in making a booking for a local restaurant and provided suggestions of things to do in the area. Fish and chips and a bottle of wine at sunset on the beautiful nearby Cooks Beach is not to be missed!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very unique accomodation with lovely hosts. The accomodation was very comfortable and warm, every effort was made to make us comfortable, including the lending of large umbrellas! The afternoon tea with fresh milk and English Breakfast teabags was very welcome.
Breakfast was very good, delivered to the room and very tasty, especially the hot dishes.
Hot water beach is worth a visit, even in torrential rain!
The only draw back we found was that there was a lack of places to eat nearby that were open as we were there in the winter.
The scenery in the area was stunning and the roads dramatically bendy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We only stayed here one night after traveling all day from Auckland. Chris and Paul were very friendly, extremely accommodating and really made us feel welcome. Paul showed us right to our room and left us to rest the day away. The Victorian Suite was warm, inviting and beautifully decorated, which is all we could have asked for. We received great directions prior to coming, for both the scenic and the quick trip, and Paul directed us perfectly to a great place to have dinner using the ferry to get across. The best part about the B&B, had to be the breakfast. Unbelievable! Well presented, great food, more than enough and delivered to our door. Couldn't ask for a better stay and a great way to start our trip through NZ. Thank you Chris and Paul - Brian and Lisa

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWhitianga, Owner at Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for those lovely comments Brian & Lisa - we really enjoyed meeting you both. All the best with your role as Mary Poppins Lisa - we'll look for both your names in the bright lights in years to come!! Best wishes, Chris & Paul xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.