We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stargazers Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stargazers Bed & Breakfast
392 State Hwy 25 | R.D.2 Kuaotunu, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

visited in october 2013. had a wonderful time. Alistair and harriet made us feel very welcome and the lodgings were immaculate. they were so accommodating and willing to change the booking last minute because of poor weather (not once but twice!). the evening stargazing was very interesting and Alistairs enthusiasm and interest in astronomy rubbed off on us! my personal highlight was the homemade muesli and marmalade! thank you both. looking forward to coming back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair B, Manager at Stargazers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Rhys,
Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to do a review for us...we did enjoy meeting you both. Sorry it took a little while to arrange good stargazing weather for you! However, I'm sure you'll agree it was worth the wait to see a brilliant first quarter Venus and Alpha Centauri and the other southern sky delights and even a few satellites. We'll look forward to seeing you again one day.
Cheers,
Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What an awesome location and what fantastic hosts! Alastair and Harriett are lovely.
Harriett couldn't have taken care of us any better with her hospitality and breakfast was the best!
We loved the star gazing tour a very enjoyable experience. Alastair was so knowledgeable and his enthusiasm contagious.
The house and B&B is stunning and the Miners Cottage where we stayed was very well set up. The bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom are great right down to quality of the toiletries. Every detail was thought of.
We wished I would have stayed longer and look forward to going back to stay in the future.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, we are already in planning mode for our next stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair B, Manager at Stargazers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Nikki,
Many thanks for your kind words. We’re glad you enjoyed the Miners Cottage…it has a special charm and guests do love it. Maybe next time you come we will have time to give you the tour of our old underground gold mine behind the cottage that we talked about.
Cheers,
Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The start of our month in New Zealand couldn't have been bettered. Lovely accommodation, beautiful surroundings near to spectacular, deserted beaches( with dotterel and chick!), delicious breakfasts. We did the stargazing with Alastair and it was amazing, his enthusiasm was infectious. He and Harriet were such charming hosts, three nights was not long enough. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Double room leads onto the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

of all the amazing experiences we have had in NZ, this is still our favourite, An amazing place to stay - beautiful, well-equipped, fantastic surroundngs and great beaches within easy reach. We did the stargazing tour with Alasatair. He was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and now we bore everybody with our new knowledge of the key stars! As if that wasn't enough, he offered us a tour of his disused gold mine, which we jumped at. Equipped with hard hats and wellies, we imagined the conditions of mining years ago - again, thanks to Alastair's informative commentary. The idyllic surroundngs included glow worms by the river and 2 steers who loved oranges (I bought them especially) Harriet and Alistair were charming hosts and we enjoyed talking to them so much that the goodbyes took nearly an hour! Go there and stay longer than we did! However, couples need to know that there is just one double bedroom and 2 bedrooms with a single bed in each.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited Alastair and Harriette in Whitinaga and wished I would have stayed longer. A beautifully appointed B&B with unparalleled hospitality. I was starstruck.
Alastair gave us the grand tour of the skies, we saw the various constellations, planets and celestial bodies.
Harriette took very good care of us with her hospitality.
This is a little know jewel and I highly recommend it! I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stargazers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazers Bed & Breakfast

Address: 392 State Hwy 25 | R.D.2 Kuaotunu, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty lodging in Whitianga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stargazers Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stargazers Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list