We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiralty Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Admiralty Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Admiralty Lodge Motel
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Spent over a week in Whitianga over Christmas/New Year period and stayed at the Admiralty Lodge Motel. The place is fabulous and actually delivered what their advertisement says. The room we had was essentially a 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette, bathroom and comfortable lounge area with a patio facing the heated swimming pool and beach. The place was full throughout due to the time of year (and one or two nights our neightbours were noisy but thats to be expected over New Years). We slept exceptionally well in the large king size bed and we were able to have breakfast in our room or on our patio every day \beause the kitchenette had cutlery, crockery etc and a good size Fridge.
The room was serviced every day and the people were very friendly.
We did notice a sign outside suggesting the motel may be for sale so hopefully the new owners deliver the same excellent service that is currently offerred.

Free parking is available on the premises and the room we were in was definitely of a high standard - very clean and modern.

The motel is located a fair distance from the town centre...but we walked into town every day for dinner (flat road all the way) and after a hearty meal a 10 minute walk was a good thing.

We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Whitianga.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the sea. Ours was in the centre on the bottom level - which made access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    36
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
90
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

When I walked into the office the receptionist at Admiralty Lodge greeted me with "you must be Jenny".... that's when I thought "Top Marks"..... and everything about this motel warranted the same rating. Quoting from my diary "our room is A1super, with everything as promised" (this comment because I had emailed with some special requirements). I continued "we have a wonderful sea view and the motel gardens are most attractive", and later in my diary, "once again this motel continues to please, with a good access bathroom, and the shower itself, plus soaps/gels etc are top class". I would add that the suite was spacious (2 lounges, generous sitting area) and the beds were very comfortable, with nice quality bed linen. We plan to return.....asap.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had heard good things about this motel, so booked a 2-night romantic weekend away. Nice room, but I did notice a strong smell of Asian cooking in our unit as soon as we walked in to it, which kept me awake most of the night as it was quite strong. We were staying for 2 nights and the smell wasn't so noticeable the next night - so perhaps I had just gotten used to it? Unit was clean, and the view from the 1st floor balcony was lovely to wake up to. Huge bed. Had to laugh at the unusally high wall-mounted toilet though? A friend had told us about this but we didn't believe him until we each had to sit on it - I'm only 5'2" so my feet were dangling ha ha! Unusual shower controls, never seen anything like them so took a bit of working out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent just one night here on our Rugby World Cup Trip and just wished we could of stayed longer. The room was enormous and very well equipped with large kitchen, living and sleeping area and the bathroom was great with the spa bath and robes provided. We were on the first floor and had a wonderful view out to sea. Sky Sport was a real bonus for us as we could watch other World Cup matches. I cannot recommend Admiralty Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We came to stay here for our anniversary and while organising the accomodation with the motel I found them to be very helpful.
The rooms were perfect for what we needed and it was just perfect for our first weekend away with no children. The morning paper was good and the cleaners did a great job, we got back to the room after a day out and everything was made up beautifully. It was just what we needed. The only thing that could have been better was the pool temperature, it was JUST under perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind compliments, We are so pleased you had a lovely and enjoyable stay.
Andrea & Keith
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband & stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February and we were very pleased with our stay. Althought the hotel isn't within walking distance to the main part of town, the the size of our room and the spa bath made up for this. The room also had a sofa for watching TV, a large balcony overlooking the ocean, and a DVD & CD player. Parking is free at the Lodge, and restaurants & shops are about 5-10 minutes drive from the hotel. Internet is $5 for 50MB. All of the rooms were occupied with guests, but the Lodge was quiet and peaceful. The room was fully equiped with kitchenette, stove and fridge, which would be ideal for those who don't want to dine out. The bed was comfortable for two people, although it was basically 2 beds put together. If you are keen, they provide a delivered hot breakfast for a fee. The beautiful beach is across the street, and the lodge offers a pool and little putt-putt area. We would recommnd this hotel to anyone who is looking for a getaway in Whitianga.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Whitianga is a small holiday resort at the top of the Coromondel Penisular with miles of sandy beaches and close to a spectular coastline. The Admiralty Lodge is situated on the outskirts of the town overlooking the beach. I had a ground floor unit which comprises a kitchen, bedroom with king bed, a sitting area and dining area with large flat sceen tv. ( small tv in the bedroom ). There are also two single beds. There is a large patio overlooking the beach across the road and a heated swimming pool is a few steps away. Highspeed internet for a nominal charge and ample parking.|No restaurant but good breakfast to room. Try 'Salt ' restaurant in the town near the harbour. At $200 per night not cheap but value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiralty Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.