We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small place - big flavours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ginger

Blue Ginger
1/10 Blacksmith Lane, Whitianga, New Zealand
07-867-1777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Whitianga
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“small place - big flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been to Whitianga a few times now and Blue Ginger is without a doubt the highest quality food in town. If you want Pan-Asian done well, this should be your first stop. From the Pork Belly to the Ka Pow Chicken, there's bound to be something for everyone - that being said, I've still never had a better Pad Thai.. and I LOVE Pad Thai! Also worth mentioning: My boyfriend really seems to love the coffee there and he's quite the coffee snob. If you want fresh food by people who know what they're doing, I would definitely recommend Blue Ginger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gastronomical Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best surprise in Whitianga.
Super chill, relaxed, comfy environment with plenty to look at and a diverse but not crowded menu (written on the wall, which I like)
Smoked fish won tons were incredible, as was the calamari (hard to find cooked so well), my partner had the Buddha salad which looked as good as it seemed to taste.
I want to go back, try everything and sit in another of the three different seating arrangements.
When your in Whitianga plan to come here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Our favourite eating place in Whitianga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food absolutely delicious, fresh, full of flavour and passion! Great music, nice vibes and a very chilled out atmosphere. Fantastic service, nothing a problem and very friendly! Best coffee in town and just the best blueberry smoothies. Freshly made donuts with custard and cream on Friday's at lunchtime! Get in quick! A must go to when here and very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is more a cafe for casual dining than a restaurant. Relaxed atmosphere, music just the right volume. After reading all the good reviews, a group of us decided to have lunch here on a cold, winter's day. We were all disappointed. The waitress was friendly but the all the food was only luke warm and seemed as though it had been pre-cooked then reheated, and not reheated well, though the waitress did say it was all freshly cooked. It was also served on cold plates. To their credit, we were offered a small discount.
I will probably try this place again to see if our complaint has been listened too. If it improves, I will report accordingly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Thai Inspired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enjoyed a quick meal here. We were dining fairly late, but the owner/chef? didn't seem to mind, very friendly. The food was delicious, we had the pork & fennel dumplings & pork belly dish. The only downside for us,is that no alcohol is available

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Blue Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.