We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy in a cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercury Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   121 Albert Street, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“comfy in a cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

always good to get a comfy bed when staying away from home, so was pleased to get one, and bonus was the hot water bottles which we put to good use. friendly hosts who recommended the best cafe in town, shame we decided to test some others as well, should have just gone back to the jandel. i didnt use the communal facilities but my partner checked them out and said they were top notch, clean and tidy. one thing that did stand out was how quiet it was, we never heard boo from anyone, making it a really relaxing couple of days. yay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! Jandals Cafe Citrus Tarts are to die for arent they???? Hope to see you again for ThunderBeach in November. Take care. Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A 3 night break was extended to 5 nights as the welcome on arrival to the very generous sized sites and immaculate grounds delayed our decision to move on.
The hosts were helpful with local knowledge as Whitianga has so much to offer for tourists.
Mercury Bay Holiday Park you are doing a fine job, keep up the good work.
Dave and Veronica.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hey guys, thanks for such an awesome review! We really enjoy sharing our wonderful town with our guests. Hope to see you again soon for one of the many events coming up over the next 6 months. Regards Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The site is very handy to the town. Although situated on a main road there was no traffic noise from our van. Facilities clean and tidy. Very friendly hosts. Recommend your stay here & not far to get to the Lost Spring Thermal Pools & Spa. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for leaving a review. Glad you enjoyed our Park and town, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely winter weekend here in the caravan. No issues aside from we chose to park up under one of the lovely palm trees and got white washed by the birds haha. Clean bathrooms and walking distance from town. The managers are so helpful and friendly. We highly recommend anyone staying here to visit The Lost Spring Spa. It really is spectacular.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for coming to stay, hope the van washed up ok! :) We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and kind words. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A reasonable $18 for a Non-self contained campervan site however it is worth your while travelling 50 yards away and staying at the holiday park next door IF (and only if) you're in a campervan and assuming the following doesn't occur there!

I'll start by saying the facilities are flawless. Extremely clean and well maintained. The staff and long term residents also very friendly.

We then just stumbled into one thing after another.. The showers are $1/7mins of hot water. Considering it's an $18 entrance fee, I think one could assume you wouldn't be paying for a shower too. $1 really isn't much to quarrel over, however it's an inconvenience when you forget to take one over in the morning.. The kettles take 20mins to boil - use a pan. The pool table is unfortunately broken - an activity which made me want to stay at this park. The hair dryer in the women's isn't working and if you BOY the plug won't produce electricity. Areas to charge electronics are limited and seemingly monitored - we managed to locate just the one socket and used it, which drew attention from staff.

I am obviously nit picking and fully understand the need to conserve electricity and reduce bills but from a campervan perspective we have had a lot more for a lot less.

I have given an average rating as overall the facilities are good and (as you will see from other reviews) the housing accommodation provided is extremely well regarded by both unique and returning customers.

I would return and use this holiday park. The location is great and the staff are welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi Tom we appreciate you leaving us your review and are sorry your experience was a little frustrating. Our tariff is in line with our style of Park and it is important to us and our customers that our facilities are up to scratch. We're a little confused as our pool table and hair dryer arent broken, and the kettles are only 6 minutes? We'd have been happy to show you how these work if we'd known there were some issues. We encourage our guests to conserve power and water consumption as its environmentally important to many of our customers and helps keep our tariff reasonable. We do have a variety of plugs throughout our common facilities (TV Room, Kitchen) and we're always happy to plug in customers electronic valuables at the office. We're glad you'd like to come back to stay, hopefully next time your experience wont be so frustrating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here in our tent for three nights and found it was very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The tent sites were flat and a good size, with plenty of room for parking.
Camp facilities were very good, well maintained and spotless. Everything was so good, we didn't even bother unpacking our cooker and kettle but used the camp kitchen and barbeques for everything.
It was close enough to the town and ferry to walk.
We would recommend this camp to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your great feedback and coming to enjoy our Park with us. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenants Harbor, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a two bedroom unit which was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The one exception to this was that there was no coffee maker, BUT the manager lent us her personal coffee press which was much appreciated. Having the pool available was a nice addition.
The location was very convenient to the beach and within an easy walk to Whitianga town center. Hot Water beach is also nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi John, so glad we could help with the "coffee fix"! Thanks for coming to stay with us and enjoying all Mercury Bay has to offer. We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and hope to see you again some time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Bay Holiday Park

Address: 121 Albert Street, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercury Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly park, where memories are made. Whitianga towns closest Qualmark 4 Star park. Just 400m to restaurants, shops and an easy walk to wharf, harbour and beautiful Buffalo Beach. Set in peaceful park-like surroundings. Facilities include seasonal outdoor swimming pool, children's play area, BBQs and outdoor dining area, clean communal kitchens/laundries and ablutions, broadband and wireless internet, separate boat park/wash/fish cleaning (ramp 300m), TV/games room, guest phone, linen hire available. Accommodation options to suit every budget - from fully equipped 3-star kitchen units to self-contained units, cabins, and 4-star chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercury Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.