We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well run, very nice facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercury Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   121 Albert Street, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Billingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very well run, very nice facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Mercury bay holiday park is very well run by a friendly couple. The facilities are brand new and absolutely immaculate. I wish all campsites could be this good, I actually didn't want to leave.
I thought it was a bit mean charging a dollar for a shower until I had one, then I was quite happy. Lots of water in a very clean well lit block.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks Leighroy - it looks like you had a great time! Little touches make for a pleasant stay and we're glad you used our facilities to their fullest. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Top marks to Helena and Craig for making our two nite stay so enjoyable. We were part of a motorcycle group and they even put on a 'sausage butty' breakfast! They garaged the bikes for us and even ran us down to local bottle store.Thanks team you made it memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Loved seeing all your fabulous machines and I know many of the other campers were admiring them also! Thanks for coming to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay! It was just 1 night in the camper van, but it was great. Very friendly owners, a good kitchen, an good washrooms/toilets.
Just a 10 Minute walk to different shops and bars.... You can find everything you need :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Tim, thanks so much for your review and we're so happy you've enjoyed your stay with us and our special town. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great motorcamp -excellent facilities and hosts very friendly and helpful. Location is very good - you can walk into town and to the marina. Lovely park setting and very quiet. Thank you for the stay, enjoyed our time with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are so happy you enjoyed our property. Our location is very popular for campervanners as it means they are able to walk everywhere in our small town and not have to worry about parking. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just set back from the main road it is an ideal place to spend a few nights relaxing. There is a heated pool and tennis court and just a short walk from the sea. We had a double bedroom with a single bed in the lounge. The rooms were a very good size and very clean.
We walked into town which took about 10 mins. and ate in I think it was called The Steak House or similar but there are other many choices available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Welcomed by the friendly park owners, they are very friendly and helpful.. The room was lovely and clean as where the facilities. Swimming pool was very inviting, but the weather let my daughter and i down there.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the toilet and shower which was good due to the fact that it rained in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBHPark, Manager at Mercury Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful time you had in Whitianga with so much to see and do. See you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I chose to stay in a motel unit here as it seemed very reasonably priced and it turned out to be good value for money. Being off-season the camp was pretty much deserted but the motel unit was near the office and even though on my own, I felt totally comfortable. The room was a one-bedroomed unit and although quite basic, it was modern and spacious, had a well equipped kitchen, and a lovely comfortable bed - one of the best beds I've had in a motel I think! I did get the impression that the unit may not have been rented out for a while as the surfaces could have done with a bit of a wipe but otherwise it was nice and clean. The camp is located in the opposite direction to the main beach area but everything is in walking distance, only a couple of minutes to the shops and a couple of minutes beyond that to Buffalo Beach. There are some interesting shops to browse and some lovely places to eat. Of course the camp will be a totally different place in summer but I enjoyed my stay and can recommend off-season for absolute relaxed peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Bay Holiday Park

Address: 121 Albert Street, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercury Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly park, where memories are made. Whitianga towns closest Qualmark 4 Star park. Just 400m to restaurants, shops and an easy walk to wharf, harbour and beautiful Buffalo Beach. Set in peaceful park-like surroundings. Facilities include seasonal outdoor swimming pool, children's play area, BBQs and outdoor dining area, clean communal kitchens/laundries and ablutions, broadband and wireless internet, separate boat park/wash/fish cleaning (ramp 300m), TV/games room, guest phone, linen hire available. Accommodation options to suit every budget - from fully equipped 3-star kitchen units to self-contained units, cabins, and 4-star chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Mercury Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.