We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep I've ever had in a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtlecove Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Turtlecove Accommodation to your Saves list
Turtlecove Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Bryce Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best nights sleep I've ever had in a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Turtle cove is a friendly, clean and extremely comfortable stay!
I couldn't recommend it enough. Great value for money; fantastic mattress and free breakfast definitely got our day off to a good start.
The facilities are all really clean. Plenty of nice space to chill out when you're not in your room, prefect for meeting people if you're travelling alone.
The host is lovely and really laid back, we each got a key to the room, no deposits for them unlike a lot of hostels I've stayed in.
Easy walk to the shops, restaurants and the beach (where they do banana boat rides in the summer).
Accidentally rated terrible for swimming pool and fitness centre, but there isn't either :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, you have really made our day here. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and hopefully you will get back this way again.
Cheers
Turtlecove crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
12
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

On a short tour of the Coromandel. Stayed here for a night. Great service, and very friendly. Nice spot in town, not far from the beach. Accommodation was great, clean and comfortable. Clean showers and toilets. Plenty of parking available. Comes with breakfast which was fine, all you needed and great to talk to others.
Overall good value for money and great for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi, thank you for your lovely review, our crew here will be really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
kindest regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The backpackers is a short walk from town, 10 minutes max. Parking is limited onsite, so you need to get in quick. Our room backed onto the back balcony, so although the kitchen etc was shut up at 11pm, we were still kept awake by smokers and people chatting. We were amongst quite loud people, mainly youngsters, portable stereos being played in bedrooms, wrestling and jumping from bunk beds and I got to see the bums of many youngsters peeing with the doors open as they were pretty drunk! FUN!! I probably wouldn't stay here again, unless I could get one of the mini cabins outside. I feel the price I paid compared to what we had to put up with just didn't compare. We were aware we could have made contact with management but it was all very sporadic and just not worth the hassle.
On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, just lacking in a table, or chairs, or hooks on doors, just something to put our suitcases on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are sorry that you were disturbed by other guests and wish you has advised us so that we could have done something about it. Scallop fest is one of our busiest weekends and as we are a backpacker (not a motel) we do get alot of younger people here, but in fact out of 50 plus guests only about 14 were under 30, (only 5 were under 30 on the Friday night) and we did make sure no groups were in the room next to you. ( we also offered a double that was downstairs away from the main dorm rooms.) We do take on board the need for hooks in the room and will ensure that this is done. We hope that overall this did not detract from your Scallop Fest weekend in Whitianga.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only stayed here a night but it was very nice. Stayed in a little cabin with a double bed and it was a decent size room. Showers and toilet were clean as was the kitchen which was also big! Wasn't busy I think there was only one more person staying there so practically had the whole place to ourselves. Nice location with just a short walk to town! Very nice. Thankyou!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay us. Yes we are quiet in Winter as Whitianga is renowned for its beaches so as you can imagine summer is a very very busy season.
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us, they are important to us so that we can see if we are doing things correctly for our guests.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Turtle Cove beat all of my expectations. The staff was more than friendly and so helpful. The kitchen was the cleanest I had seen in all of the places I stayed in new zealand and they have a HUGE selection of old VHS movies to sit back and watch on a rainy day. LOVED it here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Our aim is to make people feel at home so we were very happy that you felt this way and enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I usually stay at five star hotels. But I have to hand it out to Turtle Cove because it’s up there with the nice hotels in service, cleanliness, location and beauty. And I am a very picky person. I was going to stay for a couple of nights and ended up staying 2 weeks. The place feels like a home far away from home. Is extremely clean, everything, bathrooms, rooms, kitchen, halls, windows, everything is flawless.

At night you can seat in the outside tables with the cute lights they have in the roof, enjoy a glass of wine, while watching the incredible Whitianga sky and let your troubles drift away into dark.

The location is great because is on a quite street but close to everything, grocery store, beach, stores etc. so you can walk everywhere.

The place is adorable, they have this cute little cabins outside with sliding doors and the outside bathrooms are really nice, you can chose to have your own room or if you want to save a few bucks you can share.

The kitchen is perfectly stocked with everything you need to cook, so you can make a lovely dinner. The mattresses are very comfortable so be sure to enjoy a good night sleep.

They have free breakfast, which is awesome. And they also have an apple tree so you can enjoy organic free apples all day long

Even though is a hostel service is amazing, the owners lives next door and they are very kind and helpful people, Jean helped me planned and enjoy my 2 weeks here, I was never bored not even one minute of the day, the hostal has a wide range of movies in case you want to chill out for a night and you can also enjoy free access to the bicycles and boogie boards they have here.

Whitianga is an incredible town but I have to admit that staying in this place is what made my holiday a perfect 10. I liked it so much that I keep coming back even if it’s just for the weekend, to get away from the city, the noise and stress. The moment you get here you can feel you have left your problems behind.

If you´re coming to Whitianga look no further Turtle Cove is definitely the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Owner at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
What an awesome review, you have really made our day and we very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and much appreciate your lovely comments. Hopefully you will get back to Whitianga again. You would be most welcome.
Regards
Turtlecove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

very friendly owners ready to answer any question. lovely clean comfy bedrooms. hot powerful CLEAN showers. would go back again and again. great nights sleep, silence after 11pm. 1 minute from the town

got a little carried away with the 5 stars there is no fitness room :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlecove A, Owner at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi
Thankyou so much for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful town of Whitianga. We hope you enjoy the rest of your journey
Regards
Turtlecove Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtlecove Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtlecove Accommodation

Address: 14 Bryce Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtlecove Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning to visit Mercury Bay and require an affordable and comfortable place to stay, in a great location, then Turtle Cove could be just the place for you. Hotel quality mattresses and all bed linen supplied. A variety of sleeping arrangements from shared dorms, doubles, twins, double en-suite, and dorm en-suites. Free light self serve breakfast available in kitchen from 7am to 10am. Situated in Bryce Street between the Supermarket and main road. Walking distance to shops, cafes, and beaches. 30min by vehicle to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Tours available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turtlecove Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtlecove Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.