We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 970 Lonely Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 970 Lonely Bay to your Saves list
970 Lonely Bay
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   970 Purangi Rd | RD1, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

As last step of wedding anniversary tour, the 970 lonely bay was perfect and I would put it in the first one of all the guesthouses visited during our trip in NZ.
The house is very beautiful , clean , well decorated and the warm welcome from Rosemary and Graham was lovely.
So relaxing , quiet with nice beaches very closed to the house.
They prepare a delicious full breakfast, a lot of juices, and fruits, served on the outside terrace in a very romantic setting.
Definitively I’ll recommend 970 Lonely bay to my friends and hope to come back.
Thx Rosemary and Graeme for this wonderful stay at the end of our journey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Greeted so nicely, only seconds after you drive into the parking by a wonderful couple, Rosemary and Graeme, the dream starts.
It's like you are in your own private lodge, assisted by Rosemary and Graeme, who spare no effort to make your stay the most pleasant you ever dreamed of. They take care of everything, from excursions to reservations to nice restaurants in Whitianga, only a few steps away thanks to the pedestrian ferry.
We were 4 in 2 of the 3 rooms at the lodge. Privacy assured in wonderfool rooms taken care of by Rosemary with a marvellous personal touch i.e. a shell with your first name !
They prepare a delicious breakfast, full of vitamins, and great pies.

This place is purely astonishing with access to a lonely beach with protected birds through a little bridge. Pure romance !

Thanks, Rosemary and Graeme, for this lovely weekend for us and our children, which we will never forget !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 970 for just one night but wished we had booked in for more!
The house is stunning and the welcome given by Rosemary and Graham was second to none! They were relaxed, informative, so helpful and a joy to stay with.
So relaxing and great beaches and walks just on the doorstep
This is a MUST for anyone visiting the coromandel peninsula

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

If the managers of a property make it "luxury" then lonley bay is "luxury" as Rosemary and Greame are perfect hosts. The property is beautifully decorated and the interior design is excellent. It is a pity there is not a better view from the rooms as the location is stunning. The lodge is expensive, but all "luxury lodges" seem to have a high price tag in NZ (you can stay at a 5 star hotel with all the facilities in Europe for the same price) and this lodge is one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We held our wedding at Lonely Bay Lodge (and stayed two nights), and can honestly say we've never stayed anywhere more beautiful or had better service. The lodge is even more uniquely beautiful and gorgeously appointed than the photos can show. Its location - bridging a reserve that leads to the beach - is truly idyllic. And host with the most Loring and her team are simply just incredible. It was like having a wedding planner with us; she anticipated our every need, went out of her way for the little things that really counted, put us in touch with fantastic caterers when we got shafted by our own caterers at short notice, and she even organised lovely bar and waiting staff. Unbelievable service that helped our special day go smoothly and beautifully. The next day we were treated to an incredible homemade three course breakfast. What a wonderful place to be, and our heartfelt thanks to the incredibly warm and wonderful Loring for simply blowing us away with a level of hospitality we've never experienced before.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, but we recommend the Shakespeare and Estuary suites for the views and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 3 weeks in New Zealand, and this was the first place we went. How were we to know that in the end all of us agreed that 970 Lonely Bay was our favorite place? The lay out and architecture is exquisite, and attention to detail is everywhere.

But a big part of the magic is Loring. She is masterful in every role, and there was nothing she didn't excel at. I will never forget our morning breakfasts served on the patio, overlooking the gardens and Cook's Beach beyond. And nowhere else in New Zealand did we find anything comparable to Loring's freshly made croissants. I'd go back again and again for the setting, the lodgings and the great company.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

970 Lonely Bay was our first stop in NZ on our honeymoon and was a superb start!
The lodgings and location are great but what really sets this place apart is the hospitality from Loring and the rest of the team. Nothing is too much trouble be it planning trips around the area, arranging dinners or even driving after us to reunite my wife with a bag she forgot to pack on our departure!
The food is excellent so make sure you plan to eat in at least one night.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 970 Lonely Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 970 Lonely Bay

Address: 970 Purangi Rd | RD1, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 970 Lonely Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
970 Lonely Bay Lodge is a luxury boutique accommodation in Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand. Accommodation includes three one bedroom suites and a premier two bedroom (honeymoon) suite, all with en-suite, extensive mini-bar, spacious terrace and bush or water views of Purangi Estuary and Cooks Beach. Lodge accommodation facilities include a library, TV/AV 'snug' with Bang & Olufsen plasma television / sound system, separate guest indoor and outdoor bathrooms, solarium and deck, and multiple fireplaces. The boutique lodge offers a perfect venue for corporate events, weddings, honeymoons and romantic getaways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your 970 Lonely Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 970 Lonely Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.