We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Bar and Restaurant

Salt Bar and Restaurant
Whitianga Hotel | 1 Blacksmith Lane, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
07 866 5818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Whitianga
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good location. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice restaurant with big outdoor deck overlooking harbor. Food very good, typlical NZ seafood, slightly expensive. Would be a great place to just have a drink too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    75
    23
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

As good as a posh restaurant in Sydney
Would eat here again if in the area and recommend it to anyone

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good we went back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We wandered into this place one day for lunch with no preconceptions about the food. We were blown away!

If you like seafood then you must try the squid, it was amazing. Not rubbery, which is often a gamble you take. The others had a mix of steak sandwich, cheese and ham toasty and hand cut fries. All gave glowing reviews.

We went back for dinner twice following this! Between us we tried steak, venison, lamb and pork belly. The steak was amazing, cooked to perfection. Again, there were no complaints from anyone at our table.

The wait staff are very attentive and helpful. We booked both nights and I would advise this if you want to sit outside. They are able to cover the area off in the event of bad weather.

If you're in Whitianga and want a good meal out then this is a must!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix36, Owner at Salt Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. It certainly represents the feedback we receive on a daily basis from so many of our customers. One thing to note is the reviewer makes a point of coming to Salt with 'no preconceptions about the food'. I really think this is a great piece of advice when taking a seat in any restaurant. I believe it makes for a more relaxed evening, a greater appreciation for the differences in restaurant menus and a more objective view on what the talented chefs are up to in the kitchen. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Salt is located right on the water - friendly staff and excellent food. Our meals of eye fillet and venison were cooked to perfection. Highly recommend for a quality meal at a not too expensive price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We returned to Salt since our visits last year. It is still a very pleasant place and we could dine outside. Effective service. Very good food, reasonably priced. However, the plastic table tops could have some dining linnen or paper as there are too many spots in the plastic tops.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 

Been to Salt Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.