We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Bar and Restaurant

Salt Bar and Restaurant
Whitianga Hotel | 1 Blacksmith Lane, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
07 866 5818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A rip on the ferry ,five minutes, and a short walk gets you to salts...like most new zealand restuarants the room is big and lacks atmosphere but the food was superb

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    97
    35
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A u c k l a n d
1 review
“Don't leave town without visiting the Whitianga hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

SALT restaurant is leaps and bounds ahead of any establishment in Whitianga I recommend every one of the main dishes, the eye fillet is superb but the duck and the fish mains are also delicious. Great staff and friendly atmosphere, the fireplace is cranking in the winter and the sun on the deck over summer makes this a regular for our whole family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Bees Knees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent - the highest quality. You must book here, this place is so popular if you don't book you will miss out. Excellent menu selection, great seafood, fabulous service - a must when in Whitianga

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were passing by, it looked nice so stopped in for a drink. The atmosphere was amazing. Would have liked to have time for dinner. Next time!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Love that crayfish dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

These people aim to please. We were there for the scallop festival, in which you could expect mayhem, but they still manage to source a crayfish specially for us - cos we asked (the day before). They are great with gluten free options and they are clearly indicated on their menu, lovely to see. My seared crayfish was served with a side of quinoa. I don't know what they did to it but boy, it was tasty, very impressed.

We have been three times, our favourite place to dine in Whitianga.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 

Been to Salt Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.