We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motu Kitchen

Motu Kitchen
2 Mill Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand (Formerly Mill Road Bistro )
+64 7-866 0053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $75 - $165
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The focus of our kitchen is to make deliciously good food, prepared simply, from the finest local ingredients. Luckily for us, the Coromandel is home to numerous growers of top quality produce, makers of beverages, and gatherers of excellent seafood. What we can’t find locally is sourced from across New Zealand, with a focus on organic, free-range and sustainable production. And because we can’t resist, we also have a few treats from further afield… champagne & caviar anyone?
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful night out at Motu.
The food was excellent.
We really enjoyed our duck pâté and squid starters and the duck and beef mains. Very tasty.
The deserts were indulgent.
The wine selection was good as was the coffee

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Motu kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to come across Motu kitchen on the Internet when we planned our wedding. It was a lucky day for us. We were given a planned menu encompassing new Zealand's finest seafood.

We made no alterations to our 7 courses as there was no need. It was perfect.

On the actual night the food was as they promised. Amazing. The Staff were cheerful and attentive and the restaurant setting was beautiful.

Thank you so very much Emily and Ian for a memorable and very lovely evening which we shall not forget. Our guests are still raving about the night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very friendly wait staff and lovely décor. We enjoyed our entrées but unfortunately decided that next time we would try something else on the menu for the mains. (My husband had the duck and found it lacking in flavour ... could be the fault of the duck! .. and I had the beef cheek which I hadn't had before and didn't like the texture ..... so just one of those things sadly). Didn't make it to desserts but maybe next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A group of six of us dined at this restaurant last night and all agreed that this is quite possibly the most delicious food that we have eaten in many years! The creativity of the chef is to be applauded. His presentation was exquisite and every mouthful was a pleasurable treat and completely unexpected! The food, however, was not the only surprise - the service was outstanding and completely delightful with a description given of each item on the plate. She was absolutely charming - these two make a fantastic team!

If you are ever in Whitianga you must have dinner at the Motu Kitchen - and if you are not in Whitianga, it would be worth travelling there just for dinner!

Thanks you two - it was a beautiful dinner that we all thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockatoo, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Exceptional meal. A lf the meal lot of work had been done to prepare our meal with different tastes to excite the palate. Mains cost around mid $30 but well worth it with everything perfect. Prompt waiting staff with update on progress of time of arrival of meal. Cannot wait to return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motu Kitchen also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Motu Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motu Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.