We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Pier on the waterways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sovereign Pier on the waterways to your Saves list
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   73 South Highway | Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE UNLIMITED WiFi
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 stars in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the apartments for 3 nights from March 28 and were completely blown away by how fantastic they are. We had a warm, friendly welcome from Yvonne and were given the key to villa 21. This was a ground floor unit with views on to the marina and a wonderful garden space. The apartment itself was so spacious, modern and clean that we took one look and decided we would stay in and cook - it was too lovely to leave!
It's an easy 15 minute walk to town, which we did on our second night but we stayed in again on our third such was the comfort.
Whitianga is a great base for exploring the Peninsula and Sovereign Pier is THE perfect place to relax. Thanks so much, we really hope to see you again.

Room Tip: All look great. Garden on ground floor, balcony on first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
All I can say to that amazing review is WOW! And of course thank you so much for your outstanding comments. It made my day to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and to hear you enjoyed & appreciated Sovereign Pier for all its outstanding qualities. It was definitely our pleasure to host your stay and we look forward to having your back again in the future. Wishing you many happy & safe days travelling in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

These are near new apartments overlooking the Whitianga Waterways. They are well presented and in a quiet location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a huge lounge and outside deck. We used the barbeque on the deck.They are about 1km from the town centre and the beach

Room Tip: They are all good overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to do a review. It's great to hear people enjoy the lovely big decks and the barbeques provided with each of our Villas, as well our peaceful feeling on their return, from walking to the town centre. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a lovely stay here, we enjoyed the space and most of all the view onto the waterway. It was in a handy location, close to the town centre, but still felt like we were away from it all.
The rooms were large and the walk in wardrobe was very handy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review Sovereign Pier on the Waterways. It is great to meet people that appreciate our "point of difference" that you are staying in a large apartment suite with all the space and comforts of home. Our extremely peaceful location means it is fun to make the short enjoyable walk to the busy little township and a pleasure to return to the peace and quiet at the end of your walk. Hoping you will return for another stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

For a serviced apartment styled accommodation, Sovereign Piers is most definitely up there. Even the ground floor was good! Clean, tidy grounds, friendly onsite manager with a great deal of local knowledge.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovpier, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to host your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the ground floor Villas as that would be my pick with the lovely lawn and easy walk along path to the pool. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December and thought it was perfect. The apartment itself was spottlessly clean, tastefully furnished and so peaceful. It was also very spacious and had its own garage.
Yvonne, at reception, was so very helpful and gave us lots of information about places to visit and things to do. She even let us borrow a spade to let us dig our own little pool at Hot Water Beach.
We were just sorry we weren't able to stay for longer as Sovereign Pier is a super base from which to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovpier, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for such a complementary review. It is our pleasure to assist families to find out all the fun things to do in this wonderful part of NZ and great to hear how much you enjoyed it afterwards. Good on you for finding time to visit Hot Water Beach, as that is a unique experience in NZ. Safe travels and we would love to have you back to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this property from 27 Dec - 1 Jan (5 nights) we were a group of 10 adults & 4 children & 1 infant. We had 3 rooms to cater for our family group. Rooms, 17, 19 & 21. The property is fantastic! The rooms amazing! The pools ideal! We can't really fault it at all - we loved every minute of our stay and we will be back. Our kids lived in the pool and spa pool. Loved that the rooms had their own bbq and all kitchens fully stocked with everything you'd need to cook! We look forward to coming back again :)

Room Tip: Rooms 17, 19 & 21 are adjoined by small gates should you have a large family group and wish to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovpier, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for those wonderful comments and we are really pleased you and the extended family all had such an awesome Christmas and New Year. It was a pleasure to have you all and see how well behaved all the children were. We would welcome you back anytime and hopefully will see you back next year. Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

If your reading this review…don't wage any more time on your decision on where to stay because this is the place!
Its a home away from home with a little bit more! The apartment itself is set on the waters edge and if you are fortunate with the weather… your outside dining is furniture makes a great spot to see in the later hours. If your keen on a bbq… its here also!
If its too hot, theres the swimming pool, which is of high standard and for the fitness fanatics there is a gym and tennis court!
Don't worry if the weather turns for the worst as inside there is plenty of space to relax and socialise within a beautiful decor!
Bed was comfortable and we had our 11 week old daughter with us and our portacot and with all the space, it catered for her easily!
We where looking for a weekend away in Feb with some other friends and we where planning on Taupo… Not any more!!

Room Tip: If your keen on the pool, ask for a room close to it! No. 11 or 12 would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovpier, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing such a fantastic review of our accommodation. We really appreciate it and look forward to hosting your stay for the Scallop Festival and any other stays next year, as we would love to welcome you back anytime. We are really glad it suited your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sovereign Pier on the waterways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Pier on the waterways

Address: 73 South Highway | Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Pier on the waterways 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star resort delivering great holiday experiences 2nd to none with guaranteed water views, spacious modern suites,(1,2 or 3 bedrooms). Your ideal honeymoon or holiday location. Facilities include FREE in room Wi-Fi, super-sized spa pool, lap pool and tennis court, gym and kayak hire. Suites all have designer kitchens, spacious dining, lounge and bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes in master bedroom, providing all the comforts of home and more. Water views guaranteed with all Suites located on the waterfront with peaceful relaxing views of the Waterways & mountain range beyond; set amongst landscaped grounds, just minutes from the beach, Whitianga is spoilt for choice with many cafes, bars & restaurants, ensuring all tastes are catered for, only a 1.5Km walk to the centre of the township. Cosy gas fires/or heat pumps complete the picture for the colder months. A full laundry is provided within each Suite.Unique to Sovereign Pier is their own private boat ramp; and ample FREE parking for cars & boat trailers. Guests with large power boats and yachts can also rent a marina berth, subject to availability. They have 24hr security in their gated complex for your peace of mind and a private lockable garage is provided with each Suite. Kayaks & quadricycle are available for hire. Whitianga is a New Zealand coastal town on the move. Often considered the Coromandel's jewel in the crown - It marks the gateway to spectacular deep sea fishing and diving as well as swimming, bush walking, scenic cruises, soaking in a hot pool at Hot Water Beach at low tide, or indulging yourself for a massage at the famous Whitianga Lost Spring Hot Mineral pools & Spa, horse riding, surf and line fishing, kayaking, relaxed shopping, dining on local cuisine, golfing, bone carving - Sovereign Pier sits in the center of all of this,in the peaceful location of the Whitianga waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sovereign Pier on the waterways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Pier On The Waterways Hotel Whitianga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Pier on the waterways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.