We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Waves Cafe

Hot Waves Cafe
8 Pye Pl, Whitianga, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: +64-7-866 3887
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in here or breakfast on the way to Hot Water Beach. Amongst their other services they rent out spades! Food was fine, good range, nicely cooked, and speedily dispatched to us, in their nice outside dinning area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guri, South Korea
Top Contributor
718 reviews 718 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

C1 + G ( 2013.12.30 )
There was located near hot water beach. I and my family visited for lunch and ordered pancake, big breakfast, etc. The food was good and the staff's service was good, too. We enjoyed there good food and atmosphere. Good..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic wedding venue and great cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our daughter recently had her wedding reception at Hot Waves and it was an excellent choice. The staff were very helpful, obliging with anything we needed and the food was delicious; I particularly enjoyed the fresh baked bread rolls. We stayed several days locally and enjoyed many great coffees here as well. Don't miss this lovely spot if you come to Hot Water Beach!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was just down the road from the parking lot for Hot Water Beach, so very convenient for dinner. You can eat inside, or they have a very nice garden area. After hanging out with the cat in the back room (I think they may have a B&B set up there, not sure) we had dinner - pizza for her and the seafood soup for me - got a big bowl of soup packed full so was pretty happy with it. Wasn't expecting much seeing as it was the only place we saw in the area but we wound up being very happy with our meal.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our party of four had breakfast at this café on our way to the hot water beach on the Coromandel. Food was well prepared and very tasty. One of the best breakfasts we had in New Zealand during our three week visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Waves Cafe also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 

Been to Hot Waves Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Waves Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.