We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Resort Whitianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Resort Whitianga to your Saves list
Beachside Resort Whitianga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Eyre St, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“A home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly welcoming hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Clean, modern accommodation with everything you need and well positioned for a walk along the esplanade to the ferry terminal, or into town for the many cafes, restaurants and shops, and quick access to The Lost Springs.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs one bedroom unit at the end of the block with a lovely view of the ocean and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Happyjafas. Thank you for your comments. Beachside Resort is in an ideal location with easy access to everything Whitianga has to offer especially the famous "The Lost Spring" an amazing place to spend the whole day. Please quote this review for a TripAdvisor return discount when you are next in Whitianga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    108
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
151
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wwwwwwonderful Whitianga winter weekend was excerienced by us at this modern complex. Convivial hosts Russ & Gill gave us a warm welcome to this gem in the Coromandel. The short-cut to the adjoining "Lost spring Spa", a somewhat expensive way to take a "hot soak", the beautifully man-made complex lived up to expectations. The Beachside Resort discount stay was obtained off a supermarket coupon - a champagne stay for a beer price.

Room Tip: Upstairs room had a view of Buffalo Beach and Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear ClubMINI - Thank you for your review, we love to hear that our onsite managers gave you a very warm welcome. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us in Summer and maybe stay a little longer at Beachside Resort. Remember to mention this review when booking for your TripAdvisor return discount. Also we run the $99 per night supermarket deal printed on the back of your shopping dockets so remember to look out for these, however a TripAdvisor reader can also request this $99 deal - subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Beachside Resort is the No.1 place to stay...a skip to the beach....a stroll to the harbour..a casual walk to town.
The units are all modern,clean and well appointed with everything you need for your stay... no matters whether its over night or 2 weeks.
Your hosts....Gill and Russ..will give you a 5 star welcome and can advise you of any restaurants, activities and adventures in Whitianga and surrounding area.
I would highly recommend a stay at Beachside Resort... I have travelled extensively here in NZ and overseas and this resort is up there with some of the best I have stayed in .
What more can anyone want!!!!!!!! 5 star all the way!!!!!!!

So if you are coming to Whitianga ..this is the place to stay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Ginny – Thank you for your comments. I am glad that Russ & Gill looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you stayed for ten nights with us. When you are here next at Beachside, you are welcome to stay in one of our Ocean View Spa apartments at no extra charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

very pleasant overnight stay in comfortable unit - very reasonable price - managers very pleasant and welcoming - weather rather cool and rainy but it was just for the one night so no problem. easy walk into the little town - had great thai meal at the thai restauarant upstairs in main st.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Susie - Thank you for your lovely comments. Winter tends to bring a little more rain than we would like for our guests, however, you are more than welcome to return in summer, stay a few more days with us and enjoy some of the best weather on the Coromandel, also sample many more dining options in Whitianga. Mention this TripAdviosr review for a return discount, Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently hubbie and I decided we needed to "get the heck out of dodge" and leave Auckland, work, problems etc behind. We spied a special on one of the daily websites and thought "why not?" So off to Whitianga were we. One word WOW! We had one of the most perfect weekends weather wise that NZ has seen for a long time - more summer than mid-winter. We arrived at the Resort and were blown away - EVERYTHING was perfect - our host was charming and helpful - even suggesting which restaurants we should try. We literally can't speak highly enough of the resort and the entire surrounding area. We had also booked in at the Lost Spring so to be able to walk through from the back of the resort was a bonus. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is that the beds appeared on the small side compared to our normal queen? Or maybe we just ate too much at the local takeaways ha ha - but if you are thinking of coming to Whitianga you can NOT beat this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Kiwiactrss - We would like to thank you for your comments and are pleased you found Beachside Resort perfect. We will take your comments about our beds and investigate increasing the to a king size. Don't forget to mention this review for a return Tripadvisor discount when you visit us again in summer - Regards Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at Beachside Resort Whitianga from the moment we arrived and checked in the managers Russ and Jill made us very welcome they were very helpfull .Iwould highly recomend to stay at this accomadation the rooms were very tidy clean and comftable .again i would like to thank Russ and Jill for there welcoming and very helpful nature i dont think our stay in Whitianga would have been the same with out them. Wayne [chippa] Russell

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Wayne - thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that Russ & Jill both helped make your stay with us at Beachside Resort more enjoyable. Please come back and see us again and remember to mention Trip Advisor for a return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful friendly and accomodating staff. Clean, spacious and modern units. One of the draw cards to our stay was The Lost Spring. It was fantastic to know that this was in walking distance situated to the back of the resort. Would happily recommend and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Donna - Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Beachside Resort and we hope you can stay a little longer with us and have more time to enjoy the Loast Spring. Remember to mention Trip Advisor for a return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Address: 20 Eyre St, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Resort Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.