We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Resort Whitianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Resort Whitianga to your Saves list
Beachside Resort Whitianga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Eyre St, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently hubbie and I decided we needed to "get the heck out of dodge" and leave Auckland, work, problems etc behind. We spied a special on one of the daily websites and thought "why not?" So off to Whitianga were we. One word WOW! We had one of the most perfect weekends weather wise that NZ has seen for a long time - more summer than mid-winter. We arrived at the Resort and were blown away - EVERYTHING was perfect - our host was charming and helpful - even suggesting which restaurants we should try. We literally can't speak highly enough of the resort and the entire surrounding area. We had also booked in at the Lost Spring so to be able to walk through from the back of the resort was a bonus. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is that the beds appeared on the small side compared to our normal queen? Or maybe we just ate too much at the local takeaways ha ha - but if you are thinking of coming to Whitianga you can NOT beat this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Kiwiactrss - We would like to thank you for your comments and are pleased you found Beachside Resort perfect. We will take your comments about our beds and investigate increasing the to a king size. Don't forget to mention this review for a return Tripadvisor discount when you visit us again in summer - Regards Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    108
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
151
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at Beachside Resort Whitianga from the moment we arrived and checked in the managers Russ and Jill made us very welcome they were very helpfull .Iwould highly recomend to stay at this accomadation the rooms were very tidy clean and comftable .again i would like to thank Russ and Jill for there welcoming and very helpful nature i dont think our stay in Whitianga would have been the same with out them. Wayne [chippa] Russell

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Wayne - thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that Russ & Jill both helped make your stay with us at Beachside Resort more enjoyable. Please come back and see us again and remember to mention Trip Advisor for a return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful friendly and accomodating staff. Clean, spacious and modern units. One of the draw cards to our stay was The Lost Spring. It was fantastic to know that this was in walking distance situated to the back of the resort. Would happily recommend and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Donna - Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Beachside Resort and we hope you can stay a little longer with us and have more time to enjoy the Loast Spring. Remember to mention Trip Advisor for a return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Only one night! What a shame this is just lovely, great beach views and walking to town. Huge rooms, lovely linen and full kitchen. Comfy bed and very friendly and helpful hosts. More of an apartment than a motel unit, and great value, would definitley recommend. The rolling surf certainly is great to go to sleep with, and with the balcony, great place to have that morning coffee and view the beach.

Room Tip: probably upstairs but I would think all rooms great. Not all rooms would have a view if that matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Pat0409 - It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Beachside on the Oceans Resort. Thank you for your great comments, and remember when you are back in Whitianga we would love to extend you a Trip Advisor return discount – just contact me directly. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Only stayed one night, found the apartment to be bright, clean, spacious...... very comfortable. Lots of amenities. Friendly staff, very quick and efficient check in. The views are stunning! Looking right out into the Ocean! Weather wasn't great for my stay, but I can honestly say on a sunny day......it would be paradise! Will definitely go back and stay here again in the Summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Public Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear HeyLaaLee, Thank you for your comments, it is always great to hear we someone has enjoyed their stay with us at Beachside Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and offer you a Trip Advisor return discount. Regards Bruce – Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed a weekend here mid April, lured by a good deal on "Grab One". We'll be back, GrabOne deal or not! We were upstairs in a one bedroomed unit, nice wee balcony outside and good (if limited) view of harbour out to the open sea from our lounge suite. Beach just across the road, with an abundance of whelks and other shells for shell collectors!
The units were well appointed without being luxurious, very good kitchen setup, bath in unit with shower over. We were a little apprehensive on arrival as it was the last weekend of the school holidays, the place looked packed and there were quite a few kids around, but the units were VERY soundproof and we had no problems at all.
We'd warmly recommend this resort to other travellers.

Room Tip: We were in the first unit upstairs so didn't have neighbours on our lefthand side. Don't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night in late March. The apartment was located upstairs on the first floor. There was an external stairway to a common walkway with the front doors of the units opening onto the walkway. No lift. The apartment was very clean, modern and appealing looking. The combined lounge/dining area was enormous with a very large flat screen TV on one wall. All of the other furniture was in very good condition. There was a good sized balcony off the lounge area that had views (albeit obstructed to some extent by the apartment building in front) of the water and the Bay.

The kitchen had a large range of equipment necessary for self catering, including a cook-top and was located either side of where you walked through the main door to get to the lounge/dining room. The bedroom was separate again, with a comfortable queen sized bed and another flat screen TV on the wall. The large bathroom was off the bedroom and had a heated towel rail. Whilst the shower was in the bath the shower water pressure was very good.

Free internet was available and there was a safe in the apartment. Free parking was available just outside the stairs up to the apartment.

Location was good, Less than 100 metres to the waterfront and about a 5 to 10 minute walk to most of the shops and restaurants along the main street and the harbourside.

The owners were very helpful particularly with regard to suggestions for dinner.

I thought the cost was very reasonable, particularly compared to the place we had stayed at in Paihia which was more expensive and not nearly as good a standard as this apartment.

Only downside was that the apartments use the laundry in the building next door and the washing machine was broken on the day of our visit which was also on the weekend. Owners did advise us how to get to a laundromat

Would definitely stay here again.

Tip: Owners recommended that we have dinner at the Wild Hogs Bar and Restaurant about a 5/7 minute walk away. The food, service, atmosphere and value was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Address: 20 Eyre St, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Resort Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.