We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager, purchase your own pepper or loo paper if you run out & clean up!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crows Nest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crows Nest Apartments to your Saves list
Crows Nest Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   18-20 Mill Rd, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude manager, purchase your own pepper or loo paper if you run out & clean up!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

If you think paying a thousand dollars for a weekends accomodation which you need to clean up at the end of it i or PURCHASE further toilet paper or pepper is a good holiday then its ok. Both stays weve had trouble with the manager, first because we were in the spa and forgot our room key @ 7.30PM & had to call her to let us in she wasnt happy about it and made us aware of it. Forgive me if im wrong, but its not my problem that you selected this choice of employment that WILL cut into your personal life?! Second stay the manager was very friendly & cold - all over the place.. we had 2 warnings to turn down the music and yet it was festival of speed weekend at 3.30pm on a sat? in my eyes not worth the money you pay. cannot fault the rooms themselves they are of a high standard with great views.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We were surprised at the message to guests left in this expensive apartment complex. The inforamation sheet provides "the apartment must be left in a satisfactory condition upon vacating. - all rubbish must be removed from the apartment. - all dishes must be left clean." This is accompanied by the reminder "as a guest you are jointly and severally responsible for any additional cleaning over and above that which would be reasonable" followed by the extra cleaning rate fo $55 per hour and carpet cleaning of $77 per hour. While the apartment was very pleasant, it became almost uninhabitable during the sunny days of our stay as the there was neither shade protection nor air conditioning which resulted in the apartment becoming uncomfortably hot.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment on 2nd level overlooking Mill road for 2 days. I am glad I did. It is walking distance to the town and main restaurants (I recommend the crayfish/lobster at Salt)

I booked it because it was the best furnished modern style accommodation I could find after an exhaustive search on the internet including reading reviews found on other sites.

There were other apartments/motels in the vicinity that claim to be luxury, only to see their website photos and see the 70’s style décor and furniture and bedding with loud colors that would make an epileptic throw a fit. If you are used to 4 or 5 star international hotels, you will find the décor of Crow’s Nest apartments more than acceptable. Some of the others in my view were just downright wrong.

Be prepared to take your trash out to the bins provided after your stay. I did not mind doing this and still prefer it to the other less tastefully decorated apartments.

I can’t believe the previous reviews about the management here as I had nothing but positive experiences. They were friendly and courteous. Being an apartment there is no staff on site after office hours, my ETA was 3pm, but I was late and the staff did stay behind so that she could hand me the keys.

Layout of 2 bedroom apartment
1 bedroom, toilet/shower, laundry to the right (depending on the apartment) of the entrance.
Past this is dining table and kitchen.
Lounge is ahead that leads out to the balcony.
2nd bedroom just past dining/kitchen has balcony access.

The Good
- friendly staff
- décor (balcony, kitchen, LCD TV DVD, dishwasher, wash machine & dryer)
- undercover parking
- location and views (partial ocean, views of boats going in and out of the harbour)

The Bad
- noise of exhaust fans (if on) from other apartments may be loud if left on all night, you may be prepared to ask them to turn it off.
- the 2 bedrooms in the apartment are not equal, 1 couple will have to draw the short straw. 1 has nice a sea view with ensuite, the other may be bothere with fan noise above.

New World Supermarket is 2 min drive away, and you will get a discount for petrol of you make a purchase from there.

I also recommend a swim at the nearby Lost Springs. Entry is sold in 1 hour slots. Next time I will go there and snack there for lunch.

I have not included any photos as I don’t think I could add any more than what is already on the website.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Rates were increased from our negotiated rate mid-way through stay, manager stating "original price was not guaranteed"!!!. Just appalling service that ruined vacation in beautiful location. We have submitted formal written complaints regarding this accommodation and highly recommend staying clear.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanview75
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

The apartments are beautifully appointed with modern furnishings and fittings. We chose the Crows Nest after much deliberation and research as we wanted to make a sound recommendation to our friends and family who also needed accomodation at the same time.

Our room was not serviced on the 4th day as we were told it would be by the management upon check in. Clearly there was a break down between the managerial staff and the service staff (Who, as it happened, remained polite and friendly at all times during our stay); instead of the rooms being turned down, we were simply given clean towels and had the coffee bar re-filled. We had been told it would be a bathroom and kitchen clean, and change of linens.

The office hours are only from 12.00pm to 5.00pm each day, which proved very frustrating.

The internet is also shocking. You must decide in advance what exact hour of the day (within office hours) that you want to use the broadband connection. It is also misquoted in the information book as being $10 per day, when it is in fact $10 per hour and subject to the ridiculous time booking system.

The manager of the complex treated our friends and family in the most despicable and abusive manner. This treatment was unjustified and disgusting. We have never encountered such appalling treatment by what is supposed to be a 4 1/2 star Qualmark rated hotel.

We would not recommend the Crows Nest to anyone. Steer well clear.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crows Nest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crows Nest Apartments

Address: 18-20 Mill Rd, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crows Nest Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowsnest Apartments are fully self-contained luxury apartments, ideal for travelling couples, families and groups.Apartments are fully furnished in a modern, contemporary style. Fully equipped kitchens with quality appliances, dishwasher & microwave. Separate bedrooms with queen/twin & single beds. En-suites with bath/shower, hair dryer. Furnished private balconies/patios. Internet facilities, DVD player & 8-channel Sky Digital TV. Washing machine, dryer, iron/ironing board. Roof deck with spa pool, outdoor tables & chairs. With the beach only 20 metres away and the main street of Whitianga only a 2 min walk away, our contemporary designed apartments are the ideal choice for an enjoyable and memorable stay in the stunning Mercury Bay of the Coromandel Peninsula. A short stroll to restaurants, shops and ferry. Discover beautiful Cooks Beach, famous Cathedral Cove or dig your own spa at Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crows Nest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crows Nest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.