We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohuka Place Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ohuka Place Homestay to your Saves list
Ohuka Place Homestay
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Ohuka Place | Ohuka Park, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in in Devember 2011 and had a lovely stay. Helen and Edwin were so welcoming as was Bailey their beautiful and friendly dog. Our room was very comfortable and had great views out over the bay - we enjoyed sitting out looking at the view and the birds. Great breakfasts and a great welcome. It was very quiet and peaceful, but easy to drive into Whitianga. It was our first Christmas ever away from home and we were a little apprehensive - but we were made to feel part of the family and had a wonderful time here - thank you. The only possible improvement would be the addition of wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Excellent stay! Stayed there for one night in February 2012 . The warm welcoming, and attention of our host make us feel like home.
Our hosts are just fantastic. I wish we could have stayed longer.
They offer you a great breakfast, the rooms are spacious and clean, the view is stunning and they give you all the advice possible
Definitely the place to stay in Whitianga.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying with Helen and Edwin at their home, Ohuka Place for three nights. I hadn't seen any reviews so I took a chance on booking from the description(OTIF).Our room was huge with sliding glass doors that displayed an extraordinary view of the bay. This is a very large and modern home. Everything is pristeen. We were served lovely hot breakfasts in the morning whenever we chose to eat.Our last night we were even invited to stay for a home cooked dinner which was so delightful after many, many restaurant meals.
We had a car which I think would be helpful as it is not walking distance to the town.
There is also a beautiful golden retriever Bailey to welcome you and make you feel even more at home.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful views and private ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This B&B is in such a beautiful place; it sits atop a hill in Whitianga with amazing views from the many windows in the room. The room that we stayed in was bright and sunny with a perfect view overlooking the water. The place is only a few years old with modern furnishings- the bed was comfortable and room was very clean. The owners were exceptional hosts-very lovely people, both friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome and as if we were in our own hometown. We particularly loved the affectionate dog named Bailey! I would highly recommend this place to any traveler, particularly those in search of a romantic setting. We should have stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, Uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Excellent, clean B and B with pleasant and helpful owners. Lovely views from property & very comfortable and spacious bedroom. In a beautiful quiet spot only about 5 minutes drive from Whitianga where there were plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohuka Place Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohuka Place Homestay

Address: 11 Ohuka Place | Ohuka Park, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohuka Place Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil sunny B&B with kingsize/twin beds, en-suites, TVs and private sliding doors to your patio overlooking Mercury Bay. Wake up to breathtaking sunrises and sea views and step out from your room to the terrace to enjoy breakfast surrounded by native bird song, farmland and bush. Peaceful hilltop setting only a few minutes from the beach – none of the waterfront traffic noise. Very friendly live in hosts offering a relaxed stay and a true New Zealand experience.Rooms serviced daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ohuka Place Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohuka Place Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.