We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad attitude and very bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Motel & Cabins

Beach Motel & Cabins
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Motel & Cabins to your Saves list
Beach Motel & Cabins
108 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad attitude and very bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed in the beach cabin -
Extremely bad attitude from the people running the accommodation
Cold water shower
No reception office on the site, so we had to ask people staying there where to go to check in (and then had to go to a different camping ground to check-in). There weren't even any signs to indicate this!
Noisy (from nearby road)
No air conditioning
Fat back TV
Dirty shower, with hairs in it

But the worst part of this was the bad attitude of the people running the accommodation. They didn't even greet us with a "hello". We were greeted with an abrupt "What do you want?", and then when we told them that we'd booked accommodation they said even more abruptly "Well have you got all your paperwork?" - and the very bad attitude continued.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Worst accommodation ever!!!! Situated away down the road and around the corner from the office we stupidly didn't view before we paid up front! Got the key, went down and walked in....there was a blood stain on the duvet, pulled back the sheet and there were three black hairs, checked the shower and the floor was black which we thought could just have been a bad stain.....it wasn't, it was pure filth! Went to talk to the owner, Grant, said I didn't want to stay could we have our money back. He offered us another room which I declined as I had no faith in his level of cleanliness. Then he got nasty and said tough! We wouldn't be getting our money back, called for a young guy to go check the room and said go get key off him, we went down to check other room which young guy was cleaning, whole room stunk of exit mold!!!! At that stage we told him we couldn't stay, gave him one last chance to refund us which he declined then left!!!! Worst experience EVER!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the worst value place I have EVER stayed in. The place was filthy - dirt, mould, cobwebs, pools of water in bathroom. The bed was disgusting. The pillowcases and sheets all wrinkled. Looks like they hadnt been changed. The coffee and sugar in containers and were block solid so no use. Tea bags just ones out of a box. Very unhygenic on the bench. Two other couples were there while we were there and they both checked out after one night. We spoke to them and they thought the place was absolutely disgusting. After checking in we never saw the manager. This place is a rip-off. $120 for 2 people. We arrived to check in at the SHED. No-one there, just a note saying phone. We didnt have a phone with credit. So then phoned the number and told to contact Dawn. Who is Dawn? The lady next door.
Service was shocking, accommodation was shocking, isn't even on the beach. Photos on website are just blantant fraudlent.
This has been the worse value place I have stayed. Don't go - unless they really do charge you the appropriate price of about $70.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. You will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Room was ok for the price, kitchen adequate no oven but microwave and hot plates which were a bit slow.
Walls a little thin.
Lots of hot water which was a plus.
A heat pump would be a welcome improvement in the future as it was hot and with the windows open the traffic noise was loud.
Helpful in the office which is signposted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Although being called Beach Motel, “located directly across the road from the beach” the property is not beachfront, you can’t even see the beach from the units because there is a row of houses across the road blocking the view.

The motel is located away from the main part of town. The front unit we had was large and clean but no soap or shampoo in the dispensers in the shower. The WiFi did not work and the owner was not interested in resolving the problem. It was ok for one night but it needs some TLC from the owners.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This place charges you the FULL amount of your stay when you make a booking and has no refunds! My 74 year old father made a reservation over the phone thinking he only had to pay a $20 cancellation fee, but was charged $500 immediately!! He tried to cancel almost four weeks before his stay and was told then he couldn't but could make another reservation for another time which he didn't want. This was for my parents 50th wedding anniversary and they don't have money to throw away, so even after a phone call plea, they still refused to refund his money! Heartless, unethical and immoral! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Photos on the website are not a fair representation of the 'cottage' I stayed in. Smelt so musty & unoxygenated it gave me a headache. Beds & sheets looked like they were 30 years old. Duvet cover was wafer thin (for winter). No soap in bathroom. Gurgling toilet. Heating? It had an elcectric heater the same age as the beds. This place is a backpackers at best. Would not recommend unless you are on a student budget. Needs clean up & cosmetic overall to attract clients. I asked to cancel the accommodation when I arrived but was declined. Was so unimpressed I thought of letting them keep the $95 & still paying another nights accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Motel & Cabins

Address: 108 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Motel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.