We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipi Dune B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pipi Dune B&B to your Saves list
Pipi Dune B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Picked this B&B because of reviews on this site. I second everything that has been said about the hosts - they are friendly, helpful and go out of their way to be hospitable. The room was clean and tidy with nice decor, if on the small side. The en-suite was also pretty titchy, but also clean and tidy.

The guest lounge is an added bonus, especially as we were the only people using it. There are no TVs in the rooms, so if you want to watch anything you have to use the lounge. Free WiFi was much appreciated. I expect it, but am surprised how many places don't offer it yet.

The location is a residential cul-de-sac - pretty quiet, and a short walk to the beach. Town is 15 mins on foot.

All in all I'd certainly consider staying there again. It's sort of like a very very high quality hostel rather than a luxury hotel though - not romatic getaway material! Price is reasonable for the level of service from the attentive hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We spent two very enoyable days there, and Joan and Vern took very good care of us and offered us their very warm hospitality. I enjoyed very much the scrambled egg that Joan cooked especially for me and she even checked that our flight had been executed safely after a delay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This B&B was well located within walking distance of the township. We had our own private entrance and the kitchenette with excellent facilities for self catering whilst on the road was very much appreciated. The hosts (Vern and Joan) were extremely friendly and helpful. There is lots to see and do in the area. Vern will even lend you a shovel to take to the Hot Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Vern & Joan are excellent hosts. Very friendly, helpful and they know just how to make you feel at home. The B&B itself is almost brand new and certainly very acceptable accomodation for the price you pay. Vern and Joan really go the extra mile to make sure everything is to your liking and the extra's they provide in the area of food supplied by them for you to nibble on or even something more substantial to make a sandwich or some toast, far surpasses more expensive B&B's we have been to. PipiDune is just under 2 km from the town centre and this is just far enough to go for a nice walk, which you can take along the beachfront down to the town.
Thank you Vern & Joan for a lovely, relaxing time. We look forward to staying with you again.
LKSK

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDEN PARK SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Pipi Dune in early May for 2 nights. We were fortunate to have the place to ourselves for most of the stay.

Joan and Vern were very friendly and hospitable hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them - the place is kept immaculately clean.

If you are thinking of going Whitianga - don't look any further for accommodation.

Couple of things to do - Go to Otama Beach and Opito Bay (stunning). Have an ice-cream on the way at the little shop in Kuaotunu - but ask for a small serve - they are huge and if you get more than you expected put a coin in the pig on the counter.

Eat at Squids (across road from Salt) - they have great lunch time specials - the seafood chowder is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiesbaden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Vern and Joan make you feel so welcome here that you'll never want to go home! Thanks for a fantastic couple of days.

Kathy and Tim

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We called Vern and Joan on the hope that they had a room having read some great tripadvisor reviews, unfortunately all their rooms were taken however they offered their spare room upstairs in their home as it was late in the day and we had no alternative accommodation, very kind indeed!.

From the moment we arrived both Vern and Joan made us feel right at home within their spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated B&B, we had a great night and decided to stay a couple more days. All in all a very well located B&B with very friendly and helpful hosts. Would happily recommend this B&B to other travellers.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipi Dune B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipi Dune B&B

Address: 5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pipi Dune B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipi Dune is a purpose built Bed & Breakfast with separate guest accommodation. Located in a quiet cul de sac and within easy walking distance of pictureque Buffalo Beach, guests can walk along the sand on their way to the town centre with its trendy restaurants and cafes.We have a guest lounge, kitchenette & satellite T.V. Also free of charge is wifi, a BBQ area and off street parking.A cooked breakfast from our menu is served at a time that suits our guests, is inclusive and part of our service. There is a self serve option.We are very happy to offer advice on where to go and what to see in our very scenic part of New Zealand.We provide picnic equipment & spades for Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Pipi Dune B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipi Dune B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.