We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipi Dune B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pipi Dune B&B to your Saves list
Pipi Dune B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Chester, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed 2 nights with Vern and Joan. Good accom and very clean.Bedrooms a little tight but well decorated and modern. The hosts were very friendly and hospitable....a surprise beer on arrival,the use of their personal computer and email facility.Best of all, we had dented the car and needed a panel beater...Vern found and phoned the repairer,took us there (we had to leave it for a day) and lent us his own car so that we could go sight-seeing....all at no extra charge.Now, that's hospitality exemplified!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

At NZ$120 a night (high season), this was really a very good deal for the experience we had when we stayed with Verne and Joan for 2 nights. Other B&Bs seem to be overpriced and we were not shortchanged in any way when we stayed here. The hosts were friendly and they also had a lovely dog upstairs we could play with; Verne went the extra mile to print some coloured maps for us too. The house is very nicely done up and everything is spic and span. Although the bedroom was a little tight, it was very comfortable - Joan provided FULL sets of thick towels, soap and dreamy pillows. The attached bathroom was also a little tight on space but the cleanliness made up for it. The kitchen/ dining area was bright and cosy and we could also use the washer/ dryer freely. You could tell a lot of pride went into refurnishing this house and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The place is very close to the beach and a 20-minute walk to the town. We would recommend this place to anyone who welcomes a safe, inviting and comfortable home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I picked Pipi Dune out of the hat, but shouldn't have worried. I was warmly welcomed. As the only guest at the time I was made especially welcome. Mine hosts were very helpful in terms of where I should visit - even lending me a spade to dig at Hot Water Beach I was so at ease that I stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

It's the extra little things and attention to detail that sets Pipi Dune apart from most other B & B's we have experienced.
Fine quality linen, towels and soap, a superb breakfast and immaculate accommodation, not to mention the thoughtful and good natured hosts Vern & Joan.
When we are staying in New Zealand again, we would certainly be staying at Pipi Dune again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We have two children aged 6 and 8. Pipi Dune was very handy as the children could have their own room but it was directly opposite ours if they woke up in the night. The location is central but quiet. It's very clean and Vern and Joan are lovely. They even mailed us our son's favourite book that he had left behind without us even asking!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

If you're looking for modern, clean accomodation that's close to town and only a short walk from the beach, you need to check this place out. Beautifully equipped guest lounge and kitchen area and lots of variety in the breakfast department. (We chose to get our own.) Joan and Vern have certainly put a lot of thought and effort into making guests feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Vern and Joan were the perfect hosts, if you have any interest in flying Vern will have you on the flight sim in minutes, I have and he did! You really are treated like family, and we will certainly stay in touch. The breakfast is excellent with no restriction on quantity or quality, and with plenty of choice. If you are going to hot water beach they will even supply the spade, a full size one , not those didy things they hire out at the beach, so you can dig your hole twice as fast! A visit to the beach turns into a very social occasion, as does staying at pipidune, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipi Dune B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipi Dune B&B

Address: 5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pipi Dune B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipi Dune is a purpose built Bed & Breakfast with separate guest accommodation. Located in a quiet cul de sac and within easy walking distance of pictureque Buffalo Beach, guests can walk along the sand on their way to the town centre with its trendy restaurants and cafes.We have a guest lounge, kitchenette & satellite T.V. Also free of charge is wifi, a BBQ area and off street parking.A cooked breakfast from our menu is served at a time that suits our guests, is inclusive and part of our service. There is a self serve option.We are very happy to offer advice on where to go and what to see in our very scenic part of New Zealand.We provide picnic equipment & spades for Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pipi Dune B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipi Dune B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.