We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B stay in New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipi Dune B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pipi Dune B&B to your Saves list
Pipi Dune B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best B & B stay in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Very clean and comfortable with a warm welcome from Joan & Vern. A lovely seaside home, not far from the beach and excellent restaurants. Great breakfast and guest areas indoors and out. The little touches make this place special...................buckets and spades, towels for the beach and local info on the wonderful Coromandel Peninsula!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nerja lover in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We recently stayed at Pipi Dune B&B for 1 night during a visit to Coromandel Peninsula. I would highly recommend this B&B. The rooms and bathrooms were absolutely spotless and the bed was really really comfortable. The room also came with access to a lovely spacious shared lounge with TV, use of laundry facilities and free Wifi.

Joan and Vern are the perfect hosts, providing some great information on what to do around the local area. We ended up going to the local thermal spa and Joan even gave us a set of towels so we didn't have to hire towels at the spa.

The cooked breakfast was yummy with the option of having as much toast, cereal, fruit juice, coffee and tea as you pleased.

This B&B was excellent value for money and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

This B&B was very charming, clean and was less than a 5 min walk from the beach. The hosts were very friendly and delightful to chat with. The breakfast was basic with juice, cereal, croissant, tea and juice, but plenty to fill you up and start your day.

The only point that we found a bit more difficult is that the rooms have very thin walls, therefore, we sometimes felt that we had to whisper (especially in the very early morning - we were still jetlagged by that point, and getting up quite early) and were afraid to wake up the travelers in the other room if we went to bed a bit later.

Overall though, a great experience, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This was the cleanest accommodation we stayed in during a 3 1/2 week NZ vacation -- and that's saying a lot because we stayed in several other very well maintained places as well. Vern and Joan are extremely pleasant and helpful. We stayed during a very rainy time, and they were truly concerned that our stay might be ruined. (It wasn't.) The rooms are quite small but they're modern and quite adequate. Small but good private bathroom as well. The common area is lovely -- larger than you might expect and better than the photos. The kitchen has everything you might need and it's open to the guests. Joan serves very good breakfasts as well. Because of the rain, I spent quite a bit of time in the common room/kitchen. It's modern, well furnished, and comfortable. There is an adjoining laundry area. We highly recommend Pipi Dune.
Vern & Joan, thanks a bunch from your first guests from the US Midwest.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of February. The room we had was not too big but has it's own entrance, private bathroom, and no ac but a good fan and breeze from open window. It is in a great location just a 1 minute walk to buffalo beach, nice lounge area with a large tv, fridge for guest use, food and drinks in the fridge available and two of the best b&b hosts we've ever seen. Vern and Joan and so welcoming, we got a map with highlights, coupons to restaurants, lessons on how cricket is played (there was a big match on tv), and an amazing cooked breakfast. The breakfast we had on both mornings was Joan's flapjacks which were amazing. We even got the recipe to try at home.

Overall the stay was fantastic. We used the stay in Whitianga to explore coromandel, ha hei beach/cathedral cove/hot water beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

To end our trip with three nights at Pipi Dune B&B after having travelled for five weeks was like heaven. Extremely clean, very comfortable and the most friendly and helpful hosts you can imagine. They made us feel like home. Go there and pick the milkshake for breakfast!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I was in Whitianga for the Coro Gold NYE concert. All we wanted was a place to crash at the end of the night but what we got was a beautiful, quite and confortable place with very friendly hosts and a delicious breakfast, delievered at the time we chose. My only complaint was that I coulf only stay one night. If I go back to Whiti I will definately stay at Pipi Dune

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipi Dune B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipi Dune B&B

Address: 5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pipi Dune B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipi Dune is a purpose built Bed & Breakfast with separate guest accommodation. Located in a quiet cul de sac and within easy walking distance of pictureque Buffalo Beach, guests can walk along the sand on their way to the town centre with its trendy restaurants and cafes.We have a guest lounge, kitchenette & satellite T.V. Also free of charge is wifi, a BBQ area and off street parking.A cooked breakfast from our menu is served at a time that suits our guests, is inclusive and part of our service. There is a self serve option.We are very happy to offer advice on where to go and what to see in our very scenic part of New Zealand.We provide picnic equipment & spades for Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pipi Dune B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipi Dune B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.