We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome and great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centennial Heights B&B

Centennial Heights B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Centennial Heights B&B
Save
You added Centennial Heights B&B to your Saves list
141 Centennial, Whitianga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Auckland (ex-UK)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful welcome and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Johanna & Paul made us very welcome from the very first moment. Almost like being one of the family!

The view is absolutely awesome and our first opinion was that New Zealand couldn't get much better than this.

Our first trip was so good we stayed a second time! We hope to return soon for a third....

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Paul and Johanna are the best hosts you could possibly have at a B & B. The accommodations are simply wonderful. The view from Centennial Heights is one of the most breath taking views you will ever see. The next time I travel to New Zealand, I will stay at the Centennial Heights B & B, without question, and so should you. I highly recommend it.


Jeff W.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

Centennial Heights provides pleasant luxurious hotel standard accommodation accompanied by bed and breakfast ambiance in the beautiful New Zealand seaside community of Whitianga. Hosts Paul and Johanna are very friendly and provide excellent recommendations for activities and dining in the area, while Mollie the collie was a great guide dog on our beach walk. Our room and bathroom was very clean and spacious. Most rooms have exterior access. Great value.

  • Liked — friendly hosts and fabulous views
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

The Centennial Heights Bed & Breakfast is an absolute dream! With a panoramic view of Mercury Bay and the Pacific beyond, it is hard to capture the beautiful setting in words or photos. The best thing to do is just stay there and soak it up every morning and evening. Breakfast was delicious and elegant, and the view makes it an experience not to be forgotten!

With several rooms available, the site should work for almost any entourage, and the rooms all seemed equally comfortable and nicely appointed. I slept brilliantly despite a HUGE time change from home! The owners are just lovely beyond any reasonable expectation and their good company was one of the highlights of our New Zealand travels. Paul and Johanna have traveled and lived all about the nation; they were a gracious and handy resource in finding our way around the countryside and fine-tuning our plans beyond the Mercury Bay area.

The area is scenic, pristine, and populated by wonderful people. The B&B had a terriffic whirlpool spa, and nearby tennis courts hold a fantastic vista of their own. Be sure to share some wine and conversation with your hosts if possible. Just delightful!

Centennial Heights B&B was like a home away from home and we can't wait to return with our growing family!

  • Liked — The view and the hosts
  • Disliked — Night life was not a factor for me, but there isn't any within walking distance. Plan to create your own!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

The good points about this B&B were, lovely large room which opened up onto a patio with tables for eating outside and a gas barbeque. The location is at the top of a hill overlooking Whitianga Bay, so lovely views from the breakfast room on a morning.
The bad points, no toiletries supplied, no hairdryer, very small hanging space for clothes, no cooked breakfast.

  • Liked — Lovely large room
  • Disliked — breakfast and not much clthes hanging space
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centennial Heights B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Heights B&B

Address: 141 Centennial, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Whitianga and stay in stylish accommodation at affordable prices. Awake to sound of tuis, spectacular sea views from the living area and enjoy a delicious self-catered breakfast. Your hosts, Lee & Marlene, will do their best to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. Situated overlooking Simpson's and Buffalo Beaches, both are within walking distance. Whitianga is the ideal place to enjoy the sights and activities the Coromandel has to offer. We also provide local knowledge about holiday activities in the area and we also do bookings on your behalf at no extra charge. Just ask us! We will do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centennial Heights B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.