We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore Crystal Cave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yanchep National Park

Yanchep National Park
Cnr Yanchep Beach Road/Wanneroo Road | 42 Kilometres North of Perth, Yanchep, Wanneroo, Western Australia 6035, Australia
(0)8 9303 7759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Yanchep
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please note, due to low water levels, there are currently no row boats at Yanchep National Park. Whether you‘re looking for a day trip near Perth or a quick stop on your journey to the Pinnacles or further north, Yanchep National Park (just 45 minutes north of Perth city) provides you the opportunity to experience kangaroos, koalas, limestone caves and Aboriginal culture in a natural setting. Enjoy a game of golf on our 9 hole natural course, book your special occasion in our purpose made Cabaret Cave, walk along one the park’s trails (ranging in distance from 500mtrs to 55kms), enjoy a picnic in the natural surrounds or savor your appetite at one of the dining facilities located in the park.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Explore Crystal Cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Yanchep Park is an ideal picnic weekend for family and guests from overseas to discover West Australia. It's only an hour or so away by car from Perth CBD and you don't have to travel too far to see caves of West Australia and therefore Crystal Cave which is worth visiting. There're restaurant and cafeteria in Yanchep Park and also a hotel and nice picnic areas and the gift shop is worth browsing and for souvenirs. The lake is just beautiful and pleasant. The native animals are a treat too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    69
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Out in the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a lovely day at Yanchep Park. There are country walks but we took the easy one by walking around the lake. It was a nice leisurely walk which took us about 45mins. When we got back we visited the gift shop on site which was reasonable priced, then for a cuppa before visiting the area where the Kaola's were. Unfortunately we didn't see any Kangeroos but saw all sorts of birds. The lake was so beautiful but because of the water level being low because of the lack of rainfall boating was not available but maybe next time. There are caves there to visit at a cost, but we didn't have time to wait for the next tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Crystal Cave - not the usual cave....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Thanks to a really enthusiastic and well informed guide we have a really interesting tour of this underground treasure of stalactites and stalacmites that really are quite young by other cave comparisons. It is also not so deep underground so not too many steps for the less able. Lots of shawls and other stalac delights to interest everyone. An hour well spent...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Koalas, kangeroos and caves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Felt really excited going to Yanchep National Park, as a trip to Australia is not really complete without seeing kangeroos and koalas.

When we arrived at the park, we went straight for the tour at Crystal Caves first. Loved the tour - our guide, Yvette, was amazing and made our 45 minute walk through the cave very informative and interesting! Very glad we had chosen to take this tour. Do check on the times the tour is running and call in advance as each tour is capped at 30 guests.

After the tour, we drove around the park and saw groups of kangeroos out (a bit past 3pm). We were lucky that it had rained that day, and weather cooler, thus kangeroos were out earlier than usual. Also took a walk in the koala zone and spotted quite a few koalas there.

Great park to stop by - we really enjoyed it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Highlight Was Seeing Kangaroos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent opportunity to see kangaroos in a park setting in the late afternoon/early evening. We arrived around 4 pm, headed to the koala walk near Yancep Inn. There were approximately 7 koalas that we saw from the walkway. By 4:30pm we walking on the lakeside where kangaroos were starting to gather on the lawns in the shade of the trees. It is such a lovely setting to see kangaroos having the freedom of wandering the park. It would be an ideal opportunity to take a picnic dinner in the park on the lawns near the office where we saw the bulk of the group of kangaroos congregating, approximately 30 kangaroos; there is the opportunity to feed the kangaroos. We enjoyed refreshments at Yancep Inn and viewed some resonably priced hotel rooms on the lakeside which had a pictureque view of the lake.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanchep National Park also viewed

 

Been to Yanchep National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yanchep National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.