We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day trip out of Perth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yanchep National Park

Yanchep National Park
Cnr Yanchep Beach Road/Wanneroo Road | 42 Kilometres North of Perth, Yanchep, Wanneroo, Western Australia 6035, Australia
(0)8 9303 7759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Yanchep
Type: National Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Please note, due to low water levels, there are currently no row boats at Yanchep National Park. Whether you‘re looking for a day trip near Perth or a quick stop on your journey to the Pinnacles or further north, Yanchep National Park (just 45 minutes north of Perth city) provides you the opportunity to experience kangaroos, koalas, limestone caves and Aboriginal culture in a natural setting. Enjoy a game of golf on our 9 hole natural course, book your special occasion in our purpose made Cabaret Cave, walk along one the park’s trails (ranging in distance from 500mtrs to 55kms), enjoy a picnic in the natural surrounds or savor your appetite at one of the dining facilities located in the park.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice day trip out of Perth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This park is perfect as a day trip out of Perth.
If you don't have a lot of time to visit WA this is a good place to get an introduction to the local fauna and flora. We enjoyed the kangoeroes, koalas, birds, flowers and trees. Charming coffee house and some nice picnic spots.
We visited the day after Pinnacles desert and didn't have to pay entrance fee because the two parks work together. You basically get 2 parks for the price of 1 which was a really nice surprise.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    56
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Australian Fauna in an afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

With only five days in Aus on the way to NZ we had not expected to see much in the way of wildlife, mainly because we would be in Perth all the time. So this bit of countryside on the northern outskirts of the city was a pleasant surprise . We visited on a dull week day in December so the place was pretty quiet, I imagine it can get very busy at times especially around the main carpark/lake area?
Within 10 mins of being there we had seen Koalas and kangaroos. The Koalas are 'imported' and live in an enclosure of sorts...in the fact that they can't escape as there is a boundary where there are no trees.The kangaroos don't seem bothered by us humans and we were able to get close enough to get some good photos.
Loads of birds about to, both down by the lake and around the tea shop, which had an English 1950s style to it...
As Brits visiting Aus for the first time this was a great introduction to the wildlife. Locals may not be so excited about seeing a kangaroo or many of the birds...
We were only there for about three hours and it would have been great to see the caves or walk further but out hosts had a young baby so we just stayed around the lake.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place to see Kangaroos and other Australian wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good place to see Kangaroos and other Australian wildlife in their natural habitats. No cages, no enclosures. There is a small admission fee. Late evening entries are free, I understand. Good place to picnic and have gathering with friends.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This National Park is different from others in that this is obviously managed, and has more the atmosphere of a city park. But don't let that stop you visiting!
Somewhere you can see koalas in WA (where they do not occur naturally) - see if you can spot all eleven. Wild kangaroos hopping around, appearing very at ease. White-tailed black cockatoos (you might even see endangered Carnaby's!), and an assortment of other birds. Take a walk round the lake. Or take in the Aboriginal experience. There is something to interest everyone.
A lovely place to spend an hour or two, ideal to drop into on your way up to Nambung or back to Perth.
$11 may seem a little expensive, but don't forget the National Park pass - valid for a whole month, and only $40. And you can visit as many WA National Parks as you can fit into your itinerary. A bargain!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“National Park - absolut fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A must see for everyone. Spotting the koalas, watching the kangaroos grazing or taking part in aboriginal experience - something for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanchep National Park also viewed

 

Been to Yanchep National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yanchep National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yanchep National Park to your Saves list