We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small, secluded B&B near wineries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmills Break

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windmills Break to your Saves list
Windmills Break
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2024 Caves Road | PO Box 126, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Excellent small, secluded B&B near wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here in early November for 3 nights, as part of a Margaret River tour. Very welcoming and yes we got the full site tour on arrival. Large bedroom with veranda and all the normal amenities expected of a 5 star rated location. Some small signs that it's previous deserved high standards may have slipped a bit - such as bathrobes missing, toiletries not replaced until asked for, room floor not vacuumed, but these are minor niggles for a delightful location. The meal on Sunday night was fantastic - series of starters like tapas, with big log fire burning. We did walking part of cape to cape route one day and then took wineries tour next day, which the B&B sorted out for us. We had an eat in our room one day, buying lots of bits from the supermarket in local town, and second day went to local fish restaurant only 2 km along road. Missed out on using the outdoor pool and hot tub - weather too cold in early morning and late evening. I managed a jog into Yarringup, over the hill and down to the beach to watch the mad surfers.

Room Tip: We got room at end of corridor, so outdoor veranda felt very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    40
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
173
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A nice boutique, child free retreat, but there is an air of pretense that doesn't quite translate ro delivery. The food does not match what you would expect from a five star establishment. The rates do not reflect value for money. The advertising said there were robes etc., but we had to as for everything to be provided. Given what we paid it should hVe already been in the room.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying ask for a room in the main complex but one which is in the more expensive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean W, General Manager at Windmills Break, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We have read your review and note that it refers to a stay with us in December 2011 (12 months ago).

We have checked your reservation details for December 2011 and our sincere apologies for bringing the robes to you after you had already checked into your room. We do agree that they should have been in your room at the time of your arrival.

We apologise if you found the menu somewhat limited during your stay in December 2011. Our Restaurant only commenced full operation in February 2012.

Consistent with our Regional West Australian location, we strive to deliver a relaxed, friendly and intimate service at all times and your feedback will make us work even harder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

From the time you walk in the door, you feel like you are in a 5 star resort. A very nice warm welcome from Sean, tour of all the facilities, and lots of freebies (port, tea/coffee, pastries, DVD's, tennis court, spa and pool), just the little extras that make you feel special.
Very comfortable room, great breakfast and dinner.
Can't wait to return and relax.

Room Tip: All have private court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a gorgeous little find, Windmills exceeded our expectations, the residence and grounds are a lot bigger and more spacious than the wed page indicates.
Our room was very comfortable and so peaceful, with only 12 rooms you feel like you have the whole place to your self.
The staff are very efficient and just lovely, always helpful and smiling, nothing is too much trouble.The owner was in residence while we were staying as the manager was on holidays. What a delightful man, very hands on with clients as well as gardening and customer service.
We took advantage of the Spa treatments on offer, 75 minutes each of bliss, in a cute little hut to the side of the property.
Windmills is literally 5 minutes drive from Dunsborough, so perfectly located for all sorts of activities
Wifi was having issues during our stay, however they were sorted this out, hopefully?
We will definitely be returning for a winter break on our next visit, the open fire in the main lounge is too lovely to resist.
We will be highly recommending this property to our friends.

Room Tip: all lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Windmills Break during the recent long weekend.

The property and grounds were very nice. Our courtyard room was well appointed, great bed and pillows, fantastic entertainment options and a lovely bathroom. Complimentary water was a nice touch. It was a bit cold and wet the first two days so the fireplace in the dining/bar area proved a popular place during the evenings. I did think the main dining/bar area was a little cluttered with brochures, newspapers and the like and perhaps a bit heavily furnished....it didn't feel as luxurious as it should.

Had the weather been better, we would have made use of the beautiful pool. Having the opportunity to have breakfast outside on the deck would have been nice too.

The wait staff were very professional and friendly. I found the manager a little standoffish but I guess it takes all types.

Dined two nights at the property and enjoyed a "tapas" style menu. It was best described as small entree meals rather than traditional tapas to be honest but nonetheless the food was delicious. The scallops were interestingly presented and tasted great. The included breakfast, while being nice, wasn't as spectacular as I would have expected.

Overall, I'd recommend this property if you intend to relax and spend an extended time making use of the facilities on offer. If your having a short stay and intend on doing lots of sight seeing and visiting the extensive wineries, perhaps better value can be found at other properties. Its a personal choice. To me the rating is between average and very good....3.5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent 2 nights at Windmills and from the second we walked in the staff made us feel extremely welcome. The grounds surrounding the retreat, many sitting areas, and large restaurant mean that you hardly see other people giving the sense that you have the place to yourself.

Fantastic tapas style food and nice wine from the restaurant. The staff are more than happy to accomodate your needs - want to have your meal served by the fireplace? No problem!

Nice big room with foxtel, courtyard, sitting area newspaper and weather report delivered daily. Can't complain!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The service provided by the manager Sean was second-to-none. He was attentive without being intrusive, and clearly cares about the place.

The number of complentary items really make this place feel like a home - port, chocolate, newspapers, fruit, bottles of water, tea and coffee, pastries, wi-fi, DVD selection (400, apparently). These are only little things, but make a real difference to your stay.

The room with a private courtyard was great. Comfortable bed with good pillows, which can make or break a stay. Full a la carte cooked and continental breakfast was included in our rates, which was another strength. We loved reading by the fireplace at night.

Granted, we were there during a quieter week, so this may have influenced our impressions, but overall it was a fantastic 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmills Break? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Break

Address: 2024 Caves Road | PO Box 126, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windmills Break 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmills Break is a luxury 5 star resort located in Yallingup Western Australia - part of the Margaret River Wine Region. A Full Gourmet Breakfast is usually included in your tariff. With swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, tennis court and luxury furnishings in all rooms - Windmills Break is a small luxury resort. The property is fully licensed and has two 2 bars with food available most evenings. Room service is available. Windmills is a perfect romantic getaway destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Windmills Break reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Break Hotel Yallingup
Windmills Break Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmills Break, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.