We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relatively new resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths Beach Resort to your Saves list
Smiths Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 2 Smiths Beach Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yallingup
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great, relatively new resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Booked x2 beach shacks next to each other as we had 4 adults and 2 kids amongst us. Each beachshack sleeps 6 (queen bed in one room; 2 bunk beds in second room; central bathroom with combined laundry/separate toilet; open plan kitchen/living area). Would be fine with 2 adults and kids, but I think you would feel like you are getting on top of each other if more adults were in the shack. Each beachshack has a car spot at the front and a small courtyard with BBQ, outdoor dining set and clothes line. Appliances all new and in good condition. Modern decor. Flat screen TV and DVD player in each shack. Split air conditioner in each bedroom and living area....which was very much required during the summer days. Lovely pool (and wading pool) for a swim and deck chairs to soak up the sun....is supposed to be heated, but the day we arrived they had just cleaned and refilled it and so was not heated completely yet, but still enjoyed it as it was a warm day. Tennis court also at property. No views from beachshacks. Toiletries provided and towels were white and fluffy and linen beautifully white and crisp. Shacks stocked with ample amount of laundry detergent/dishwashing detergent/vacuum etc for long stays. Real milk (not UHT stuff) also in fridge for arrival. Handheld shower head great for those with kids, no bath tub in shacks, but bubby can be washed in basin. Each beachshack has showers outside for you to wash off sand before entering unit.

Dined at restaurant in resort, food was pretty good but pricey. Funky bar and shop for you to buy ready made meals (though we didn't try these).

Great place to stay to enjoy the beach (Smith's beach is quite rought, Bunker Bay is calmer) and Margaret River region.

We stayed when they had special rates on, so at the time it was better value for money. However, would definitely recommend this resort and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
48
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbounre
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed in a 3 bedroom beach villa with fantastic views across the Indian Ocean. The accommodation felt like a house and was easily big enough for a family although we were only 3 people so we had ample room.
The adjacent smiths beach was wonderful although be careful of the large waves that seem to crash extremely close to the shore.
The resort itself is very stylish but doesn't feel like a resort - more like a compound of houses - but really lovely.
The restaurant was sub-standard especially the coffee and the food. There was too much going on with the menu and prices were greater than most Sydney or Melbourne restaurant but without the quality. The breakfast however was quite good.
Additionally the wine store attached to the resort was grossly overpriced, with some fairly average service. Head into Dunsborough for all the supplies.

This resort is good if you don't mind jumping in the car to explore the region with many of the best parts of the area very nearby.

We loved Cullen, Leeuwin and Clairault wineries they all have great eating areas with great wine and food.

Overall we loved this place and would definately go back.

  • Liked — The stylish villas and great nearby beach
  • Disliked — The restaurant and wine deli
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We stayed at the beach shacks at Smith Beach Resort recently with 4 adults and 2 children. There were 2 rooms in the shacks, one with a queen size bed and the other with 2 bunk beds. The resort was very quiet, peaceful (being a low season) & clean. The shack had its own private BBQ area at the side which was great. The pool was lovely and smith beach was just a short walk from the resort. We stayed there for 2 nights but will definately want to stay longer in our next visit!

  • Liked — Modern, clean and comfortable accomodation
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed in Smiths Beach Resort for 4 nights in late April.

We found the service in the restaurant, reception, bar and The Wine Deli to be excellent. The food in the restaurant where we ate breakfast on a couple of occasion and dinner one night was of a very high standard.

We booked a standard 2 bedroom Beach Shack, we found the bathroom a little small, but the bedrooms and the main living area are a good size.

We did have some housekeeping issues though. In the second bedroom, we found M&M's in one of the beds, as well in the cupboard. Also in the cupboard was a half a bottle of Pepsi. Our son also found an empty packet of Skittles behind the TV cabinet!

We also found the caravan and camping sites in the middle of the resort quite strange. While there was nobody staying at the camping sites, it seemed a little out of place at the resort. Their website didn't advertise that caravan/campsites were on offer at the resort.

Overall it was a pleasant stay at Smiths, although in comparison our preference is still Bunker Bay as it has a little more atmosphere as well.

  • Liked — Restaurant, Good Location, Good Service in the Restaurant and Front Desk
  • Disliked — Cleanliness issues in the room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

My husband and I stayed in a one-bedroom apartment for our first wedding anniversary. This accommodation was very spacious, light and very modern. The term 'apartment' doesn't really do it justice - I'd describe it more as a one-bedroom townhouse, with the bedroom and bathroom downstairs, and the living areas & fully-equipped kitchen upstairs overlooking the pool. We were lucky to be placed in D16 which has some ocean views from the second storey.

The resort itself is well-equipped with a small deli/bottle shop, cafe-style restaurant and champagne bar onsite. Just as well, as access to many other facilities (e.g. supermarket, petrol stations etc) are a reasonable drive in car, the nearest I would suggest being Dunsborough, around 10-15min drive away.

The location of the resort is nestled in the dunes, so you are very close to a gorgeous beach. Alternatively, there is a stunning pool area with plenty of sun loungers, some undercover. The grounds are also beautiful, gorgeous gardens with plenty of mature plants with fragrant flowers getting you in the holiday mood. We noticed there seems to be a bit of 'touching up' and 'finishing off' going on around the grounds as this is a very new resort, but there were no issues with noise etc from the tradespeople.

The staff at the resort were friendly and helpful, no complaints there.

A couple of small issues, the security card system they have in place is rather temperamental, if we didn't swipe the card 'just so' and for the correct amount of time, the door just wouldn't open. The entertainment system has been programmed onto an 'All-in-One' remote control which really did keep frustrating us, and we're generally pretty good with 'techy' things. Lastly, the small BBQ and patio heater on the balcony overlooking the pool had been rested on the most awful scrap piece of lino, which just ruined the whole balcony. We ate inside instead as it looked dirty and scruffy.

We think the rooms would've benefited with an information folder of some sort. They included a basic guide to all of the appliances, which assisted with most things, but there was nothing to tell us the little details about the place. For example, menus & opening days/times for the cafe and the champagne/cocktail bar. How often the rooms would be serviced (they weren't - we stayed 3 nights), whether fresh towels were available, maybe a few local wineries or eateries they recommend for the out-of-towners ... those sorts of things.

Overall though, a great experience. Lovely relaxing place to stay, and the South-West in general never fails to disappoint in keeping us entertained.

  • Liked — Location, modern rooms, views
  • Disliked — Temperamental security card system
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Secluded however still in prime location on Smiths Beach, Yallingup, Smiths Beach Resort is absolutely beautiful and comfortable. Spacious villas/apartments are private and have everything you could possibly want including a bbq, fully equipt kitchen and kitchenette (in 2 bedrooms and up). The restaurant, 'Bathers' is beautiful and the wine deli is a must for fresh bread each morning with the paper and a coffee. The pool has plenty of deck chairs and scattered so you arnt lying on top of one another by the pool. The bar is small but trendy with alot of atmosphere. The only problem is the flies (which is not the resorts fault)... It is a perfect place for a relaxing family holiday.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The flies
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Beach Resort

Address: Lot 2 Smiths Beach Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Beach Resort is a resort with a difference - a mix of private self-contained accommodation combined with first-class resort facilities.This is the quintessential Australian beach-side experience encompassing world class facilities and an assortment of food and beverage options operated by Lamont's, one of WA's premier food and wine families. These facilities include restaurant, bar, gourmet deli/cafe and bottleshop, and the only cellar door wine tasting facilities in a resort in the region.Smiths Beach Resort is unlike most resorts in that it offers guests the convenience of fully self-contained accommodation, all with private living areas and kitchen facilities, ideal for those who prefer the option to look after themselves, or these wonderful dining facilities for those who prefer to relax and make the most of being on holiday. As such, Smiths Beach Resort does not offer room service and rooms are are not cleaned daily however additional cleaning can be arranged for those who desire it.Rooms range from comfortable 4-star Beach Shacks for families, to beautiful and very spacious 5-star Apartments, Villas and Beach Houses.A Small Luxury Hotel of the World boarded by the spectacular Smiths Beach and the internationally acclaimed Margaret River Wine Region. The Beach Shacks are not part of the SLH program but guests do have access to all the resort facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Beach Hotel Yallingup
Smiths Beach Resort Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.