We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extended weekend at smiths beach resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths Beach Resort to your Saves list
Smiths Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 2 Smiths Beach Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“extended weekend at smiths beach resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The property is located right on the beach and is about 10km south of Dunsborough so it has a secluded feel to it. There are different types of accommodation here from beach shacks to more upmarket apartments. We stayed in a 2 bedroom beach shack which was comfortable and adequate for our needs.Bear in mind that they are not huge apartments so if you plan to spend a lot of time in the rooms (like in the middle of winter) there may be better choices around. They are self contained with a good variety of appliances and also have an outdoor area (private) with a BBQ. Beds are comfortable (bunks in the 2nd bedroom) and bathroom/shower good. TV has Foxtel and wi-fi is free. There is a deli, bottle shop and a bar/restaurant at the resort. You can get breakfast at the deli (bacon & eggs @ $16) which was good quality. If you are planning on cooking in your unit, do your shopping in Dunsborough as the prices in the deli and the bottle shop are not cheap. The location is what makes this place. If you want to stay close to home, the views and walking trails etc are magic and if you want to do the winery thing, they are right around the corner (including Lamonts which is on site).

Room Tip: Beach shacks do not have ocean views. If the view is important to you, make sure you request it when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not a huge fan of the restaurant but the location is amazing and it's nice to have a deli and bottle shop on the premises. We stayed in an ocean view apartment and had a breathtaking view and would definitely visit Smiths again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went to Smiths Beach March 2013 with another family where we booked a beach shack each. I had some reservations about the shacks at first as compared to their accommodation it didn't look as enticing as shown in the website. Also, as it was a easter weekend away I was quite surprised that there were actually some shacks left to be booked. But we were both so surprised to see the quality of these accommodation, and even more surprising is the amount of stuff included in the room. From kitchen utensils, bbq, and bbq equipment, dishwashing liquid, washing liquid, cleaning sponges, etc. Pretty much don't bring a single thing apart from your clothes, beach gear and toiletries.

The Setout of these shacks in close proximity to the beach is very nice and relaxing. and Smiths Beach itself is also Better than expected, amazing beach to relax and do some fishing.

Only negative during our trip is the poor service we received in Lamonts during breakfast. Every other staff was quite friendly, but there was an older lady serving in the restaurant that seemed to be annoyed with kids, we felt very unwelcome indeed. I would think twice eating at Lamonts in Smiths Beach for that reason.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Let's be clear...this place is in a great location and is architecturally beautiful. The people who manage the beach are also very nice and accommodating...at least for the most part. They did allow us to check-in before noon which was very cool!

We rented a 1 bedroom. got a pool view at checkin. no choice. The kitchen looks ok, but is a difficult to cook in. Be warned, it's very basic....no napkins, no paper towels, 2 white wine glasses (one with a few chips), 2 red wine glasses, and NO condiments. So essentially bring everything if you plan to cook. I would have expected at least 4 steak knifes or sharp knives. there was one...we shared.

Next, there's really no beach view unless you are on the second story of a unit and your windows face the beach. When we went to use the grill, it didn't light and the tank was empty. However, the staff clearly expected this and there was a full tank next to the grill. awesome! When i called the reception desk they told me to get some matches and try to manually start. I told them the gas was out and there was an extra tank. there was silence (not awesome) so i got to switch tanks myself.... took some effort to get the grill working when i could have been drinking. And clearly no one was anxious to come help me.

Expect your room to be cleaned daily? Didn't happen for us...Beach access was nice, but it's across the street. Pool isn't heated, and the water was really cold.

I guess the short answer is this is a nice looking property, but short on function. We expected a lot more....

Room Tip: Get a place that has a second floor and ideally facing the direction of the beach. Next time unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you appreciate modern Australian architecture, clever open plan design, and sensitive building placement in a beachside setting, Smith's Beach Resort will appeal. These elements gave us an immeadiate feeling of welcome on arrival, only to be enhanced when we strolled 30 metres to the beach on a windless sunny afternoon. The setting adjacent to one of the loveliest beaches you will ever see, is enchanting. White spotless sand, clear tourquise water, two little A frame surf breaks, going left and right mid way along the beach. The Australian dream - an uncrowded beach with not an element of anything man-made visible.
And the resort .... Large rooms, simply but elegently decorated with contemporary furnishings, no tizz, white linen on huge comfortable beds, vast window openings, generous balcony. The staff great, the deli offering exclusive tastings, lovely wine, and proper coffee. No bogans about here. There are various units in different budgets here. I am sure the staff will advise; they were most helpful to us ; and, as a small negative, if the unit had not seen much elbow greece in the cleaning department recently, perhaps this is because of the blissful life style of the locals.... and who could blame them?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter, son, partner and I stayed at Smiths Beach Resort from Friday 1 March 2013 until the 4 March 2013. When I called to make our booking I was welcomed by Leah, who was bright and bubbly and gave me all the information I required. Leah also welcomed us to the resort on arrival and made us feel very special and offered to help with any further requirements. The tennis court is great family fun, the pool. is amazing and the beach is beautiful scenic with good surf.
We had a lovely family holiday, we went to the Cheeky Monkey for lunch which I can highly recommend, relaxed and enjoyed the resort. Thank you Leah for all your care, we had an excellent weekend filled with family fun. We stayed in a Beach shack with an outdoor shower!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is right on the beach, but had no views at all. The accommodation is new, but too expensive. We did have a great time, because the location itself is very good, and you can visit very nice places from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Beach Resort

Address: Lot 2 Smiths Beach Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Smiths Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Beach Resort is a resort with a difference - a mix of private self-contained accommodation combined with first-class resort facilities.This is the quintessential Australian beach-side experience encompassing world class facilities and an assortment of food and beverage options operated by Lamont's, one of WA's premier food and wine families. These facilities include restaurant, bar, gourmet deli/cafe and bottleshop, and the only cellar door wine tasting facilities in a resort in the region.Smiths Beach Resort is unlike most resorts in that it offers guests the convenience of fully self-contained accommodation, all with private living areas and kitchen facilities, ideal for those who prefer the option to look after themselves, or these wonderful dining facilities for those who prefer to relax and make the most of being on holiday. As such, Smiths Beach Resort does not offer room service and rooms are are not cleaned daily however additional cleaning can be arranged for those who desire it.Rooms range from comfortable 4-star Beach Shacks for families, to beautiful and very spacious 5-star Apartments, Villas and Beach Houses.A Small Luxury Hotel of the World boarded by the spectacular Smiths Beach and the internationally acclaimed Margaret River Wine Region. The Beach Shacks are not part of the SLH program but guests do have access to all the resort facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smiths Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Beach Hotel Yallingup
Smiths Beach Resort Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.