We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Vineyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swooping Magpie

Swooping Magpie
860 Commonage Road, Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
+61 8 9756 6227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is a winery which has a friendly, casual garden-cafe area. Menu includes Vineyard gourmet platters, stone-baked pizzas, toasted panini, daily soup (seasonal), sweets, devonshire teas and espresso coffee.There are also a range of locally-made cheddar cheeses and gourmet products available for sale.And now also featuring "Two Fat Cows" Premium ice cream for sale.Open Mon-Fri 10am to 4pm and Sat/Sun 10am to 5pm.
Noosaville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint Vineyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hostesses were great, shared a tale or two. Purchased wine here and loved the cheeses on offer with the wine tasting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiltuf, Owner at Swooping Magpie, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi Joanne,

really pleased you enjoyed your visit to Swooping Magpie wines.
The locally made cheddars are popular, and great to enjoy with our wines.
Come back anytime.
Regards, Neil Tuffield.
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“So good to find a place with a light reasonable priced lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not many wineries do a light lunch. If you are working or going out for dinner its so good to find a place with really good soup, cheese platters or pannini. Very reasonable prices, friendly service and nice wine by the glass. Outside area is great for kids and the sun trap on the verandah very nice on a cold winter's day. Good coffee and yummy dessert. I really enjoyed the crunchy almond biscuits. Would be a great venue for relaxing a group lunch - cheese boards with lost of nice accompaniments and a bottle of Swooping Magpie wine. I will be back very often!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiltuf, Owner at Swooping Magpie, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Bluenanou,

thanks so much for your review. great that you had a nice time here.
Hope you left some of the yummy biscuits for me (boss's fav too).
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards, Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iluka
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Top Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited here as part of a wine tour and we were not disappointed. The wines are spectacular, no let me say that again SPECTACULAR. I do not like red wines at all but the one I bought for my huband even had me sharing a glass with him. I am a sweeter styled drink, highly immature I know, and the wines they had, suitable for me were incredible, let me say that again INCREDIBLE. So definitely do yourself a favour and head on over, the soup smells great and the owner is so helpful and infomative I will refer all our friends.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiltuf, Owner at Swooping Magpie, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind review.
Sounds like our Autumn Shiraz was the hit for you.
Really glad you enjoyed the experience here, and the wines of course.
Welcome back anytime.
Regards, Neil Tuffield.
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great local haunt in Margaret River region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I are regulars here. Great ambience, friendly service. Proprietor Neil and his team do a marvellous job balancing the needs of the wine tasters/buyers, the coffee crowd, and the casual diners. Whether you're a South-West local or visiting from Perth this is a must on your visit list. Very happy to recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Swooping Magpie, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. We're glad you enjoy our winery cafe, & there are some exciting initiatives coming in the next few months. A new website and facebook site, and the launch of our Wine Club just for starters. You're welcome back anytime....Regards, Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swooping Magpie also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Swooping Magpie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swooping Magpie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.