We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Lodge to your Saves list
Cape Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3341 Caves Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Previously stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed it so much we returned this visit to Australia. Service is superb and we were upgraded from Garden Room to a Spa Suite which was a very nice touch.
The setting is superb and very relaxing and the breakfasts wonderful all freshly cooked to order. We did not eat here in the evening a we preferred to lunch out at our favourite wineries - Voyager and Leeuwins.

The afternoon tea and muffins taken on the lawn by the lake were splendid. The Spa Suite rooms were a little bit dated we felt and in need of refurbishment to keep pace with competition and to keep the establishment in the luxury class. But all in all an excellent place to unwind after our stay in Perth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    57
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
227
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have visited the Margaret River region many times but have never visited Cape Lodge. We went to Cape Lodge for a long weekend and stayed in the Forest Spa Suite and what a beautiful place, very unique. The setting is lovely, especially the backdrop of the lake surrounded by trees which is the same view from most rooms and the restaurant. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped and mine had a balcony overlooking the lake.

The breakfast and degustation menu in the restaurant was top-notch, they have an amazing chef. All in all a very relaxing and special place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My first visit to Margaret River and I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Room was great, staff were really attentive and friendly and the food was excellent. I wish I'd been able to spend more than two nights at Cape Lodge. Well-deserving of all the acclamation it's received.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
707 helpful votes 707 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our second visit and it was remarkably little changed from 8 years ago except that, thankfully, it now has a (nice) pool. Our room was very large and most comfortable, dining was excellent (see our separate restaurant review) and the venue is relaxing and luxurious, if a little old-fashioned.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Recently had the privilege of staying here for a night prior to a wedding (wish it could have been more!).
We stayed in the Garden view room, which was beautifully appointed and with lovely views over the gorgeous gardens with the lake in the background.
The grounds are immaculately maintained and perfect for a lazy stroll.
We were lucky enough to experience the AMAZING food for dinner at the restaurant - something I would highly recommend (the food was that good I would make the 6 hour return drive from Perth JUST for dinner!). The food and service were second to none.
Breakfast was delicious - included with the room - and you could choose the buffet or a la carte in the restaurant, or choose from the a la carte menu to be delivered to your room (who can beat breakfast in bed!?).
All in all, this was a lovely overnight trip. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Any room here would be fantastic! We stayed in the cheapest room available (darn those budget restri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just spent the most glorious weekend at Cape Lodge! Our accommodation - deluxe spa Forrest sweet. A tranquil retreat, between our large spa overlooking the lake, private balcony, pool and lawn sports, we did not need to venture outside of the grounds. The restaurant both food and service was a, including our degustation dining experience was beyond exceptional. Then there was the two hour spa treatment. Walking through the grounds and relaxing under shady trees, this was truly a magical experience. Thank you Cape Lodge.

Room Tip: Forrest Deluxe Spa Suite, ground floor corner rm 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Spacious rooms overlooking beautiful gardens, delicious food served in the restaurant by friendly and helpful staff and in a great location to visit the wineries and breathtaking coastline. Enjoyed the the wine tasting each day at Cape Lodges of their own wine. Loved being surrounded by nature; beautiful flowers, watching the variety of birds all around, butterflies and chicks on the lake. Had a great massage although not a spa onsite just a room provided. Only thing that was missing was a gym for us as the pool was a little small for proper swimming exercise. This place is one to revisit though if returning to Margaret river.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Address: 3341 Caves Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.