We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Lodge to your Saves list
Cape Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3341 Caves Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a small tour group and had the most wonderful 2 nights (and days). Our huge beautifully decorated room was to die for - upstairs with a lovely balcony overlooking the lake with the most luxurious bathroom with huge spa bath. A great welcome from the staff who went out of their way to help at all times.
We had 2 evening dinners & 2 breakfasts, and they would all rate a 12 out of 10 (will reveiw this seperately). There was a wine tasking at 5pm on one of the days, showcasing Cape Lodge wines - a really nice touch.
The lovely sitting room in the main house had 2 huge drawers of DVD's to borrow for the player in our room and internet was available there as well. The gardens were beautifully maintained and even though it had been raining heavily, there were plenty of paths to wander around without getting too wet. The pool was also in a lovely setting and the tennis court looked the part as well. It was a struggle to actually push ourselves to get out and explore Margaret River (but of course we did), we would have loved to just sit around Cape Lodge !!!! Thoroughly recommend this divine place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    57
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
227
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Park City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I'm shocked to see reviews below that are not 5 star for this wonderful lodge. Our room was spectacular (close to the restaurant) and large, the dinner and breakfast were absolutely amazing, and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed at a B&B in Margaret River for 2 nights prior to this stay and I so wish we had only stayed at the Cape Lodge. I thought being "so far" out of town would limit us, but the lodge really was in a perfect location with easy access all around to great wineries and scenery. I now realized there really is no reason at all to stay in the center of Margaret River especially as the "best" lodging is possibly 3 stars if that.

The Cape lodge was very clean, the room was large, the service was excellent, and the food was absolutely amazing. I just wish we had been there for some of the cooking classes and for a longer stay. I hope to get back sometime in the future.

We didn't have a chance to use the spa or fitness room but I'm sure they were first class as well.

Room Tip: We loved being right near the restaurant - especially if you are walking back and forth in the dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had intended to book into the lodge for a normal wine tasting weekend, but when the proprietor contacted me to let me know that a gourmet weekend was in the making, we decided to indulge. We checked in on the Friday night before the formal festivities were commencing on the Saturday.
The room was nice, although not fabulous, with the smallest twin beds I've slept in outside of Europe. The lounge area was comfy, and our deck looking over the lake was tranquil and beautiful. The grounds are a lovely mix of well kept lawns, and colourful shrubbery which makes fr a peaceful, calming setting. The restaurant has a similarly gorgeous aspect, and the dining room is quite grand.
We were very disappointed at the small and hugely overpriced room service options, and instead decided to drive into Dunsborough for some take away which proved to be a very good option. The 15 minute drive was well worth it, and helped us plan our wine tasting choices for the following morning. Don't get trapped, it really isn't that far away.
Breakfast gets 10 out of 10. Fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals t star, with freshly squeezed fruit juice to start. Hot food is mad to order, and everything is just delish. Be patient though - the atmosphere is very French, including the slow food. The homemade muffins, scones, and cakes and preserves were worth breaking the diet for. Magnifique.
We had the pleasure of meeting Serge densereau' for a cooking demonstration and lunch. He's just lovely and his food was so good we bought his book. His dinner was even better. Wow - at some stage I have to find out how he cooks that egg yolk. - never tasted anything like it before. The wines from the Birch family really let Serge down. Given we were in a wine region we were surprised at how poorly the wines had been matched with the food. Ah well, can't have everything.
The cheese afternoon, similarly provided fantastic cheeses from Blue Cow, but the wines were awful from Cape Lodge. I couldn't believe that for a region specialising in Chardonnay, they would give us an ill matching SB with tese gorgeous gorgeous cheeses. Bizarre.
Overall, a fantastic 2 days. The spa in the room was nice too, and helped with some much needed digestion on the final morning. Lovely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had 3 nights at Cape Lodge in a suite in the main building. It was vast and very comfortable in every way. The aircon was faulty in one of the rooms on arrival but was fixed by the handyman in double quick time. It was a joy to walk in the grounds by the vineyards just budding in Spring, through the impeccably kept gardens and beside the lake. The restaurant was superb with service matching the magic from the kitchen. A light supper in the bar consists of small tastes from the main menu - delicious. As this was our first visit to the Margaret River area it was difficult to choose between discovering more of the region and staying put in the paradise that is Cape Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We unfortunately could only spend one day in the area and chose Cape Lodge on the recommendation of Australian friends. It was an easy drive from Perth airport and the scenery just perfect after living in the desert (Dubai) for some time.

Our room had a garden view, but was very basic. For the price I was expecting more luxurious finishes, but it's fairly cheaply put together. The cupboards look like laminated wood (plastic). The bathroom is better, large shower and heated floor which is a nice touch in the winter. The pillows are as hard as rock, so if you prefer a soft pillow, order ahead, not sure if they have others available.

The nicest part of the evening was going to the splendid restaurant. The menu is well put together and every dish was sensational. The New Zealand pinot noir wine which we had just finished off a lovely meal. The staff in the restaurant are well versed in both the food and wine and are attentive.

The path to the restaurant is very dark and rather treacherous in the rain, so bear that in mind before deciding to have the next drink!

The breakfast is adequate, but they do run out of baked goodies, so don't assume that the muffin or whatever will be there when you return later.

All in all, we would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to stay at the Cape Lodge for two nights.
The setting was relaxing and beautiful. My room faced the river. Just did not have time to
sit outside and enjoy the surroundings as we were on a whirlwind tour of the area. The room
was beautiful with a large sitting area inside the room and a beautiful bathroom. The dining
room was a short walk away with Tony, a master chef, who was quite creative with his tasting menu.
The freshness of his fruits and vegetables grown on the premises made quite a difference.

From the time I arrived and was shown to my room immediately to the time I departed there
was not a flaw in the service. The upbeat staff certainly added to the ambiance of the Lodge.
Also, the general Manager, Drew Bernhardt and his hands on approach made this a wonderful experience. Just wish I had more time in the Margaret River area. A real gem.

Room Tip: I did stay in room 21 which was downstairs and close proximity to the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I were lucky enough to win a weekend at Cape Lodge in one of their garden view rooms. Grounds are beautiful. Easy checking in and staff are very friendly. Rooms were immaculate as expected. Huge comfy bed, great bathroom with all the essentials. We had a lovely 5 course dinner from the chefs menu, and I have to say each course was pretty perfect. Staff again are very attentive. Restaurant and bar looks over the garden lake and has a wonderful chilled out atmosphere, finishing our wine by the log fire topped it off nicely! Breakfast both mornings were great. Continental selection and hot breakfast made to order. All in all I couldn't fault our stay at Cape Lodge. A little pricey but it's worth it for that extra bit of luxury!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Address: 3341 Caves Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.