We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet family stay - just what we wanted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yallingup Forest Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yallingup Forest Resort to your Saves list
Yallingup Forest Resort
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Hemsley Rd (off Caves Rd) | PO Box 453, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, quiet family stay - just what we wanted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The resort is located off the beaten track but - still close to Dunsborough for groceries and Margaret River area for the wineries. Nearby Yallingup and Smiths Beaches are world class.

Cabins are simple and very clean, perfect for the family. Wide verandahs all the way around the cabin make for great evening reading spot.

Good outdoor bbq facilities, again very clean and tidy.

Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We booked a 4-night stay through Groupon, paying $100 per night for a 2-bedroom chalet (plus $10 extra per night for the other three members of our family of five). The deal was supposed to include a bottle of wine on arrival and a yoga class somewhere nearby. We had to chase up the bottle of wine (the manager suggesting that he'd already given it us) - that was such a hassle in itself that we didn't dare ask for our yoga lesson.... I note that previous Tripadvisor reviews suggest that the owner/manager is a bit on the rude side; well we couldn't argue with that! A most peculiar man, not someone suited to the hospitality industry that's for sure!

The chalets themselves are OK - you get what you pay for. Furnishings/facilities were basic but generally clean. Some chalets are better that others - if there are other rooms vacant on your arrival, ask to check them out as they seem to differ wildly in quality.

Alas our room (5B) lacked any hot water for the first two days we were there... hot water system was faulty (no apology from said manager) so we had to forgo showers. Had to ask the manager if we could please use the showers in another vacant chalet (that's how we know that there were more nicely furnished chalets than ours; we used 6A - a big improvement from 5B!) - but again, we had to ask for this, the manager failed to provide us with any options for showering etc.

The grounds have a tennis court, pool, BBQ area and basic playground. The tennis court was covered in moss/algae which made it very dangerous to play on after rain. BBQ area was clean. Didn't use the small pool as it was chilly but it looked clean and maintained. The kids enjoyed walking through the bush, where we saw kangaroos and possums, and kookaburras which would come up to the verandas in the hope of food.

All in all, in spite of the manager-with-a-personality-bypass, it was an OK stay and good value for money (well, it would have been if we had hot water for all of our stay!) if you are looking for something rustic but well-located in the Dunsborough-Yallingup area.

Room Tip: Ask to see all the vacant chalets before accepting the key... furnishings and facilities vary betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our time here, close drive to amazing beaches. Chalets were fully equipped. Huge veranda for sitting out and enjoying nature. There was only 3 of us, but could have fitted 6 or 7 with sofa bed and pull out bed.

Overall, top marks for Yallingup Forrest resort.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a party of 19 people and booked 2 Homesteads and 1 Chalet. We all found the accomodation great for a family as the homesteads have interconnecting doors, the units were clean and a good size, and well appointed. We did not know what to expect driving in as it was very dry and sandy but this is typical WA. The setting is beautiful amongst the trees making it very quiet and secluded away from all traffic, there was lots of bird life. It is close to Dunsborough and Yallingup and has good access to wineries and great eating spots and beaches.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Our chalet shared a paper thin common wall. It was unfortunate that are neighbours thought late night drunken singing would be entertaining (on both nights they stayed ...). Otherwise good location and chalet was clean and roomy.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here last week and found it geat value for money considering the prices of some of these other places around Margaret River. location is amazing

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We paid $399 for Groupon coupon valued $1045 for four nights. We arrived there half hour early and the very rude manager said we could not get into the unit because it was still being cleaned.No problem but very rude guy.We got back there 2.15pm and he gave us key for unit. Well I would not let my dog sleep there, place was filthy,kitchen cupboards hanging off,filthydirty sink,cobwebs everywhere,so much for cleaners being there half an hour earlier.We left because there was no way I could sleep in that bed. We managed to get alternate accommodation which cost us money we had not allowed for. Got call from Groupon staff next day to say that resort would upgrade our accommodation,no way were we going back to face that nasty person.Please take note from our holiday that we had saved very hard for .DO NOT GO TO THAT PLACE PLEASE

Room Tip: Not advisable place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yallingup Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallingup Forest Resort

Address: Hemsley Rd (off Caves Rd) | PO Box 453, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yallingup Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management.Ideally located in the north of the Margaret River region, enjoy spacious, secluded and eco-friendly chalet accommodation at Yallingup Forest Resort.You'll be nestled within a serene forest of native bushland, yet conveniently located only minutes from some of the most stunningly beautiful beaches in the south-west and the bustling seaside town of Dunsborough.Discover the region's attractions and then come home to your accommodation and enjoy the charm and tranquillity of living in the forest, by the sea.Guests can get their very own eco-experience right on the door step. Take a leisurely walk through the bush, enjoying the high concentration of bio-diversity, including over 140 species of native plants, trees and wild flowers - you will certainly spot some of our native bird species, numerous kangaroos and other native fauna such as possums and bandicoots (after dark).Feel free to enjoy the on-site facilities, which include a swimming pool, tennis court, barbecue facilities and a children's playground with cubby. Sharing the same grounds are the Bush Shack Brewery - a great spot to chill out, try some home-style brews - and the OM Day Spa.So whether you enjoy surfing, family fun, bushwalking or simply recharging your batteries, you can have them all when you stay with us.Hope to welcome you soon, Cathy & James ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Yallingup Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yallingup Forest Resort Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yallingup Forest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.