We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yallingup Forest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yallingup Forest Resort to your Saves list
Yallingup Forest Resort
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Hemsley Rd (off Caves Rd) | PO Box 453, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here last week and found it geat value for money considering the prices of some of these other places around Margaret River. location is amazing

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We paid $399 for Groupon coupon valued $1045 for four nights. We arrived there half hour early and the very rude manager said we could not get into the unit because it was still being cleaned.No problem but very rude guy.We got back there 2.15pm and he gave us key for unit. Well I would not let my dog sleep there, place was filthy,kitchen cupboards hanging off,filthydirty sink,cobwebs everywhere,so much for cleaners being there half an hour earlier.We left because there was no way I could sleep in that bed. We managed to get alternate accommodation which cost us money we had not allowed for. Got call from Groupon staff next day to say that resort would upgrade our accommodation,no way were we going back to face that nasty person.Please take note from our holiday that we had saved very hard for .DO NOT GO TO THAT PLACE PLEASE

Room Tip: Not advisable place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked three nights for 4 adults and two children over Australia day weekend. Unfortunately there happened to be a heat wave and temps were in the 40's our whole trip. Their was no air conditioning in the accommodation which pretty much made our stay unbearable. It was so hot in our lodge that all we could do was sit there and sweat. We were not that close tothe pool either which also didnt help. The location was nice close to yallingup and dunsboragh and I am sure it would be very nice in the cooler months but unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay due to having no air conditioning and therefore I can only give it two stars. The toilet was also qute dirty althoug the rest of the housewas qute clean. Also had bad tv reception to make things worse. I would not stay here again - the only good thing was the brewery which had some great beerbut could have stayed open later.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

we stayed at the resort in a group of four adults and three children. We occupied two two-bedroom chalets, or as they call it the cedar homestead.
Firstly, the location is brilliant. Tucked away in natural bush about 5 minutes to Dunsborough and Yallingup. We had the chalets closest to the barbeque, pool and tennis court which was lucky because we noticed some of them were a fair distance away.
On arrival, the chalets were immaculate. The beds were comfortable and perfectly clean. There were clean towels for everyone and it was nice.
After being there for a few minutes we realised the balcony stairs were steep and long! We were there with a one year old and this proved quite dangerous. There were no facilities to barracade the top of the stairs and we did spend alot of our holiday worried one of the kids would fall down. To make matters worse, the actual balustrading around the balcony was wide enough for a child to fit through too!
Our rubbish was not collected once during our six day stay - depsite a sign above the bin saying it is collected every 3-4 days. We also found it difficult to dry towels and clothing as there was no dryer in the laundry and we stayed in winter. We thought it would be nice if new towels were provided every few days especially in winter as by the time we left we were using soaking wet towels.
Apart from those minor problems, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Yes, the possums and other wildlife kept us away at night sometimes too but that was all part of the experience and something that doesnt happen in suburbia. We would have like to return maybe when the kids are a bit older and the balcony and stairs arent a problem. We accidentally left some linen at the chalet and when we rang a few hours after our departure to request it be posted to us, the guy on reception was particularly rude and annoyed. He hung up on my mum who is one of the nicest people in the world and I thought that was completely unnecessary. He did post the stuff, but we had to pay to collect it and after spending nearly $1600 at his resort I thought he could afford the 5 bucks himself! So, overall mixed feelings!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We've just returned from a wonderful week in WA's beautiful south-west. We picked up a deal with the Yallingup Forest Resort on Groupon. The deal itself was great and if taken at anytime other than school holidays would be all you'd expect to pay for a self-catering holiday. Rates for this place range from $170-$510 per night depending on the time of year and size of chalet. Surcharges include $50 per day for school holidays and $10 per day for each additional person. These are rather steep given that the accommodation is not extra special.

Having said all that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The chalets are set in a beautiful location within the Yallingup Forest and not a large venue. A total of 18 chalets of varying size, with each one a good distance from its neighbour. Our chalet was divided in two apartments - seperated by a connecting door. The living areas in each apartment far enough away from each other as to not be disturbing. The complex included a tennis court (booked at reception, where the rackets and balls could also be collected); a pool; bbq facilities and cubby house for the littlies. A short walk down the driveway and you'd be at the Bush Shack Brewery. No internet, no digital tv. It was fantastic. This meant that our evenings were spent playing games with our 10 year old and absolutely enjoying ourselves.

Five minutes drive either way and you'd be at Dunsborough or Yallingup beach. After being out all day late afternoons would see us returning for drinks and nibbles on the verandah enjoying the native flora and fauna. Followed by a wonder down to the brewery for another drink and a play on the games for the young fella.

My only criticism would be that our host was not overly friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place or return ourselves.

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

initially we wanted to be by the sea but 5 mins drive got us into yallingup! it was worth it to find the peace and quiet here (although our 4 year old made plenty of noise in the pool) the chalet was very clean and roomy and the pool was cleaned everyday. it was excelent value for money. the bushsack brewery a few mins walk down the road was a great place to go and had a childrens play area. if you have small children you would want a chalet close to the pool as they are very spread out, the benifits of which you are a long way from eachother.
it really is a lovely place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here as a group of 4 adults and a 2 year old sharing a 2 bed forest lodge. We found the lodge to be more than spacious enough for everyone. we were impressed with how clean the place was as our initial concern is that it would be "bug central". We saw tons of kangaroos and were paid a visit by the local possums in the evening. Our little boy really enjoyed his stay. the bedding (including baby cot) were crisp and clean, making our stay very comfortable. The onsite pool and BBQ areas are very well maintained and the resort is also ideally placed to local amenities, beaches and vineyards. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yallingup Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallingup Forest Resort

Address: Hemsley Rd (off Caves Rd) | PO Box 453, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yallingup Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management.Ideally located in the north of the Margaret River region, enjoy spacious, secluded and eco-friendly chalet accommodation at Yallingup Forest Resort.You'll be nestled within a serene forest of native bushland, yet conveniently located only minutes from some of the most stunningly beautiful beaches in the south-west and the bustling seaside town of Dunsborough.Discover the region's attractions and then come home to your accommodation and enjoy the charm and tranquillity of living in the forest, by the sea.Guests can get their very own eco-experience right on the door step. Take a leisurely walk through the bush, enjoying the high concentration of bio-diversity, including over 140 species of native plants, trees and wild flowers - you will certainly spot some of our native bird species, numerous kangaroos and other native fauna such as possums and bandicoots (after dark).Feel free to enjoy the on-site facilities, which include a swimming pool, tennis court, barbecue facilities and a children's playground with cubby. Sharing the same grounds are the Bush Shack Brewery - a great spot to chill out, try some home-style brews - and the OM Day Spa.So whether you enjoy surfing, family fun, bushwalking or simply recharging your batteries, you can have them all when you stay with us.Hope to welcome you soon, Cathy & James ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Yallingup Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yallingup Forest Resort Margaret River Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yallingup Forest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.