We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An indulgence for a dessert and a glass of wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamonts Restaurant

Lamonts Restaurant
Smith's Beach Road | Margaret River, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
08 9750 1299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Yallingup
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An indulgence for a dessert and a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After lunching at a vineyard with uninspired desserts we decided to try Lamont's and thoroughly enjoyed the strawberry navera trifle and a glass of wine on the terrace in the late afternoon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    24
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A fan of the old Lamonts location and frequently a place I'd take visitors to the region, I went with friends to dine at the Smiths venue. Gone are the water views. Gone is the tranquility of watching ducks skim the water, and welcome to the back of a sand dune and lots of bugs. The food and wine is still top quality, but I didn't enjoy the new dining hall experience at all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Much improved from last visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thankfully, Lamonts has improved from my review 6 months ago.
FOOD: The menu was lovely. We shared 4 share plates and a chips between 3 of us. The whiting and the salmon were fabulous. Definitely recommended. The pumpkin and the duck were good but the fish dishes were standouts. We also lashed out with dessert. Pavlova great, lemon tart great, trifle good.
WINE: shared a bottle of sparkling between us. Lamonts of course. It was nice. Ad a glass of red eah. Again, both the reserve and Shiraz were nice. Wines were expensive. Choice was either Lamont wine or really expensive imported.
SERVICE: really nice and attentive waiter. But...food was really slow. 40 mins for share plates to arrive. Nearly the same wait for the dessert. The trifle needed to set! If we had have been told they had run out we would have ordered something else to stop the wait.
VENUE: it s much more spacious than last visit, so happy with that.
PRICE: $70 per head. $30 was for the wine.

Would we return? Yes we would. Well done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Shame about the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I had a quiet weekday lunch here. We ordered a selection of sharing bits, then an entree each. The food was all great. The only disappointment was the price of the wine - double to what I would have for a takeaway. For this reason, we would think twice about going again. Also, the view of the carpark and sandhills is not very inspiring.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have been to the previous Lamonts by the lake on many occassions Found the service and food to a high standardat their new spot at Smith's Beach. The Marron was sublime and nearly ordered another. The salad was great and the wines were well priced by the glass. We enjoyed the lundh so much we booked for dinner that night and yes I hade the Marron again. The baguette was to die for , thought I was back in France. Will definitely return again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamonts Restaurant also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Lamonts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamonts Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.