We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Son and Dad" trip ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngilgi Cave

Ngilgi Cave
Yallingup Caves Road, Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
+61 8 9755 2152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Yallingup
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the ancient wonders of Ngilgi Cave! The Cave is warm in winter and cool in summer. Ngilgi Cave is located just off Caves Road, a short distance north of Yallingup, beneath the limestone ridge which forms Cape Naturaliste. The fascinating association with a rich Aboriginal legend describing the battle between a good spirit (Ngilgi) and an evil spirit (Wolgine) gives Ngilgi Cave its name. Explore the cave and experience stunning stalactite, stalagmite, helictite and shawl formations. Visit an interpretive area detailing Ngilgi Cave's interesting history. A cafe, playground, barbecue facilities and walk trails make Ngilgi Cave a fun place to visit for the entire family. OPENING HOURS 9.00Am to 5.00Pm (First tour at 9.30Am Last entry to Ngilgi Cave at 4.00Pm.)
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best "Son and Dad" trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I took my 10 year old son on this and we had the best time ever. Kids don't often get to do this type of stuff where they climb, crawl and get dirty, plus Dad can join in.
I would recommend this for any family wanting to do something different.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    58
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Honesty prevails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We didn't end up going into this cave - saved it for another trip. But just wanted to say the guide was very honest in stating that we would have had to rush through as it was later in the day. So this one is on our list for next trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the best caves in the area, we've been to Ngilgi many times and always have a good time exploring it.

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disinterested staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The leaflet, the guide books and the information outside the caves all say last tickets are at 3.30pm. This should say 'whenever we want to close'. We had travelled 240k to see these caves and arrived at 3.31 but the last tour had gone at 3pm. My advice is either ring in advance, or go to one of the other caves.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharna K, Guest Relations Manager at Ngilgi Cave, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are sorry you didn’t get the opportunity to experience our beautiful cave, especially after the effort you made to see it. We are quite strict with departure times (on the half hour, with the last tour at 3.30pm) as the first part of the tour is guided and we feel missing this really takes away from the overall experience. As a result of your feedback, we have reminded all staff our need to accommodate customers where we can; which I hope has greatly reduced the possibility of this occurring again. If you are still in the area please phone us on (08) 9755 2152 so that we can offer you this great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Caves and Lighthouse package - a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The caves are stunning, although can be challenging for people with heart/breathing problems. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly. Plan to spend a bit of time exploring the caves, the Above and Below package allows to combine the caves and lighthouse experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngilgi Cave also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Western Australia
 

Been to Ngilgi Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngilgi Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.