We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your perspective” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walpole Lodge

Walpole Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Walpole Lodge to your Saves list
Walpole Lodge
Corner Pier Street & Park Avenue, Walpole, Western Australia 6398, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Depends on your perspective”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is a work in progress. Clearly the owners are putting time and effort into the place. You can see that the walls have been recently repainted, and the beds and bedding look and feel relatively new. There are a wonderful host of amenities(gas grills, free pool table, wifi), including an exceptionally well stocked kitchen. However, if you are a light sleeper, this place will likely be too noisy for you. In our group, the light sleeper had a very long night, and while those of us who are heavy sleepers had a better sleep, they too were still woken up by some backpackers leaving early for a hike. If you are a backpacker or a camping regular, this would be a nice place to stay. High class accomodations this isn't, but the price reflects that.

Room Tip: Don't book online. Call and talk to the staff about the rooms and where they are so as to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walpolelodge, Owner at Walpole Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Todd,

Thankyou for your review. We have now lubricated the back door to help to ease the noise. Generally the guests that leave early in the morning are considerate of others but we will endeavor to remind these guests that others are sleeping.

In addition to the room that you booked we also have rooms with en-suites located off the back verandah, these sleep between 2 & 6 people and are ideally suited to couples or families traveling together. These rooms are equipped with flat screen TV/DVD, desk, chairs, fridge, tea & coffee.

Steele & Julie
Owner/Managers
Walpole Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here in a ensuite room for 3 night was exceptionally clean for supposedly budget accommodation I recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the sw

Staff very helpful and friendly showed me exactly where to go and how to get there.

Has a wide variety of rooms from dorm beds to ensuite rooms which are like hotel rooms you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay for the price in the sw

Extremely happy and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are staying in Walpole, the Lodge is the place to stay. The super friendly owners make this hostel feel like home. Free pool, free towels, free tea and coffee, very clean rooms and lots of great advice and help with any- and everything a traveller might need complete the package.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in the Walpole Lodge for only one night with my boyfriend, but we felt really welcome and at home here. The facilities were spotless, and the couple that owns the place was very friendly and helpful. They'd just taken over the place when we visited and were very eager to please and even asked us for feedback. There's free wifi, which is a luxury in Australia. The kitchen was very well equipped too. Great value, great place to stay when you're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely spot to stay in Walpole.Clean,comfortable bed and a good selection of rooms.I stayed in a single room with shared amenities.Free Wi-fi,pool table and a huge kitchen stocked with everything you need.The young couple that run and own the place are really nice too!Will be my spot to stay again next time I'm down there fishing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed at the Walpole Lodge for 3 nights and it felt like home ! I loved everything about it. There was not a lot of people when I was there but it was perfect for me. The owners were amazingly helpful and made me feel welcomed! I miss it! It was really clean and the shower was great. The kitchen had everything to cook and you there's even a bbq. It's just a really great place to be!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a pleasant time I had at Walpole Lodge. I reserved one of the single rooms, but was put in a double, and turned out to be the only guest that night! I had a very relaxed evening with fish and chips from the takeaway, watching the Olympics and playing a bit of pool. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful. The kitchen was huge and the free tea and coffee was good too! The hosts were very friendly - all in all I had an extremely relaxed and enjoyable time at Walpole Lodge - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Walpole Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Lodge

Address: Corner Pier Street & Park Avenue, Walpole, Western Australia 6398, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Walpole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Walpole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Walpole, Western Australia on half an acre, our accommodation, including fully equipped kitchen, large dining area and spacious open floor plan, is ideal for families, friends, groups and independent travellers alike. We offer a variety of budget accommodation (including dorms) and room configurations, with ensuite option.Walpole is perfectly located for exploring countless beautiful, natural attractions including the Valley of the Giants Tree Top Walk and the Giant Tingle Trees. Sports and activities include bushwalking and biking on the Munda Biddi Trail, and hiking the famous Bibbulmun Track, as well as kayaking, fishing, 4WD tours and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Walpole Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walpole Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.