We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool - good location - little more attention to detail required, esp. In restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rottnest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rottnest Lodge to your Saves list
Rottnest Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely pool - good location - little more attention to detail required, esp. In restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights. Room was ok, and included breakfast. TV was fine, bathrooms lovely and clean. The floor in main area was slate, and could have done with a wash. The view over the lake was nice too.
The restaurant left a lot of room for improvement. If you have certain dietary requirements, make sure you check what is in the meals - they don't specify in the buffet. Lunch buffet pretty average. Music was shocking - same CD every day on repeat. Music Targeted at backpackers. Tables take ages to be cleared, and little things like milk filled and teaspoons left out for coffee, seemed to be ignored. Lovely view out to pool though.
Check in and out was excellent. Not sure if we'd stay again for the price. The infrastructure is there - grounds just need tidying and a bit of landscaping. And staff need to pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us at the Rottnest Lodge.

The Buffet lunch in our Riva restaurant offers a varying variety of dishes daily and can also cater to any specific dietary requirements if you let the restaurant know of your specific needs when making a booking.

The music in the restaurant has recently been updated with songs from Karma DJ's across the globe after feedback from guests such as yourself and we hope this will be more to your liking next time you join us.

We have ongoing improvements to the grounds in and around the lodge as well as a new development that will hopefully make more of an impression for your future stays with us.

Regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    62
    62
    41
    42
See reviews for
56
87
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Second time we have stayed in a self-catering apartment at the Lodge. Strange bunk beds (very claustrophobic for the ones in the lower berth) and a bee infestation this time, but to be fair the staff sorted the bee problem very quickly. The bbq on the verandah looking out onto the square was a big hit for our evening wind down and grazing, and the quokkas clearly enjoyed humanwatching through its wooden lattice.
Only sour note was the realisation that the lodge serves a certain Swiss instant coffee for the buffet breakfast. I went to get coffee from one of the the jugs on the hotplates but they had been removed. I asked a member of the staff at a preparation station for a coffee and he obligingly took a teaspoon of instant out of the large tin (next to the empty jugs), put it in a cup, topped it up with hot water and gave the cup to me. Unbelievable that in the 21st century a place which charges like an upmarket bull is so cheap on one of life's little essentials. The bird in the tree above my table gave it the bird by crapping on it before I took a sip ......... metaphoric or what? Memo to outdoor Lodge breakfasters - make sure you cover your plate with a napkin when not eating as the birds are deadeye droppers.
Never mind, the island itself overwhelmed us with its charm - cycling, beaches, views, night walk, history. It's pricey but you ain't seen nothing yet. Wait til the mining boom boofheads get their way and turn it into an upmarket, exclusive retreat for the wealthy. No. Don't wait, get over there now.
Still the

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Rottnest Lodge.

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the efficiency of our staff to deal with the problem of bee's during your stay with us in December. There have been no further issues since this time.

We do offer a range of coffee options from our coffee station and our staff are more than happy to assist in making any coffee you desire.

As we are located on an A class reserve we are surrounded by an abundance of wildlife however there is usually no problems with the birds at breakfast time and apologies that this was the case for one of the mornings of your stay. The Riva restaurant does offer both inside and outside tables for breakfast should this be a concern for you.

Whilst there are plans for a new development here at the Rottnest Lodge in the coming years, this will by no means make it inaccessible for family's only to improve on the accommodation options currently offered at the lodge.

Regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A few friends and myself stayed in one of the 6 person accommodation over the leavers period.

The issues started upon arrival. Wristbands that we had previously been promised over the phone turned out to be non existant, and it took us the good part of an afternoon to finally recover the debt ($110)from stubborn staff. At least they gave us our money back for the wristbands after initial refusal.

Accommodation was poor, and in dire need of an upgrade, especially considering the expense per person was more than a comfortable chalet which cover the island. The small, cramped bunk bed that we had to sleep in had paint chipping off it, and was poorly made.

the only good part was the Breakfast that was put on each morning.

In summary DON'T stay here over leavers break. Very overpriced especially when considering its an extra $110 for a required leavers wristband that is provided in the normal Rottnest Island Chalets for free!

Not worth it!

Room Tip: Dont stay during leavers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Apologies with the misunderstanding during your stay with us during the leavers period in the latter part of last year.

The leavers wristbands are included with the leavers package at no additional charge and I am happy to hear that the misunderstanding was rectified during your stay.

You will find that the rates are comparable with the chalets offered across the island during the school leavers period as they do factor into the price the cost of the leavers wristbands and are not offered for free.

The maintenance issue with the bunk beds has been addressed and we do offer different styles of accommodation with traditional single bedding available.

Regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a couple of nights at the Lodge instead of our usual villa. Asked for a lake view. Were given room 63 which
probably has the best view of all. (See photo.)
The Lodge itself is a sprawling complex of buildings dating back to 1864 when the original prison section was built.
The lake view wing is the most recent.
A friendly and fast check-in (no queue mid morning) and we were fortunate to be able to move in immediately.
The room is quite large with a rustic decor of white bagged walls and slate floor. Sliding door onto a large balcony.
All the usual furniture with a QS bed and a another single. No luggage racks, so used the single bed.
The wide bench-top holds the TV and space for laptop or dressing table. Large mirror above.
No WiFi but ethernet connection is available. The TV is OK sized. Menu includes information, movies and TV channels. Found it very tricky to navigate to the digital TV channels. (No printed information on this.)
As others have noted, there is no airconditioning. Could be a problem if you hit a run of very hot days. You have to rely on the
ceiling fan and the regular afternoon sea breeze. (It would have been nice to have a secure screen door at the entrance to allow the breeze through.)

In a separate small room there is the fridge, wardrobe and tea/coffee making facilities. The fridge is not stocked as there are shops and bars nearby.
The bathroom is quite large (but no bath), with a wide bench top, lots of towel rails and hair dryer.

Our deal included a sumptuous buffet breakfast. We also had an excellent evening meal with friends in the Riva restaurant at an outside table next to the pool.

Our only problem with our room was the evening noise of thumping music and shouting from the nearby Governor's Bar. OK if all doors are closed, but we would have preferred to leave the sliding door open. If you would find this a problem, ask for a room further away.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have best lake views. If noise a problem ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Rottnest Lodge.

As you noted, we do offer live entertainment each Saturday night in the Governors Sports Bar. If looking for more of a relaxing getaway rather than coming to enjoy the entertainment, quieter rooms further from the bar can be requested at the time of booking.

The information in the rooms has been updated to simplify the use of the TV systems and hopefully you will find this easier to use on your next stay here at the Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We initially booked into the lodge for one night and then opted to go a day earlier and have three full days there. I had not read any reviews so I had no expectations, but we thought it was fantastic. The room was clean and comfortable - no air conditioning which surprised us at first, but the walls are so thick the fans were sufficient. We spent most of our time out exploring the island so the standard room was quite okay for what we wanted.

I think the fact that so much of the older charm has been retained is one of the reasons why we would definitely stay there again. We found the staff very helpful and the location of the Lodge is ideal.

A great few days and would quite happily recommend the Lodge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thankyou for your comments

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Rottnest Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at the Lodge to find that there is no air conditioning at all and the weekend was going to be very hot, only a fan in our room which was not above the bed. When we tried to put our champagne in the freezer of the bar fridge, we discovered that it was iced up. The deco and furnishings of the room are outdated but functional. There was a wedding held in the bar on the Friday night, so we had music until midnight which was ok, however, then we had very noisy wedding guests in the rooms next to us who partied loudly on the verandah until 3 am. As the phone in our room did not work, we could not call the duty manager. It showed a lack of thought by staff that we were put in the room closest to the Bar and in amongst the wedding guests, even though we had explained that our visit was a gift from our daughter and we were there on holiday!

Room Tip: Away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thankyou for you feedback from your recent stay.

As you mentioned, the restaurant was closed for a private function on one of the nights of your stay which we did advise via email prior to your stay as well as at the time of check in.

We appologize that guests from the wedding moved the celebrations closer to your room after the wedding had finished and hope that there was no further issues with noise for the second night of your stay once it had been brought to our attention.

Thankyou for bringing the issue with the phone to our attention as without feedback from guests such as your yourself we would not be aware of the problem. This issue has now been rectified with a replacement phone in the room.

At present we do not have airconditioning in any of our rooms as stated on our webpage, however this is an essential area that we are looking at upgrading in the future.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went to Rottnest for the first time with my sister last weekend. Although I do tend to think Australians complain waaay too mcuh, did not have high expectations based on the reviews. However the Lodge accommodation was lovely. Stayed in the cheapest (standard) room. The website states there is no air-conditioning, so this should not be a surprise! The room is tiled and stayed cool despite high temperatures. The fan kept us cool at night - which is the only time we were really in the room anyway!

Have no complaints about Rottnest. Fell in love with the bays and snorkeling! The Lodge pool is a great place to relax, the food at the restaurant was top quality for dinner, and breakfast was always stocked and plentiful - full hot buffet, included in your room fee. There are events at the bar every night such as quizzes, comedy and live music although we were too exhausted to check it out!

Perhaps you can get fancier rooms in Perth for a similar price, but you cant beat the charm of Rottnest and its relaxed holiday atmosphere! I plan to return!

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the cheaper rooms. Not sure why you would fork out for a more expensive one. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thankyou for your comments We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Rottnest Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rottnest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rottnest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.