We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rottnest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rottnest to your Saves list
Hotel Rottnest
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took one of the four bayside rooms, the only option I would consider at this hotel. The room was comfortable but not luxurious. What you are paying for is the interrupted view of the beautiful Thomson Bay. The rooms are set back from the beach and there is a bike/walking path between the beach and rooms. There are also low trees in your line of view. We had an end room. There was a bit of noise from our neighbour, talking, TV, running taps but not enough to be disruptive at night. The bed was comfortable and, with the exception of the shower floor, the room was clean. One of the lights had no globe which suggested a lack of detail in maintenance. It had rained the night before we arrived. The outdoor lounges had been left in the weather and did not dry during our two day stay. We were also very disappointed to have one of our duffle bags delivered with one end wet and sandy and a slit in both seams. It appeared it had been dropped, split and water had been taken up into the items at that end of the bag. We complained to the hotel, who in turn contacted the luggage carriers, who in turn blamed the ferry company. It was disappointing that this complaint was not 'heard'. We ate dinner both nights at the hotel. The food and service was excellent as was the outlook. Indoor and outdoor dining is available. The indoors is airconditioned, sightly raised and has full length windows to give similar spectacular view as the outdoor seating. Breakfast was not offered, however, The Dome cafe, which offers a cooked breakfast menu, is only a short stroll down the path. If you are just after a coffee and a snack then your other good options are The Lane and the Rottnest Bakery, both just a short walk from the hotel. There is plenty to do, particularly in the outdoors. There are free guided history walks twice a day, a little museum and three tiny galleries opened at different times of the day. You can pick up a tours program on the ferry or from the hotel reception. Most tours are free. Swimming, fishing and bike riding are also very popular. Bikes can be hired from the ferry companies or on the island. You can also bring your own if you don't mind it having a bit of salt water blowing over it. Although we had an enjoyable stay I would say the lakeside rooms at the Lodge are a better investment for a short term, no hassle stay at Rottnest.

Room Tip: Take a bayside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
33
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the location of the hotel
And friendly staff n best us the food ..
Nothing to complain all so good n looking forward to visit again so happy ...
No fuss at hotel check in or check out on of the best serviced hotels I have ever been

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel benefits from a spectacular location. I tried to call the hotel at 5pm local time received message that reception closed at 4.30pm. The room in the courtyard was very basic ,no telephone, as another reviewer noted v basic tea/coffee. Poor lighting . I wondered if this area of the original building (The Governor of Western Australias summer retreat I believe) were storage rooms. Check out at 10 am but no food available until 11 am so no leisurely breakfast. To be honest this didn't feel like an hotel more of a motel where you just rent a basic room. We paid $350 for one night in autumn! The island is stunning and we will be back- but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend courtyard rooms at this price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I left this hotel stay not really able to put my finger on why I wasn't happier. I think it was just a great sense of being underwhelmed after paying $250 for a Tuesday night in autumn.

Good points - bed was comfortable
- spacious room and bathroom
- no noise or disturbances (others have commented on this, we were lucky)
- friendly, helpful staff
- bar/restaurant area gave us a tasty meal at a good value. Wonderful setting overlooking the sea, great music, enjoyable evening

Bad - the shower. So weak and a shower curtain? (Grubby things...I hate them!)
- 10am check out I think is early when there isn't too much to do on Rotto and you may just want a lazy lie in
- the price. It keeps coming back to this. For 250, I just wanted more - biscuits with the tea/coffee, hot chocolate, a paper, discount off the restaurant or bike hire, chocolates on the pillows, breakfast, something, anything!!

Rotto does not have much choice when it comes to accommodation, it seems to be geared towards families or groups sharing in the lodges/huts. As a couple we felt that the hotel was our only option so were forced into 250 which left a disappointing note to the stay.

The island itself was stunning - we were blessed with beautiful weather. I'd recommend longreach bay - huge, secluded, peaceful and perfect for a paddle.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our time on Rottnest, what a beautiful island with some of the most amazing beaches and coves you could wish to visit. We chose to stay at the hotel as it was just my girlfriend and I, so being close to a bar/restaurant was useful for us both. The bike rental company operate next door to the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival, but for the cost we were disappointed with the room. The shower was really poor (pet hate of mine), there were tea/coffee amenities, but for the money you could expect a little more.. The bar/restaurant is in a lovely location with inside and outside seating with great views of the ocean. I had a pizza which was nice and good value, although our food did come out quite a long time apart.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in aNDL right from the go loved the place. Food is amazing staff are attentive and the wine selection is to die for.
The general manager recommended so many things to see and do it was a great holiday
Thanks Rotto Hotel.

Room Tip: Checkout the wine list and how comfortable the beds are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel room, location (view), decor, size was very good. For $325 a night however I would have expected being able to access the beach from our (one of only four apartments on the beach front) room outdoor fenced in patio without having to walk (in bathers) through the hotel outdoor function area to the beach. A gate for access from the rear of our room was padlocked! The room also unfortunately was not very sound proof and we could hear our neighbours talking through the wall. For $325 a night I would also have expected at least a morning paper and biscuits to go with the (make your own) coffee/tea room facility. NO BREAKFAST included, once again for $325 a night?? The Hotel itself DOES NOT SERVE BREAKFAST so you have to walk to the shops, Dome or Bakery. Dinner at the hotel, my wife is vegetarian, nothing on the menu to accommodate a vegetarian apart from a boring dry, wafer thin pizza. My meal for $32 was more in the range of a $22 pub meal. Dinning room venue very nice, outdoor eating with ocean views great (also with Quokkas under foot) but really. Restaurant Manager was less than accommodating for a vegetarian, customer service sadly missing I would be embarrased to take an overseas visitor to experience the lack of service. Overall as per the heading, somewhat dissappointing, magic island, nice room but hotel overpriced and under a standard of service expected. In retrospect at the price of the room, meals and ferry trip over and back why would you go when you could get 5 star service and accommoadtion in Bali for a third of the price. Rottnest Island Board get your act together fast!

Room Tip: Wait until they have s special offer on which will probably be off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Address: Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rottnest 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rottnest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.