We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room but too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rottnest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rottnest to your Saves list
Hotel Rottnest
Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the bayside rooms and rooms were really nice. Location is the best but it is too expensive. Also reception staff did'nt go out of their way to help. Apart of that was all good though and I would stay again but you can see why people travel overseas rather than Australia because its just not good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
26
51
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The quality of accommodation on Rottnest Island is not high. This hotel has a lot of history to it. We stayed in one of the 4 bayside rooms - don't book any other than these. Comfortable and clean and quite spacious. The best feature was the outdoor patio looking over the water at Perth and Fremantle. Dining at the hotel was quite good. We only stayed 2 nights and that is enough to see the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by Hotel Rottnest. Having read negative reports on this forum, our experience was one of good customer service, clean and well furnished rooms representing good value and terrific food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Did not meet expectations for the price paid. We sighted several long black hairs in the bathroom, and black hairs on the bed sheets. One of the glasses was dirty. Room did not feel fully furnished. Quality of sleep was not good as we were woken up several times throughout the night from noise outside.

However, the location was nice and central and we were allowed early check in which was a positive, however perhaps would've been better if we checked in at a normal time and they spent the extra time cleaning the room more thoroughly...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rottnest Hotel was gorgeous! Great Staff, beautiful wine, and nice view. Loved how the Quokkas and Peacocks were wandering around freely. Nice seating and lots of it. The place looks flash but is actually very casual even staff were wearing their own sunnies giving it a laid back feel. After the long bike ride around the island it was nice to finish the day having drinks at Rottnest Hotel. Defiantly one of Australia’s hidden little treasures!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a courtyard room in March this year. Modern but basic accomodation, wardrobe part of bathroom, in fact a shelf and a rail hand basin toilet and shower combination. The main disappointment however is that there is no breakfast room and on asking we were told to go "down the road" to Dome or a take-away!! We were informed that if we had requested the night before a continental basket could have been arranged in the room, but no information re this had been given on booking or in the room. As we had paid over $260 per night for this basic accomodation
Without any ocean view it seemed very unprofessional. The meals they provide for lunch and dinner are quite good and as the location is one of the best on the island it is very well patronised at all times. Beautiful island and needs a more professional approach in this, the only real option for hotel accomodation, on the island, especially at the prices which are in line with far better accomodation in major cities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my all time favourite place to eat on Rotto. Every time we come the food is fantastic, staff are friendly and great service.
Perfect place to relax in the sun and enjoy a great meal.
Prices are also reasonable especially compared to the prices elsewhere on Rotto

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Address: Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rottnest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.