We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rottnest

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rottnest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rottnest
Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We liked this place, but on first look we almost turned around and walked out - I'm not talking about the fantastic area that faces Thompson Bay, but the rooms: the accommodation side of the house looks, visually, like a motel from some bad seventies movie.

Until you enter the room, at which point, things pick up - a little.

We didn't spend much time in the room, and enjoyed the astroturf courtyard enough to compensate, but it wasn't somewhere we'd be comfortable recommending.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the three beach-facing rooms. At least you'll feel like you're nearby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    26
    16
    10
See reviews for
20
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Its a given that you can expect to pay double for anything on rottnest island. But the service and food definitely does no reflect that! $6 for a lemondae and a $20 pizza that tasted like cheese on toast, none of which came with a smile

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel. Wonderful weather. Great location. But the rooms are those of a 1-2 star facility. The reception is open from 0830 to 1630 only. No breakfast. No internet or telephone. Down to the little details like the bathroom basin had no plug. Some rooms are nice, and some are more limited with poor ventilation. On the plus side, the pub is right at hand. The beach is a couple of steps away. And you are in the centre of main settlement of the island. l'll stay there again, but conscious that I am comfortably "roughing it", rather than staying in a hotel.

It is very expensive. If this was in Germany or Greece or France, this room would be about 70 euros per night (maybe less since there is no breakfast). Factor in the island location and the need to bring in everything by boat, and the price would reasonably rise to 110 euros. They charge $A280 which is 230 euros - that is a heck of a lot for a night - and twice any normal country..

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look great (extra cost).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Portland, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The beautiful beaches and climate are big positives for Rottnest and I recommend visiting the island. However the Rottnest Hotel, whilst in a fantastic location, will greet you with terrible customer service and prices that are way over the top for the below average food and drinks. Take a look at the great location, but spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed overnight at Rottnest becuase we wanted to take in as much of the island as possible. In saying this, I think a day trip is sufficient. We took the ferry over which was lovely and wondered the island. You can take bikes there or walk around - it's not a very big island. The hotel accommodation was pretty average - small rooms but because you are spending most time outside, you don't really need much. The rooms were clean but unfortunately not very sound proof. Lots of kids around but it was during the school holidays. I have to say it doesn't really feel much like a hotel but more like a motel because it feels more short stay. Also very expensive becuase it's one of the only places to stay on the island unless you get a cabin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We always stay on our boat so can't review the hotel as such, only the restaurant and beer garden.
As always the food was cooked perfectly. The beer garden is very large and the staff always manage to find you when delivering your meals. The staff are usually backpackers but they always have experience and speak excellent English. The setting overlooking the Indian Ocean is superb with the gentle breeze keeping the summer temperature enjoyable, The menu is fairly extensive if not a little pricey.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

On a day trip from Fremantle a couple of years ago, we were sitting in the beer garden of this hotel, so sad to be leaving, that we determined to come back for a weekend. We caught the ferry from Perth this time, and gave our bags over to the ferry staff. Next time, we will hold onto them. The bags are delivered to the hotel after having been all around the island while other bags for every other accomodation on the island are delivered first. A bit strange, when the pier is located only a few hundred meters away. This was a bit tedious as our daughter had her swimwear in her bag, so we had to wait several hours before we could hire our bikes and set off. We booked a Bayview room, which was lovely. There was a problem, but it was not really to do with the accomodation, which has a "no party" policy. We had a very loud and obnoxious group occupying tables in the courtyard around which the rooms are located, until the very early hours. Management were extremely apologetic the next day, and the cost of one night was refunded. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only 4 Bayview rooms, so I would advise you to book early if you want one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Address: Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rottnest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.