We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sunday trip,but not amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Island

Penguin Island
Corner Arcadia Drive and Penguin Road | Rockingham/Shoalwater Bay area, Rockingham, Western Australia 6169, Australia
(08) 9591 1333
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Penguin Island like an insider
$68*
and up
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Rockingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the spectacular Shoalwater Islands Marine Park, just 45 minutes south of Perth is Penguin Island- a beautiful, unspoilt nature reserve home to WA's largest colony of little penguin as well as dolphins, sea lions, stingrays, pelicans, ospreys and more. Visitors can see the penguins being fed by rangers at the Discovery Centre. It's also fantastic for swimming, snorkelling, having a picnic or just enjoying some of the best coastal scenery in Perth. Rockingham Wild Encounters operate an hourly ferry service to Penguin Island (it's only a 5 minute ride), glass bottom boat cruises of Shoalwater Bay and adventure style cruises to watch the local dolphins and explore more of the marine park. Sea Kayak Tours and Kite boarding Lessons are also available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brescia, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday trip,but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed the day on the island,but the prices at the kiosk on the land were absolutely out of reason.
The Discovery Center is small and you can see just a few penguins swimming in a little pool.
Wild penguins come back from fishing when you have to leave the island...

By the way the avifauna is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Penguin Island, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Francesco, thank you for your feedback on your trip to Penguin Island! We believe we are in part with prices in Perth, as we sell a coffee for $4 where most places in Perth sell it for $5.50 or more. We are sorry if this was a negative part of your trip. Future customers please remember that Penguin Island has no shops or café, so you need to bring your own food. You can visit our café on mainland next to the gift and ticket shop, or bring your own picnic!

Our Discovery Centre is home to our rescued Little Penguins. Some Little Penguins are found sick or injured and the Department of Environment and Conservation looks after them until they are fit for release. The ones you see at the Discovery Centre are the ones that are not suited for release and will not survive in the wild. Wild Penguins like you said are out in the ocean fishing during the day and come back at sunset. Please note that due to the size of the island (tiny!) and the fragility of the Little Penguins population on the island we cannot have a march of the penguins like they do around Philip Island in Victoria. On Penguin Island, if the Little Penguins see anyone on the beach at night time, they do not come back... and risk drowning.
Thanks again for posting Francesco! We hope to see you around again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    188
    83
    24
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Environmental Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This has got to be the top attraction in the Rockingham area. The scenery is stunning and the natural habitat for birds provides a peaceful sanctuary for all. The island walkway is a must as you will encounter other wildlife that the island has to offer. And at certain times of year the baby penguins can be spotted under the decking. If you're lucky you may spot the odd sealion basking in the sun on one of the secluded beaches. The dolphin tours boat provides daily tours to and from the island as well as a trip over to seal island where you can amaze at a beach full of sealions lulling about. Sometimes they will take a swim around the boat. The best way to experience the marine park is to kayak around. But the Penguins alone have to be the main reason to visit. One of the smallest species in the world they are fascinating creatures and it is a marvellous feeling to watch them in their natural habitat. There is a small discovery centre located on the island which will appeal to both kids and adults. You will need to take your own food and drink as there are no services once on the island. There is a cafe on the mainland that provides snack food and drink.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Penguin Island, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi there! Thank you very much for your excellent review and rating of Penguin Island! We hope to see you again soon : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“penguin island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had the dolphin cruise first which about 90 minutes. Really good as you are in the marine sanctuary. We had 6 turn up frolicking, diving under the boat and playing. It was a great sight to see in there natural habitat and so close to the shore. We also saw sea lions basking on lion rock, as well as various other rock formations. The island was full of all kinds of birds and a lovely walk round which we took the chance to do. We had a talk on the penguins, but they stole the show. The only downside i had was that we went out to the open part at full speed with the waves very choppy it was not a good experience. I lost my sea legs. The boat should have gone slower out there not at breakneck or better still not gone out there at all....sorry. The rest of the whole trip was great, i enjoyed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Penguin Island, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi Judith, thank you for your feedback about Penguin Island and the Dolphin Watch adventure cruise. We are very lucky to see so much beautiful wildlife in the marine park indeed!

Regarding your cruise, I am sorry you had a bad experience on the boat. It is an Adventure Cruise, so sometimes we do need to use speed and get out of the marine park into the open ocean to find the dolphins or to go from one place to another within the timeframes that we have. Our skippers will never go out in unsafe conditions, but sometime there is some swell and the best (and safest) way to get through it is to use speed, going slow just make things worse.

Again I am sorry you have an unpleasant part of the trip, but we also give you the option to raise one hand up if you feel unwell, so we can slow the boat down and assist you. I am not sure if you did, but future customers please note that the Dolphin Watch is not a thrill ride, we do give you the option to let us know if you are unhappy with the speed, but we do also do need to use the speed to some extent to find the dolphins.

Our boat has a also different stabilities when going through swell. The back of the boat is extremely stable with hardly any up and down motion. On the other side, the front of the boat is more for adventure seekers!

I hope this experience did not stop you to go on another boat in the future! Thank you again for coming out with us and share this wonderful marine park : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“fun trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is a bit pricy to cross to Penguin Island, but generally safer then the walk/swim. If you do decode to swim - bring a board to float on - much safer.
The fairy penguins were cute and wonderful to see up close. Most are on the south side of the island protected from the westerly waves. The show was entertaining and very informative. Great place to spend a warm day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Penguin Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi there and thanks for reviewing your trip on Penguin Island! We will have to agree to disagree about Penguin Island being 'pricey'. The return (and multiple trips) ferry ticket is $12 and can last all day on a natural reserve full of wildlife. There are not many places in Perth where you can spend such a day for less than $15!
Future customers please note that it is never safe to cross the sand bar, with a board or not. Conditions change really quickly and lives have been lost on the sandbar in the recent past.
Thank again for taking the time to review Penguin Island, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kids had the best day of their lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I grew up in Perth but now live in Sydney. Even though I take my family back to Perth every year I had no idea there was so much wildlife so close in Rockingham. We took the full trip and saw plenty of Dolphins, Sea lions and the kids enjoyed the Penguin display and searching for Penguins on Penguin Island. We were advised to bring a picnic to the Island which we did and this finished-off a perfect day.

The Dolphin / Seal Lion Tour-Guide was highly knowledgable and very entertaining. We all found the history, local knowledge, scientific planations of dolphin life and behaviour very interesting and easy to understand.

Definitely the highlight of our Perth Holiday!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Penguin Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi Mark, thank you for your review of our Dolphin Watch! I am really happy to hear you and your family had a great time. We are very lucky here indeed - so much awesome wildlife all year round! I will pass on your great comments to our tour guide. Hope to see you again soon on your next trip back to Perth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Island also viewed

Rockingham, Greater Perth
 
Bull Creek, Greater Perth
 

Been to Penguin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.