We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service so so food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BettyBlue Bistro

BettyBlue Bistro
Shop 3 & 4 | 1-3 Railway Tce, Rockingham, Western Australia WA 6168, Australia
(08) 9528 4228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 68 Restaurants in Rockingham
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Shocking service so so food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I feel terrible because this restaurant/cafe is my friend's favourite place. However my recent experience has prompted me to write this review. Four of us went there for breakfast. It doesn't open until 9am and people queue up to get in when it opens up. We had a reservation sitting out front under the umbrellas. Great spot. All good so far. Water was already on table. So far so good. But as one other reviewer said "it goes downhill from there". Our meals took forever coming out. Asked for another orange juice and that took forever to come out. The waitress spilled hot tea down my back as she passed behind me and didn't even apologise, just sulkily said that it "wasn't that hot" - which just goes to show the standard of service I mean, if I had ordered tea I would have expected it to be served hot. The meals finally came out. I had ordered the Vegetarian big breakfast. First of all everything except the baked beans was cold. Cold toast, cold eggs, cold mushrooms, barely warm potato cake. Taste wise - yuk. The baked beans were "home made" and included celery and carrots (double yuk). The potato cake was totally bland and tasteless consisting of chunks of potato and not much else. Maybe if it had been served hot it might have been better. All in all a big disappointment and not worth $19.50. One of our group had a serve of toast with a side of baked beans and potato cake. Again cold toast and potato cake and they had the cheek to charge $6.50 just for the cold toast!!! I couldn't believe it. And then $2.70 for the I edible potato cake and another $2.70 for the yucky baked beans. She hardly ate any of what she was served. A third member of our group had raisin toast $7.50 and again served cold. The boy happy camper was the fourth member of the group but this place is her favourite so I guess maybe she is happy with cold tasteless food

All in all it was not a happy experience. The staff were surly and unhelpful and service appalling. Maybe we went there on a bad day but personally I wouldn't go back there

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    4
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast, lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Betty Blue's is great for eating at any time of the day - the choice is good and the standard is very good.
Sit outside under a brolly and watch the world go by while you enjoy your meal

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Used to be the Best Restaurant on the Foreshore.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have eaten at Betty Blues Bistro since the restaurant was first opened with the lovely french owners. Back then the service was amazing the food was equally amazing the drinks were plentiful the staff were very attentive to the point of asking if more drinks were required. You would never have been able to get a table without a reservation.
This is a massive contrast to the restaurant quality today.
We attended the restaurant on a Sunday lunch time (the restaurant was not busy at this stage.)
15 minutes went by after we had been seated before we were asked for our drinks order so with this lapse in time we decided to order our meals at the same time, 25 minutes later the drinks arrived then 40 minutes later our meals arrived. The meals were off the menu with no special requirements so therefore should not have taken this long EVER without an explanation. When our meals arrived they were very lask lustre in their appeapance and the service was terrible. I asked for another drinks order and the response was "we are very busy Im not sure how long they will take" looked around the restaurant still was not full. Betty Blues Bistro has gone down hill terribly and from comments from alot of locals who used to frequent there it seems not alot has changed in the last few months since our last visit. Service = 0, Customer Satisfaction = 0
Will I return ? when the restaurant has new owners and bring the restaurant back up to the standards it used to have.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“poor poor poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

went there for a birthday dinner champagne was just put on table not even opened then it went down hill from there basically non existent service, poor food and overpriced overall a very big disappointment

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mmmm could be much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visited with a family group, a comment was made, it seems like a café that one day wants to grow up & be a restaurant. It has a lot of growing to do. The staff were good on the whole, but 1 or 2 of the waitresses were very short, maybe they are over worked. We ordered drinks & garlic bread, the garlic read arrived before the drinks (all in bottles)

Across the table the food was less than average. My wife who had been there before fared the best, with the parmesan crusted pork. I think I fared the worst, spaghetti with prawns/squid/mussels. Don't, just don't.

It'll be a long time before I go back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BettyBlue Bistro also viewed

Rockingham, Greater Perth
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 
Rockingham, Greater Perth
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 

Been to BettyBlue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BettyBlue Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.