We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auski Motel

Auski Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meekatharra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auski Motel
Save
You added Auski Motel to your Saves list
Main Street, Meekatharra, Western Australia 6642, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Meekatharra B&B and Inns
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The town is small and isolated, if you are looking for all the luxuries of a five star city establishment they are in Perth. Here you will get good honest, friendly people with good clean and comfortable rooms. The room we stayed in had a bathroom, shower only, which was clean and in nice condition. The main room was fitted out with queen bed, two person couch, tv, dining table and chairs, for two, bar sized fridge, extra pillows and blanket and the important air-conditioner. A nice room.

We had dinner here, the food and service was excellent with attentive staff. The meals are large and the quality is what you would get in a good restaurant in a larger centre. Pats on the back to the chef and his staff for the food and service quality.

When we arrived, around 5pm, the manager and the staff were all eating an early dinner together. She was friendly and efficient. Later in the evening we chatted and she remained friendly. Costs are what you expect in remote areas, although not that expensive compared to other towns across the remote part of WA. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
6
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the only proper motel in town. The two pubs have ‘motel’ rooms, but I presume they’d be pretty basic and noisy – particularly on a Friday or Saturday night. Maybe they’re okay; I don’t know.

Another review criticised the owners for being unfriendly and unhelpful; my experience was fine. The woman (I think her name is Ronnie?) seemed a bit reserved, but when I checked in we had a little chat and a laugh – she was alright. She has a wry sense of humour.

The room was a little dated (80’s), but it was clean, comfortable and in good condition – although for some reason my bathroom smelled like cabbage. It wasn’t especially unpleasant, just odd and mystifying. There was a nice little comfortable couch and armchair and an interesting geological survey map under glass on the table. Beware that one potentially annoying thing is that check-out time is 9am.

The price will seem scandalous if you’re arriving from the south, but it’s par for the course if you’re arriving from the north. Everything’s expensive in Western Australia anyway, so you may as well get used to it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Why do people who hate tourist and business people take jobs in the service industry.
The attitude of the managerial staff at this place would have to be worst I have ever encountered.
They treat their staff like slaves and their customers like an inconvenience.
The room rate is grossly overpriced, cleanliness is an option, courtesy is nonexistent , food is average & overpriced.
I won't be staying there ever again

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A basic motel that does the job as an overnight stop. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant serves a decent steak. The prices might be a little more than some people expect, but I guess you have to look at where you are and be grateful for what you have.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Auski on our way from Perth to Karijini National Park, we had intended to use the campsite next door but due to the torrential rain (the most they’d had in years apparently) this wasn’t going to happen. The Auski seemed like the best bet based on the reviews on tripadvisor…I haven’t stayed in remote parts of Australia before, so not sure if this is the best of a bad bunch, but for $170 a night I can’t say I was impressed. The rooms were clean but very basic, it was a cold night and there was only a sheet on the bed and some scratchy blankets in the cupboard. Thankfully as we were set up for camping we had our own pillows and duvet we could use and did get a fairly good night’s sleep (no thanks to paperthin walls and air con units kicking in intermittantly throughout the night). We ate in the restaurant for our dinner which was again pretty basic food – fried mostly (although I did enjoy the chips!) Considering we were planning on staying at the 4.5* Novotel in Exmouth in a few days’ time for only $4 a night more than this place, I think it’s safe to say they are overcharging for their offering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After 12 hours on the road, this is a welcome break on the road into the Pilbara. I have stayed here a number of times and am happy to continue to do so. Whilst the motel is not modern or new, it is always clean and comfortable and the staff have always been friendly and helpful. Relative to location and the cost of the rooms, it represents good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, VIC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

On my trip the only room available was a backpacker room with single bed, fridge and small TV that didn't work. One power point didn't work. The hotel appeared very clean, manager was very welcoming and as this was the only room left in town, had to take it. For the price, they can charge what they like and they do. I am sure the other standard rooms are OK for the type, but this room is for the very budget backpacker type. My fault for not booking in advance. This review is about the backpacker budget rooms only. Food was OK. You cant order a beer with your food, you have to order your food, then go and get your own beer from the bar.

Room Tip: Always book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auski Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auski Motel

Address: Main Street, Meekatharra, Western Australia 6642, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Meekatharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Meekatharra
Number of rooms: 28

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auski Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.