We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, decent facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalbarri Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kalbarri Palm Resort to your Saves list
Kalbarri Palm Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8 Porter Street, Kalbarri, Western Australia 6536, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kalbarri
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No complaints, decent facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed for one night, arrived late and they had left key out for me. Room was really large and clean. I had a good sleep there. Kitchen had everything you need. The fridge was a bit noisy during the night and the bathroom wasn't great, but for the price I'm not complaining.

Great location, can walk to everything. Would stay here again if passing through, but probably not for more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, General Manager at Kalbarri Palm Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments.
We offer an after-hours service which is quite simple when you arrive at reception there is a phone located just near the front door to pick up and you will be given a code to our key box with your key and directions to your room.
This is also available for a guest that does not have a confirmed booking. Payment can be made over the phone on this service.
The accommodation supplied is a clean 3 star property so families can stay at an affordable price.
We have started to upgrade some of our rooms with new flat screen TV’s, toasters, kettles etc.
Again thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly, the reception area is not staffed. You have to go to the 'Edge Resort' next door to register and collect your key which is an inconvenience you can do without after a long drive.

Secondly, there is a small pool area but that is the total extent of the 'resort' that the name implies. No other services (restaurant, valet etc.) are offered. The hyperbolic name represents nothing more than a motel.

We stayed in a 'Deluxe' room which was spacious and clean but, in my opinion, overpriced. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom and linen fresh and clean. The usual motel tea and coffee making facilities were provided. But...

apart from it's larger than normal size and a balcony that had no view except of the back of the Edge Motel next door, there was nothing at all 'Deluxe' about the room. The interior walls were of un-rendered plain brick and noise from our various neighbours, including exhaust fans, showers and toilet flushes, while not loud, were distracting and not something to be expected when paying 'Deluxe' prices. (Oddly, the motel was nowhere near fully booked yet, instead of spacing their guests a room or so apart, everyone was allocated adjoining rooms at one end of the complex. Strange.)

Frankly, I wish we had opted for one of the cheaper motel rooms. It may not have been any better, but I would have been happier having spent less for the room.

We chose this motel for our one night stay because it was close to a holiday chalet complex where other family members were renting. For one night our stay was fine but, if it had been any longer, I would have sought other accommodation that offered more acceptable value for money.

It is unfortunate that I felt this way because the location of the motel is excellent being a couple of minutes walk from the riverfront, the major shops and what little passes for nightlife (the pub and the tavern) in this small seaside town. Just a little extra attention paid to what constitutes a 'resort' (or alternatively, pricing in line with what is actually on offer) would go a long way to making this nice accommodation.

This was not my first visit to Kalbarri which offers stunning views and excellent fishing and diving. However, it was my first stay in a 'resort' in this town and, I'm sorry to have to report, I found it's claims somewhat exaggerated (which I also suspect of some of the other 'resorts' in this town).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Manager at Kalbarri Palm Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your comments.
The Palms is now under new management with several changes such as new rate structures and improved booking system, a refurbishment program such as flat screen TV’s, new bedding and the reception now open 7 days a week from the 12th August 2013 for check-ins and any other assistance needed.
We hope to see you again to show you the improvements in customer care and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived at a resonable time for check in to be greeted by a note saying to check in at the resort next door. Then there was a note on there door saying to go back to the original resort unit 36. After a 6 hour drive I don't want to have to look for staff in order to check in! Palm resort is up for sale and appears to have staff that realy don't care. No one at check-in and no other services offered. The rooms were OK but I wouldn't stay here agin or recommend it to others. There is better out there for the same cost!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Manager at Kalbarri Palm Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your comments.
The Palms is now under new management with a refurbishment program under way such as flat screen TV’s, new bedding and the reception now open 7 days a week from the 12th August 2013 for check-ins and any other assistance needed.
We hope you will visit us again to show you the improvements in customer care and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only spent one night here, after touring the coastal area of Kalbarri, but our room was clean, enough space for us and had lovely flowers outside. There are patios for each room but the walls are paper thin. Fortunately no one stayed up past 10pm so the place was very quiet. The kitchenette lacked a little in the way of utensils for self-catering, but we made do. The price is right and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelLaw, Manager at Kalbarri Palm Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your comments
The Palms are currently refurbishing the rooms with new 81cm flatscreen TV’s and replacing utensils.
We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Kalbarri with no reservations and were pleasantly surprised to find a room here.

At $89/night it's the best value we're likely to find on our trip.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean.

The staff are helpful and accommodating.

The buffet breakfast at $20 is again, excellent value.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelLaw, Manager at Kalbarri Palm Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kris1963
Thanks for your comments
The Palms is very good value for families and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again the in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in a "deluxe" room (No. 70) with a queen size bed and a single. Beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. It is a good size, has a tiny balcony with table and chairs, or a table and chairs at the front if you are on the upper level. Furniture consisted of a 2 seater sofa, a table and two chairs. Oh, and the oldest television I have seen for some time. Speaking of the TV, only 3 channels available and the remote was pretty much worn out. The advertising offers a "kitchenette", which sadly is not present. It comprises a small fridge, a tiny cupboard with a bench over, approx 60cm x 80cm, a kettle, toaster and microwave. Washing up is done in the bathroom sink. Good gas BBQs are available and the pool area is nice, with a heated spa and lots of ounges. Would stay there again but only for a night or two, any longer and I think we would need a bit more space, especially for meals. Reasonable value for the $125 per night we paid, would not be happy paying more than this.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade if offered - the 'motel units' did not look very appealing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a long drive we were hoping for a clean and comfortable room for a couple of nights, had pre booked in anticipation. The room was dirty, hairpins hair and grime on the bathroom floor, a shower-head that sprayed everywhere, previous sticky fluid spillage in the fridge, blankets that may not have been acceptable at the local opportunity shop. After the first night the cleaners were making their presence felt about the front of our room (around 8.30am) I informed them about the shower and was advise it would be fixed, (this was not done). After a day out we arrived back in the room to note the room had been attended the bed roughly pulled up, shower-head not fixed, hairpins hair and dust still on the floor. Kalbarri Palm Resort was managed by Kalbarri Edge Resort during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalbarri Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalbarri Palm Resort

Address: 8 Porter Street, Kalbarri, Western Australia 6536, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalbarri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kalbarri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalbarri Palm Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalbarri, you'll love it..and they'll love it too...Kalbarri Palm Resort has it all...The perfect place for holidays, getaways and business. Centrally located, Kalbarri Palm Resort is just a short walk away from the center of town, the river and the beach. With 78 rooms including spacious motel rooms and family apartments there is a style to suit all tastes. With fanatic facilities over five acres, you can choose between two swimming pools , shaded BBQ area, central playground, tennis, bowls and cricket. Why not enjoy delicious local fare at the Edge Restaurant conveniently located just next door, just meters from the resort. Kalbarri Palm Resort offers you great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kalbarri Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalbarri Palm Hotel Kalbarri
Best Western Kalbarri
Kalbarri Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalbarri Palm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.