We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park

Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalbarri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park
Save
You added Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park to your Saves list
Anchorage Lane, Kalbarri, Western Australia 6536, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Vincentia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May in our 2 berth campervan. we loved the physical set up of the park with the tiered sites giving great views over the river. The facilities aspect, views, camp kitchen & location were all good and it was the best amenities block we came across in our month in WA.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

A lovely spot to stay in Kalbarri. Beautiful views of the river. Very modern and extremely clean showers/toilets with lovely granite benchtops; not something you'd expect in a caravan park! Convenient location with bottle shop, post office, surf shop, tackle/camping shop and ATM right next door. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here in a tent for two nights over a recent long weekend. We had a powered site away from the main road and it was grassed, shady and quite large. The ablution blocks were clean and modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We had a look at a the other parks and were quite happy with our choice as the others looked very cramped.

Pluses - Big shady sites, friendly staff, great location, pool, excellent shower/toilet facilities, fantastic cafe next door, short walk/drive into town

Negatives - No kids playground(there may well be one but our 9yo daughter couldn’t find it) not that it really mattered because there was much for her to do any way

Overall we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a shady site if you are camping because it could get very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

haven't stayed there yet but rang to enquire about staying there on Good Friday and Liz was extremely helpful, even giving me recs for accomodation in Perth and Fremantle. We will certainly stay here if not just because of this first impression.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here 3 days and we were completely satisfied. The location right on the banks of the Murray River is wonderful. We had an unpowered site with a gorgeous view on the river. The sunsets we saw were just breath-taking. We used the camper's kitchen a few times to cook something and it was good. The bathroom/showers were clean. There was also a laundry so that we could wash and dry our clothes without problems. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked this caravan park about a month before christmas and were lucky to get a spot. We stayed here in a tent at a powered site for 2 nights from Boxing day. The site was reasonably priced (about $30 a night I think). When we checked in to the park, the owned was friendly and explained the park rules. It was very busy with families and children but that was to be expected as it was school holidays. The park was nice and peaceful during the night/ early morning with no rowdy neighbours around us. Sleeping for me was abit uncomfortable due to the heat, however my partner slept fine. We were given a lovely grassed site facing the Murchison river. Kalbarri is very windy (especially in the afternoon) and our site had virtually no shelter which made it especially difficult when it came to putting up our tent! The site was unshaded which meant it got quite hot during the day time in the 41 degree heat. However we did see other sites which were shaded (I suggest booking in advance and requesting a site with shade).

The park layout meant you had campers on either side as well as behind and across from you which meant we felt abit cramped. The caravan park had fresh water (both on site and in the laundry/ bathroom). For the first night we could only find a small filthy bathroom. Thankfully after abit of searching we came across a brand new shower block that was clean and spacious with a coded lock on the door. When enquiring about the passcode for the bathrooms we were told the codes were on our payment reciept which we were not informed of earlier.

The park also has a pool, laundry, barbeques, fish cleaning stations and a camper's kitchen. The camper's kitchen was a bit worn and dirty but we did not use it except for washing dishes.

The park was a 5 minute drive from the town centre (or a 20 min walk). A supermarket, cafe, bank, bottle shop, surf shop and the jetty were all within a 5 minute walking distance. The park is situated opposite the river and the beach is also a 5 minute walk.

Overall the Anchorage was a lovely place to stayed and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park

Address: Anchorage Lane, Kalbarri, Western Australia 6536, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalbarri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kalbarri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.