We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilgai Tavern

Gilgai Tavern
12 Porter Street, Kalbarri, Western Australia, Australia
+61 8 9937 1968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Kalbarri
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Great Service, Great Food and Great Value. Family Friendly Tavern with stunning views from our verandahs. We are owner / operators of a small business and work very hard to provide a personal and positive experience for our customers. We like to think we do this well, but we do get it wrong every once in a while. If you have a problem with our service, please approach any of the staff, you can be assured we will deal with any problem quickly and efficiently.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We decided to go out for dinner the night before the Anzac Day holiday and the whole of kalbarri seemed to be busy and booked.

So we ended up at this Tavern and even though they were exceptionally busy they made us feel welcome. The staff were friendly even on such a busy night.

The food arrived very fast and huge portion sizes. Would definitely return here. Not exactly fine dining or romantic but great down to earth pub grub and atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for kind feedback, you're right about the lack of romance, but hey we are happy with the label "good pub grub". Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    21
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dandaragan, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had lunch there twice with my family and extended family, both times had super fast service.
Wife had Parmi and I had the rump awesome meals.
Wasn't disappointed on the second vist starting off lunch with the tasting plate beautiful fresh oysters and amazing Cajun prawns also had the Big Steak Burger yummy!
When back in Kalbarri Gilgia Tavern is where will be eating.
Great Tavern

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback, we're delighted that you enjoyed you meals with us - its seems you managed to get lots of variety into dining experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mingenew, Australia
1 review
“Absolutly terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having eaten at the Gilgai tavern on our yearly trip to Kalbarri over several years we have always found it a great spot.Our recent meal there on a long weekend was just plain sub standard .They were busy , but a 45 minute wait was no problem.The kids meals had soggy cold chicken nuggets that had been microwaved some time earlier and served with stoned cold chips .Prawns "4ways" again cold ,poor quality prawns and almost impossible to pick the difference in the 4 ways only the chilli ones which had a cold tomato based sauce and not even a hint of chilli.A calamari ceaser salad that had pale bearly cooked squid but the salad was Ok .The service was friendly . Maybe it was an off and/or busy night but a poor end to a great weekend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Really sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortuneately we had a big problems with our fryer this night, it's gas & it kept going out - the chefs did their best to manage, but obviously not good enough. We ended up closing the kitchen early. As you say you have always had a good experiences with us in the past so hopefully you come back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A must try!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Came twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. Both times, service was very quick and we felt very comfortable & welcome. Great variation on the menu , almost too much to choose from. Fair price and a great feed! Definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback we appreciate your kind words. Always glad to hear when people come back for meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average but acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We didnt expect anything out of the ordinary awesome but we have had some pretty fine pub meals before.. this would not be one of them.. We ordered a chicken burger and a beef burger. salads were not the best and the toasted bun actaully seemed like it was old but had gone under the grill to try and get a little extra out of it... overal it was ok, anything with decent chips is a winner with me usually. we stayed in kalbarri for three nights and only ate here once for lunch.. but did play many games of pool and drink a far bit, the atmosphere was ok, maybe a little quite and boring but really its not a bad place. would eat here again and def play some more pool.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank-you for your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the some aspects of your visit. February is one of Kalbarri's quietest times, this suits some tourist that don't like a crowd. If you like a bit more action - July through October is our "steady" season and school holidays & long weekends are always busy.
I was unable to find a transaction where we sold a combination of beef & chicken burger in the last couple of weeks, so I could talk to the chef on shift about your concerns. But to address your concern, we use turkish bread for our burgers, not bread rolls, which are a "harder" style bread that is served toasted, sorry you didn't enjoy it. But we have many more lunch options, hopefully you'll be back and we can please you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilgai Tavern also viewed

Kalbarri, Western Australia
Kalbarri, Western Australia
 
Kalbarri, Western Australia
Kalbarri, Western Australia
 

Been to Gilgai Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilgai Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.